We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exercellent value and a great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exercellent value and a great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Conveniently placed fpr the vibrant nightlife on the Gap. Rooms, facilities, food and beverages of a high standard, with pleasent and freindly staff and operatives. Fantastic views of the south coast viewed from the terraces and balcony's, a brilliant start to any day. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room on the south side away from the 'hustle and bustle' of the Gap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Curtis S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    272
    84
    29
    13
See reviews for
74
343
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the south gap for 8 nights. We had a fantastic stay. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The rooms clean with the best view ever. The location is perfect for both the beaches and night life.

Room Tip: It is on the main party street of Barbados, so if you want a early night.... well its not happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just stayed 10 days in this fab hotel and could not fault it. Great value for money, staff are just so friendly and helpful, would like to especially mention Anna-Lee and Rose from reception who were very informative and helpful and Patrick from the bar, who makes great drinks as well as making your sunburn disappear! Rooms are all ocean facing with fantastic views, just as it says on the website. Rooms are well equipped for self catering, even supplying washing up liquid, salt and pepper etc and come with a big fridge not a rinky dinky one that you would usually get.The rooms are also very comfortable ( Not luxurious) with an Ipod docking station and house keeping was excellent! The location of the hotel is great if you want to be on the Gap, we were 2 women so was very safe for us to return to the hotel after a night out. If you are a light sleeper it is best to request a room on the 1st floor or pay a little more for a suite by the pool, I think the rooms by the pool are only king beds not twin, so ideal if you are a couple. If you want good value for your money in The gap with amazing views and very friendly staff, then you cant go wrong with this hotel and I will for sure be returning when in Barbados…missing it already!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor and by pool are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_UK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week may 11th-18th what a little gem this is I asked for a room on the 3rd floor and we got one most times I put a request in I never get it so top marks for this. Then when you open the door you get this magical view with crystal clear waters staring out at you it has a nice private balcony with patio doors . We went s/c and used all the facilities including fridge freezer double hob and toaster all working. As soon as we unpacked the reception rang to see if everything was fine which again is a rarity. You get a free welcome rum punch on arrival at the bar another tick in the box . A big thank you to rose on reception for helping us getting our spices to take home and a massive thank you to rose the bar manager who went out of her way to get my top gear tickets however all the staff were very helpful and a credit to you all . The room was clean and beds made daily the bathroom was Ok no or very little hot water at night . The beds were very comfortable and all was great. Now the noise problem over the road there are 2 bars that go on till 3am and you can hear it even with the patio doors open and the sea crashing against the rocks you still hear it but apart from that it is definitely worth a visit .It is right on the gap so no need for taxis the night shift security guard is brilliant and one of the best beaches on the island for swimming with the turtles worthing beach is 5 minutes walk away overall a great place and we would stay here again no problem

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bigduke6051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the South Gap Hotel. It was fairly reasonable for the price. It does have noise depending on which floor you're on because of the night life in the Gap, however it wasn't so bad where I couldn't sleep (my room was on the ground floor so it was pretty quiet).

The hot/warm water in the bathroom was barely warm at all, so I took the issue up with front desk; which they then graciously refunded me a portion of my hotel bill. This was commendable and I appreciated their understanding.

Otherwise; the bed is comfortable, the bathroom was clean. The hotel may require some renovation in the near future as it is beginning to show some age.

Thank you for the warm hospitality South Gap. I will definitely return once the warm/hot water issue is resolved.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rina_Ballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff was really helpful and the room was clean, with one of the best views I have ever see. The bathroom was also clean, but in need of a updating. It had started to show it's age. The location was second to none. You couldn't ask for a better spot, with bars, restaurant and clubs on the doorstep. The hotel had its own restaurant and the food was good, but limited.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The location of this hotel on the sea front at St Lawrence Gap is lovely. There is a great pool and a nice area for reading and sunbathing on loungers.
The downside is that the hotel is directly over the road from various night clubs and bars that crank up until at least 4am every night! We had to ask to change our room, because we were unable to sleep with all the noise. Luckily a room came free for nights 4-7 of our week long stay. Although it was smaller than our first room, it was much quieter and we were finally able to sleep undisturbed.
The rooms are rather old-fashioned and the plumbing leaked in both bathrooms. The bathrooms are small, with a shower over the bath. Towels were changed every second day. There is a small kitchen area with a sink, jug, toaster, hot plate, full size fridge/freezer and microwave.
Our first room had a king size bed, but the second one only had a queen. There is a deck off the bedroom overlooking the ocean - perfect for sun-downers.
There are various restaurants nearby, and the bus stop is only a short walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a barrier from the street are quietest. A ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM unless you love to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Ebookers so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing