We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return... DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!”
Review of Meridian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridian Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not return... DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here a couple years ago and the pictures on the website spell basic but functional but in actual fact the place is in Bad disrepair! Doors hanging off, broken kitchen units. We asked to be moved to a room with a double bed and we were promised this but never received it. We were hassled non stop every time we left the hotel, we were targeted the minute we stepped out of the hotel. the drug dealers would ask every time you saw them ( no matter how many times you said no before) if you had any bad habit or wanted coke or Anything!!! Now a couple blocks from the hotel - not hotels responsibility but when it's a metre from their gate? We had a lady follow us from the beach into our complex demanding that we buy a massage from her and would not take not for an answer!! We ignored her but she came back for a few days shouting up to our balcony waking us up saying that we promised to buy a massage from her!! No security to tell her to go??

We wish we had spent a little more and gone to a better hotel with better facilities, I would like to go back to Barbados but my husband will not return due to his bad experience, he was homesick and was chomping at the bit to come home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLSH_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smileymy1, Owner at Meridian Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
We thank you for sending your review about Meridian Inn, I am sorry your experience was not a pleasant one.. The Meridian Inn you experienced 2 years ago is a lot different from the hotel today. We have done a huge amount of work to the rooms in the last year. Our staff are known for their friendliness and care to keeping the rooms clean. As far as the harassment on the Gap, the police have made some strides in that area recently, with frequent patrols.
I would encourage you to try Meridian Inn again along with Barbados. We may leave you pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    67
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
56
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

A little dated but thoroughly clean. Staff were most accommodating with every request. Free Wi Fi, free safety deposit and free currency exchange! Would highly recommend if looking for a wonderful holiday on a budget! Very close to great beaches and bars/restaurants. Made to feel safe and welcome as a solo female traveller, would most definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Was a great trip! Couldn't have asked for a better location, great beaches within stumbling distance, short walk to the famous $2 bus which takes you anywhere on the island.

Short bus trip to Oisten's fish market (definitely go!) and walking distance to "The Gap" which has loads of nice bars, restaurants, clubs and all sorts of nightlife.

Great owner, if you fancy a surf he'll organise you some boards and show you the best spots as he's a keen surfer himself. He will organise all sorts of activities such as diving and jeep safaris etc.

Overall a good clean and cheap place to stay in a perfect location leaving you extra money for activities and good food!

Room Tip: Try asking for the Lido Deck or the room opposite, its on a sea view roof terrace with a nice outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Looking for an unbelievably cheap place to stay in Barbados - somewhere close to the beach and has all you need to relax and explore the wonderful island of Barbados? Look no further than the Meridian Inn - this is the second time I've stayed here and felt compelled to write a review. Being a group of 4 who wanted to have our breakfast/option of cooking in the room and go out for lunch/dinner occasionally - not being tied down to hotel food the Meridian Inn serviced this requirement perfectly.

It's situated at the end of the Gap (approx 10-15 mins walk to other end) and less than 5 mins from the nearest public bus stop, it's location is hard to beat. Most importantly you can stumble to the beach :)

The cleaners kept the room impeccably clean - bringing in bodyboards everyday can make an awful mess... The owner, Graham, was very friendly and available to hire boards, purchase beer or call a taxi etc.

I can't wait to go back! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwentyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Very small room clean but roaches and the worst view and NOISE could nt sleep a all music too loud There is a bar not too far and the loud music plays til 2 am Tha location is ok in the gap and it is near a nice beach and a freindly restaurent and bar I would not stay there again because of the roaches and the noise We were only there for one night snd happy to leave

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 071026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I visited Barbados with my sister for 10 days over the Christmas period in 2012 and had the pleasure in staying at Meridian Inn. We followed TripAdvisor's review on it and chose it as our accomodation and we were right to do so! Meridian Inn is nothing like a 5-star hotel with amazing facilites etc. but that's exactly why we loved it! Everyone that worked there was so friendly, they even brought us home-made food on Christmas because they said we were far from home! They helped us plan our activities and gave useful advice at where we should go and what we could do based on our interests.

The facilities were clean and tidy, so really that's what we were most interested on. The kitchen appliances helped us save some money as well as the food was quite expensive in Barbados.

Overall we are very satisfied with our stay at Meridian Inn and would definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested in a clean and friendly place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaChotou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay here on my first visit to Barbados. I used the reviews before making my choice and very happy with the outcome. The hotel is small and the rooms clean, basic but more than satisfactory for what I needed. The only downside of the hotel is that the walls are paper thin with some noise from the aircon from the next door hotel. I stayed in room 6 with a glipse of the sea but it was only about 45 seconds walk to the fantastic beach.
I hired a bike with the help of the very friendly hotel staff ($12/day) and this was great for exploring the local area.
The self catering facilities enabled a lower budget but suggest you take a few items with you, e.g. good quality coffee as you will find it very expensive in the local supermarkets. 5 litres of bottled water will cost you around £ 3 but you can use the tap water in the kettle.
In conclusion, basic, friendly and ideal for solo budget traveller. I will go back again as long as not too many enjoy the review resulting in prices going up and availability not being there!

Room Tip: Room 6 and 12 have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.7 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Inn

Property: Meridian Inn
Address: Dover Coast Circle, St. Lawrence Gap 15028, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meridian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meridian Inn is a small intimate hotel located just off the world renown St. Lawrence Gap. We are located 50 yards from the Casurina beach and most of our rooms have a view of the Ocean. We are a short walking distance to the heart of The Gap and all its restaurants and nightlife, but still in the quiet side of The Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meridian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Meridian Inn Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing