We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

The entire trip and hotel was brilliant.It was our honey moon.
if you want the best location for chilling and also partying this place was spot on.We eat out every night with some great local resteraunts.Also the street vendours doing the barbequed food one night were great.
The hotel location was great,the staff very friendly.
tips-get one of the oceanfront apartments as the view is mint and also do the harbour cruise as that s a good laugh and great night also.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    281
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
357
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2008

Having just returned from a wonderfully relaxing two week holiday at the South Gap with my wife and another couple I can heartily recommend this charming hotel. It is spotlessly clean (the housekeeping staff are friendly, trustworthy and incredibly thorough) and well appointed. The beds are great, which helped a lot with the relaxation! There can be a lot of noise from the pubs and clubs across the road but it didn't really bother us. After all, it's just the sound of people having fun!
We had a suite on the third (top) floor which was great. We had stayed in a standard room for the first two nights (pre arranged and no fault of the hotel) and, when we go back, we will settle for a standard room for the entire stay. Nothing wrong with the suite, just wasn't necessary for us.
The pool area was great too. Right on the sea with sturdy, well maintained furniture it was ideal for relaxing in the sun. People who must have a beach needn't worry either as gorgeous Dover Beach is little more than a stone throw away. All in all an excellent choice for those who want to be in the heart of The Gap.

While we were staying we at the South Gap, despite the kitchen facilities being excellent, we ate out a lot. Of special note is the amazing restaurant on the west coast called The Cliff. Very expensive but well worth it. Also worth a mention but for entirely different reasons is the restaurant Sweet Potatoes in The Gap. As a regular visitor, I have eaten there before and was disappointed but was prepared to give it another go. However, I was served a piece of fish that was not what it claimed to be (Mahi Mahi) and wasn't fresh. It wqas so bad that the chef and waiting staff should have been ashamed for serving that to a customer. I shall not be back.

However, all the other restaurants are very good.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, pleasant staff/management and location right over the Carribean Sea
  • Disliked — Noise from pubs but I knew about it in advance and it didn't really bother me. Nitpicking really!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rooster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

My Husband and I chose Barbados as our Honeymoon destination and came across this great hotel! The staff is very helpful and welcoming! The View is great and the pool was our favorite spot! If you do decide to go there try the RUM MIX! It's great! I would advise anyone to try South Gap!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank garcia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I place great importance on getting away from our busy and often stressful lives at home. Vacation time together is sacred. We came across this gem of a hotel while surfing the www.barbados.org website and we were not disappointed in our selection. The hotel and it's rooms are clean and have a great view of the sea. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the Gap. A short walk to Dover Beach and the restaurants and nightlife are steps away. Every evening the locals set up BBQ's right outside the doors of the hotel. The food is delicious! Try the blue marlin steaks, the bbq chicken and the macaroni pie. The hotel itself is quiet both day and night. We did hear the music a couple of nights from the adjacent Ship Inn. Not a big deal. We took day trips by taxi to Crane Beach ($100.00 bbd return) and Rockley Beach ($40.00 bbd return) both beaches are outstanding. We also spent five hours on the Tiami Catamaran Cruise. In a word...AWESOME! Well worth the money and you can book it at the front desk. Words cannot describe the beauty of the Bajan people and this picturesque island. Would we chose the South Gap Hotel again? IN A HEARTBEAT!

Teri & Rolly
Whitby, Ontario
CANADA

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No beach at your doorstep
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UnionWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

I went to barbados last year for my very first time and stayed in the south gap then, so naturally this year when i went back to barbados i had to stay there again.

The staff was so amazing, always on hand to help with any enquries or any problems that i may have had.

The hotel itself only has 34 rooms so its very quite and very peaceful, it is self catering but in the hotel they have a resturant which serves the really cheap and amazing food; i felt safe in the hotel because there is somebody on the desk 24/7 and security of a night time.

It is right in the heart of st lawrence gap, so its near the top bars clubs and resturants in the gap, so its in a good location for clubbing and dinning, but beaware if your going to have any early night the gap doesnt quiten down till pretty late.

Overall i dont have any faults with the south gap hoetl and would recomend to anybody to stay in this hotel as long as they didnt mind a little hustle and bustle of st lawrence gap.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank miss_jonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Another great stay at this lovely location. We used to stay at Yellowbird but due to the opening of Jumbies and the terrible noise we now stay at South Gap. We always ask for a room on the pool deck or on the first floor then there is no noticable noise.
The staff are great especially the maids.
I would recommend this hotel /apartment to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of the Gap but who still want to be able to sleep at night!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dennyandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

We spent a week at the South Gap Hotel. The staff was efficient and friendly and our overall stay was great. We would definitely stay there again but in a bigger room. The Ship Inn being across the street was a plus because my fiance never had to miss a soccer match.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank KC1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing