We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful, in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful, in every way!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I travel frequently, and the Ocean Two ranks among our top 3 hotels ever! Water front rooms have amazing balconies with very comfortable lounge chairs and table/chairs for dining. There are incredible views of the beach, complete with blue-green water and adjacent palm trees. The white sand beach was private and therefore a bit on the small side, but stunning nonetheless & very clean, plus very swimmable with playful waves. The shallow under water is rocky in places, but at higher tide it's not too bad. Also, you can easily walk/wade 3 minutes around the corner to bigger Dover beach if you prefer. The pools, though just a bit small, are well-kept, cool and inviting. The lounge chairs at the pool and the beach are the comfiest we've ever laid on. The decor in the room, lobby, rooftop, and restaurant is crisp, pretty, and modern. Our room was very well equipped with every kitchen item you'd need & had linens/pillows that made for a beautiful sleep. The O2 staff were incredibly nice, gracious, accommodating. Dover Market, just behind the hotel across the street, had most groceries you'd ever need - we ate breakfast and lunch in our own room, and ventured into St. Lawrence Gap for dinner each night. Locals who hung on streets near the hotel full of personality, even boisterous at times, but in our experience very nice, friendly and helpful. The neighbourhood is certainly lively and just 10ish minute walk to St. Lawrence Gap, with an even greater selection of restaurants, bars, and shops. We did eat at the Ocean Two restaurant one evening. The service was very good, timely enough, and the restaurant manager was extremely nice and very helpful - she assisted us in booking a 1/2 day tour around the island for a very reasonable price. The Ocean Two restaurant food was good, but couldn't measure up with meals we had at Cafe Sol, Pisces, and Tapas - restaurants in St. Lawrence Gap and Hastings. Overall, our vacation in Barbados was a dream and the Ocean Two hotel was a very fine and luxurious contributing factor. We highly recommend Ocean Two & Barbados overall!!! So so lovely!

Room Tip: Pay extra to guarantee that you have an Ocean Front room with a view - it is well worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    454
    97
    18
    12
See reviews for
479
1,164
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just got back from a 10 day holiday and all I can say is amazing. Pure luxury, we were in heaven.
We are a couple aged 25 and 31 and are quite well travelled. We have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels and I have to say this is the best.
The hotel was everything and more that we expected, it was perfect. The suite we had was fabulous. The bed was huge and so comfy, the shower huge, kitchen fully equipped. Washer and dryer, I did all our washing before we came home. We went on a room only basis as we upgraded to this room. We went to Dover supermarket across the road for food for breakfast. Beautiful to sit on your balcony overlooking the ocean having breakfast.
When booking we were tempted to go All inclusive however, please dont do this. There is only 1 resturant which is very nice but not enough choice to eat there for the whole of your stay. There are plenty of resturants in St Lawrence Gap for you to eat out.
Like others have said, pool beds and beach beds so comfy. Pool guys do take towels off if you are not occupying the beds which I think is brilliant which ensures there are always enough beds for everyone. Pool towels are available and you can change them as many times as you wish.

We used the local bus to go to the west coast-St James for the day. The sea at this side of the island is calmer. Local bus is $2 per journey and an entertaining experience.

A totally amazing holiday and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 1 bed suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotty_hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Firstly, I have never felt the urge to write a review for anywhere - and I have travelled extensively. Arrived at reception and were taken to the bar area overlooking the beautiful Caribbean. We were given an ice cold flannel and a lovely welcome cocktail then shown to our suite.

My wife and I were blown away. We had a front facing corner room on the sixth floor (610a I think). 4 star - no way. This is clearly a 5 star accommodation. The fixtures, fittings and decor are second to none. A fantastic bathroom, a bed that we wanted to take home and a view to die for. When you visit the Caribbean the accommodation is usually fairly basic (we had a suite at sandals in Antigua last year and it didn't come close to this). The only other place I have experienced quality like this is in puerto banus in Spain.

Accommodation aside the thing that made our holiday was the service level. The team is lead by Mr Paul Collymore who walks the property twice a day checking if there is any thing that can be done to improve your stay. Nothing is too much trouble. We were sitting at the pool bar one day and mentioned a restauarant we wanted to try (Pisces) and fifteen minutes later the reservation had been made. Also when my wife had a nasty mosquito bite, O'Neil the assistant manager offered to drive us personally to the pharmacy to get cream. Tell me where else this would happen? Whoever has recruited the staff has clearly done their job because everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. I know this sounds gushing but that it how it is.

As for the island, in our opinion it is the best in the caribbean. It is safe and the locals are genuinely friendly. Another example is we were out one lunchtime and came across a lovely bar restaurant on the beach (tapas). My wife and I decided we would like to eat there but as we had only intended to go for a walk I hadnt brought enough money. I got chatting to the owner (Alfredo) and mentioned this and was told it was not a problem - he told us to carry on and pay tomorrow. Again we were amazed. Another worthwhile visit is the cliff. Pricey but worth it. Our bill came to 800 bds dollars and I was happy to pay it. We have paid more in the west end of London and the setting and service doesn't compare.

In summary whenever we visit Barbados it is the only place we would stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jb197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just got back from a two week stay at Ocean 2. My husband and I traveled with another couple and we booked our reservation through Interval International's Getaway program. I sent several requests (since Sept.) requesting a room with an ocean view and when we arrived, they were booked to capacity and we ended up with a beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit, but no view. Check-in was a little confusing as no one could seem to find a better room for us and unfortunately, they had us waiting for over 2 hours before they came back and said they had nothing else. The front desk didn't handle the request efficiently and really started us off on a bad note. We ended up spending the first week on what they call the bayside and since we weren't high enough up (4th Floor) we were looking out at roof tops and no water view. Week 2 they truly made up for the first week and we were moved to the 7th floor. Still on what they call the bayside - but beautiful views of the turquoise blue ocean. Both units were amazing and beautifully furnished. The bedrooms were large and the master had its own private balcony and whirlpool tub. The bathrooms have large walk-in showers with rain shower heads. Pillows and mattress were beyond comfortable! The living room was equally beautiful and led to a large balcony and the kitchen was truly state of the art even down to a wine refrigerator. We had a flat screen TV in each bedroom and the living room as well. The room was very clean and housekeeping continued to do an amazing job during our two week stay. Rooms were refreshed every day with new towels as well. Our unit was very adequate for the four of us and provided us with plenty of space and privacy as well. Bedrooms are on the outsides of the unit - living room and kitchen is in the middle.

The lobby is gorgeous and you look out through the lobby to the pools and the beach. Lounge chairs were plentiful and very comfortable. The pictures on their website do justice to what you will be in store for. The beach itself was rocky and the surf was rough. We ended up going elsewhere if we really wanted to spend time in the water. But for the days that we just wanted to use the beach and the pools, it was perfect. If you like to surf, folks were renting boards next door and surfing right in front of us. Not huge waves, but looked like they were all having fun.

The onsite restaurant was somewhat of a disappointment. The food was good, but service is truly lacking. I understand that service is not what we are used to coming from the NY metropolitan area, but the service here really hurts this place. We were so turned off the first day we ordered drinks and a sandwich, that we avoided eating there at all costs. Decided near the end of our stay to give it another chance for lunch and again we were very disappointed in the service. It shouldn't take 15 minutes to get a beer when the bar is less than 100 feet away. When we finally got our meal, the food was OK, but nothing to rave about.

Overall, this is an amazing property. They opened recently and I just feel they need to work out some issues with customer service. There are a few people that truly went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, but management hopefully will pay closer attention to ensure that check-ins are smoother and hopefully they will train their restaurant staff so service is improved.

Room Tip: The higher the better the views. Not all rooms are 'oceanfront' so be careful to select wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked two weeks from 27/02/12 to 12/03/12 in one bedroom ocean front apartment on a room only basis. The room and all the equipment and facilities in it were fantastic, 2 large flat sceen TVs, combination oven, electric ceramic hob, american fridge/freezer, washer and dryer, ironing board and iron etc, all the glasses, pots, pans and utensils were all of a high quality and there was also plenty of sharp cooking knives of all sizes.
The staff were all first class and very curtious and helpful at all times. I must make a special mention and thankyou to O'Neil the "pool, beach and watersports" manager, who was acting duty manager on the afternoon my wife passed out in the lift badly bruising and cutting her eye. He organised a taxi immediately and contcted the local clinic to advise we were coming he then came with us to the clinic and stayed while my wife was treated and then organised a taxi back to the Hotel. He just couldn't do enough for us. Thanks again O'Neil.
The sunbeds are excellent, the thick mattresses were very comfortable and the pools very refreshing and plenty of staff to bring drinks as required.
There is a mini-market store just over the road from the hotel which sells most things that you need for making meals in the apartment if you are so inclined but there are plenty of restaurants just a few minutes walk from O2 if you want to eat out.
All in all it was an excellent holiday even though there were quite a few showers the first week which was very unusual for that time of the year, the second week there was no rain at all.
Oh there is a little bar just opposite the mini market called the Gap Bar which is open 24/7 and has "Happy Hour" from 1700 to 2000hrs every day!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

our room was very small, I would have upgraded if I knew ahead of time.
The room was not meant for two prople to stay in a week.

Room Tip: Do not choose the hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJARUBA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Everything good you read about this hotel is true. The staff certainly go out of their way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. Special mention to Daniel the manager who is totally on the ball and keeps everything on track. Patrick, Ian, Eerie and O Neil poolside are truly nice people who take pleasure in knowing everything is to your satisfaction. If you can afford it go for the one bedroom suites as you get a lot more for your money. The food is great and they have sorted the long waiting times previously mentioned. We can't say anything negative about this place they work hard to ensure your holiday is the best ever. Best wishes to all the staff hope to see you soon. Ant & Wendy

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manchu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
3.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Property: Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Address: Dover Road, St. Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a four diamond, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing