We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel on a budget!”
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel on a budget!”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I stayed at the South Gap Hotel for 8 nights in Oct 2008 with 2 friends.

We choose the hotel as we were going to Barbados on a budget and only paid £174 each for room only!

For the price I wasnt sure what to expect but the rooms were lovely, very clean and welcoming with nice decor. We had a kitchen area which was great, it had a kettle, toaster, microwave and cooker.

The Balcony was a sea view and was just great to sit on in the evening and have a few rums while looking out at the beautiful ocean.

The staff were very welcoming and always happy to help. I cut my finger quite badly one night and they were great and assisted with calling a doctor and explianing all options avaliable to me. It is a friendly hotel.

The pool was average, not the nicest pool area I have seen in barbados but still nice and I have no complaints.

The restaurant was being refurbished during our stay so we were unable to visit there.

The only shame about the hotel was that there was no beach access but it was only a short walk down the road.

There is a small convienance store nearby which is great for getting food etc....
Or if you want to eat out, I would throughly recommend eating at McBrides, its an irish pub and the food was amazing!! The irish stew was so good and the fish dishes were fresh and very tasty. We always make sure to visit!

The best thing about the South Gap was the location - right in the heart of the Gap. This was excellent for us as we love the nightlife in barbados - it really is second to none!!!!

I am heading back to Barbados in July and will be staying at an all inclusive hotel as this is easier for us but I would stay at The South Gap hotel if travelling on a budget again!!!!
I cannot wait to return to this fabulous island for the 6th time!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    282
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
76
358
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Lots of negative feedback on this hotel about noise. It is very noisy until 2am. Our response was to go out get drunk as we were on holiday, and we had no problem sleeping through the noise.

Fantastic view from all the rooms. Very good service. Beaches very close. Lots of fantastic eateries close by. Small shop very close and a fantastic supermarket a healthy walk away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The hotel staff were rally nice and pleasent and were extremely helpful. They made suggestions on resturants to eat at and even booked tables for you. The room was lovely and clean and fresh very easy access and had the most georgeous view from the balcony which was overlooking the pool and sea. The location couldn't be beaten it is in the centre of the gap and directly opposite The Ship pub so you have nightlife if you want it or walk further down the gap and have a meal at a nice quiet resturant. Would recommend Aquapisces resturant really nice and great food. The hotel is also within walking distance of the main road from Bridgetown to Oysons the fish market which is a must on a friday night. Just jump on the lilttle white mini bus for $1.50 from one end of island to next it is quite an experience in fact that is definately the cheapest and funniest way to travel the island. The people are lovely. Some of the night pubs ask for a cover charge which we refused to pay. There is enough entertainment with out having to pay entry into somewhere and buy your drinks as well. Some of the hotel rooms can be very noisy due to the night life on the gap but we had a quiet room but we wouldn't recommend this hotel to small children or for a relaxing holiday it too busy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beehiveManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This hotel has a good location, friendly and helpful staff, a good restaurant and pool area and provides excellent value for money. The self-catering option is useful for breakfast/lunches. Dover beach is 5 - 10 mins walk away and there is a bank, ATM, and convenience store nearby. The Ship Inn is over the road - decent food, Sky Sports and live entertainment etc. All good stuff .... but unfortunately there is also a nightclub over the road which plays music ( especially excruciatingly bad Karaoke) until 3 am. At such a volume that glasses vibrate in the kitchen cupboards and sleep becomes impossible.
After the first night, the hotel staff moved us to a room at lower level which was certainly better. I hope the hotel manager is able to do something about this club because in all other respects I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a beach holiday with some nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I have just got back from 2 weeks at the South Gap. First impressions were very favourable: great location right on the water (I knew there was no direct beach access) and all rooms have a great view of the pool area and the sea, with the waves crashing in. The room was bright, clean and reasonably equipped for the price.
The restaurant area looks newly decorated and is very pleasant, overlooking the pool and the sea. The breakfast menu is limited - probably most people self-cater for this - and lunch and dinner provided a good selection and the food was good, served by friendly staff. The bar is well-stocked. Good cocktails.
Reception staff are not overly friendly but are helpful when asked for information/advice/assistance. A couple of minor maintenance niggles were dealt with promptly.
Dover Beach and shopping are a short stroll away and there is a great choice of restaurants on the doorstep. Good bus service to Bridgetown.
So far, so good....
But, as mentioned by the previous reviewer, the noise from the club across the road is a real pain, with very loud music and excruciatingly bad karaoke going till 2 or 3 every morning. I did get so that I could sleep through a lot of it, but it took the edge off the whole experience and for this reason alone I would probably not stay there again. I knew the Gap had lots of pubs and restaurants - one of the reasons for choosing it - but the other clubs and bars acr manage to provide entertainment without this disturbance so I am not sure why the volume is so high at this place. It looks fairly new, so maybe this is its first year.

  • Liked — Location and amenities
  • Disliked — The late-night noise from NXS across the street.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We arrived at the Sth Gap Hotel during the day . Our first impression was that it had a nice view of the sea and it appeared to be simple but clean and homely. The staff were friendly.
However at around 10pm when the night club directly over the road opened, the load booming music made it difficult to hear the TV and later impossible to sleep. We finally fell asleep at 3am when the club closed. We checked out the next day but had to pay for another night as a penalty fee for cancelling! We were so desperate for a good nights sleep we paid and left.
We would not recommend this hotel to famiies or anyone wanting a relaxing stay in Barbados.

  • Liked — sea view, nice staff
  • Disliked — Very very noisy-impossible to sleep because of nightclub opposite hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blisterbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Just wanted to say we had a wonderful time in Barbados. As this is our 3rd time in Barbados 1 year staying in your sister hotel Yellow Bird and twice with South Gap, you can count on us coming again. By the time we go again the bar area by the pool should be finished and should look really good. Thank you for contributing to making our stay so wonderful and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future and thank you all for your hospitality.

Sandra and family

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sandra073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Property: South Gap Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing