We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly, Bright & Breezy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Bright & Breezy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I place great importance on getting away from our busy and often stressful lives at home. Vacation time together is sacred. We came across this gem of a hotel while surfing the www.barbados.org website and we were not disappointed in our selection. The hotel and it's rooms are clean and have a great view of the sea. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the Gap. A short walk to Dover Beach and the restaurants and nightlife are steps away. Every evening the locals set up BBQ's right outside the doors of the hotel. The food is delicious! Try the blue marlin steaks, the bbq chicken and the macaroni pie. The hotel itself is quiet both day and night. We did hear the music a couple of nights from the adjacent Ship Inn. Not a big deal. We took day trips by taxi to Crane Beach ($100.00 bbd return) and Rockley Beach ($40.00 bbd return) both beaches are outstanding. We also spent five hours on the Tiami Catamaran Cruise. In a word...AWESOME! Well worth the money and you can book it at the front desk. Words cannot describe the beauty of the Bajan people and this picturesque island. Would we chose the South Gap Hotel again? IN A HEARTBEAT!

Teri & Rolly
Whitby, Ontario
CANADA

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No beach at your doorstep
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UnionWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    280
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
355
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

I went to barbados last year for my very first time and stayed in the south gap then, so naturally this year when i went back to barbados i had to stay there again.

The staff was so amazing, always on hand to help with any enquries or any problems that i may have had.

The hotel itself only has 34 rooms so its very quite and very peaceful, it is self catering but in the hotel they have a resturant which serves the really cheap and amazing food; i felt safe in the hotel because there is somebody on the desk 24/7 and security of a night time.

It is right in the heart of st lawrence gap, so its near the top bars clubs and resturants in the gap, so its in a good location for clubbing and dinning, but beaware if your going to have any early night the gap doesnt quiten down till pretty late.

Overall i dont have any faults with the south gap hoetl and would recomend to anybody to stay in this hotel as long as they didnt mind a little hustle and bustle of st lawrence gap.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank miss_jonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Another great stay at this lovely location. We used to stay at Yellowbird but due to the opening of Jumbies and the terrible noise we now stay at South Gap. We always ask for a room on the pool deck or on the first floor then there is no noticable noise.
The staff are great especially the maids.
I would recommend this hotel /apartment to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of the Gap but who still want to be able to sleep at night!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dennyandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

We spent a week at the South Gap Hotel. The staff was efficient and friendly and our overall stay was great. We would definitely stay there again but in a bigger room. The Ship Inn being across the street was a plus because my fiance never had to miss a soccer match.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank KC1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

I have just recently returned from a week stay at the South Gap Hotel and I must say that overall, I enjoyed my stay there.

The photos may or may not due it justice, but the all the rooms are very clean, equipped and well maintained. The staff is excellent, and helpful. As far as the hotel itself is concerned, it's fantastic.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definately! But not to everyone.

As you are probably aware, this hotel is located right in the heart of the St Lawrence Gap. According to most reviews, the biggest issue seems to be the noise from the outside clubs.

Some previous reviewers have said that the noise was unbearable, others have said that it didn't bother them at all.
The truth is, if you choose to stay here you WILL hear the noise, and whether it bothers you or not, depends on you. It didnt bother us, because we are all young party-goers, and when we were not out in the clubs ourselves, having Reggae, Soca, Hip Hop/R&B blaring into our room just added to the party. However, we all have our limits, and the Karoke nights almost took us there! But regardless, we still had a good laugh.

If you are like us, and like to party, then this is the place to be. If you are looking for a more quiet, relaxing vacation, then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Daren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

So my sister and I stayed back in June/July of this year and I had the opportunity to take some time off work and decided to go back for a second trip for some more surf. The hotel were efficient with my emails before I went.

The reception staff were a VAST improvement on the last team who were in place back in June and incredibly helpful. The resturant and bar staff were lovely as usual and the rooms were cleaned every day. Room facilities were great and the air con.... a god send! I could barely hear the rabble from the Ship Inn and Macbrides, even when I sat outside to read late into the eve.

The rum punch is sublime and the location is great - 10 mins drive from Bridgetown, 5 mins from Oistins and only 15/20 mins from the Airport. There is an internet cafe accross the road and a little convenience next door.

For good car rentals, check out Fat Jacks (owner from Yorkshire and his assistant, also from the UK is lovely).

For surfing, check out Melanie at [--] who is the best teacher I have ever had. She is a wealth of knowledge for those of you just wanting a quick splash or hardened boardies who need advice on the best places to go on the island.

All in all, I can't wait to go back again. x

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MinkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

We had travelled over to Barbados for the first time to meet a good friend who knew the area very well. All we were looking for was a suitable location, which is why we initially booked in here.

However, as the fortnight progressed the place seemed more & more like a second home than a base camp. Reception & cleaning staff were always in top form & the bartenders couldn't have been more helpful in suggesting restaraunts to eat out at or which trips to go on.

There is a very relaxed atmosphere around the pool & the beach was just a short walk away.

We were picked up at the hotel entrance when going to both our sea turtle snorkelling dive & also our submarine adventure.

Night life is perfect. The Ship Inn directly across the street is one of many bars on your doorstep. Harbour Lights nightclub just a 10 minute taxi ride away. The foodstalls in the street outside are a hidden treasure. The Marlin is not to be missed!

I'd certainly recommend a well earned break at the hotel. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Liked — Relaxed Atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Savo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing