We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean 15 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean 15 Hotel
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This property provides good value compared to most any other decent hotel in Barbados, anything cheaper are questionable quality/cleanliness. Actually, cleanliness is a strong point of this property. Location is very good although 5 min. walk to excellent Maxwell Beach (in front of Turtle Beach and Sandals resorts) or 10 min. walk to Dover public beach, and 15 min. walk to the great restaurants at St. Lawrence gap. Rooms are spacious and functional. Also very quiet as walls are block rather than wood/drywall - absolutely no sound from neighbouring rooms.

TV channel choices are OK with some Spanish. Also includes Canadian CBC Toronto feed, what a great surprise since that is rare to see (outside of Bahamas/Turks & Caicos) anywhere in the world. There is the usual U.S. mainline networks, TNT, HGTV, BBC, about 4 sports channels; roughly 30 channels in total. TV is HD but cable feed is not.

Swimming pool is a bit small but serves the small number of rooms well. I had 3 peeves: (1) every morning just after 6, a lady is cleans/scrubs the pool deck with annoying noise, (2) every morning just after 9, housekeeping knocks and wakes/bothers occupants (a bit early for those wanting to sleep/eat/get ready while on vacation), (3) placed a white T-shirt on shower curtain rod to dry but I didn't notice it was all rusty so that was a mistake.

Otherwise - highly recommended as a value property.

Room Tip: Don't take room #1 as you enter it from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks very much for your sentiments.
It is great that you found your stay with us of 'excellent value'.
We will fully analyse your 'pet peeves' to ensure an improved service. Thanks for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    67
    23
    4
    13
See reviews for
40
59
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Perfect location close enough to walk but far enough away from the noisier end of "the gap"
Helpful friendly staff in all areas, including Colvin and the team in the bar.
Our one bedroom apartment included a fully fitted kitchen - should the urge to cook overcome you - although the food available from the hotel itself is of a high standard and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is a jazz night on Thursdays and Karaoke on sundays, both finishing punctually at midnight. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alteasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay "at home" with us.
Our kitchenettes are really convenient for those who, as you say who are overcome by the urge to cook.
See you on your next visit to Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The "king" bed advertised was two twin beds pushed together. The sheets weren't changed at all during the ten day stay, the floors weren't mopped and the furniture was not dusted. The jazz and karaoke events lasted until 2 a.m., and the walls are so thin that sleep was impossible until those events ended. The staff wash your towels and return the same clean towels to you later. Thus, if you need to shower prior to the return of your towels, you're stuck. My room had it's own bathroom, my brother used the bathroom in the hall which was minuscule, when he closed the door, while making contact with the sink, his back also made contact with the door. There are laundry facilities on the premises, but the hotel charged you $20 BDS to wash your laundry which includes a small bottle of detergent and a small bottle of fabric softener. The cost cited by Booking.com failed to mention the 7.5% sales tax and the 10% service charge, while these charges were in $BDS, it was a cost about which I had no advance knowledge. I will not stay at Ocean 15 again and I would not recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room is to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quiet_St0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review.
There are elements of your review which are quite surprising eg. our rooms are cleaned daily as testified by several of our guests in previous reviews and our entertainment ends at midnight (management policy). It is unfortunate that you did not register any complaint with us on none of the ten days during which you say your room was not cleaned.
On behalf of Booking.com, we would alert you to the fact that they do include mention of the 7.5% sales tax and the 10% service charge - they are legally bound to do so.
We hope however that you will still consider Barbados for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Last year's stay in their standard room was more than enough for me to book again. An upgrade this year to a superior suite made for an even more relaxing and enjoyable stay. Lots of space (2 bedrooms if needed sitting room kitchen/diner) just screened from the pool area and from the bar keeping it quiet when the music was playing, Excellent breakfast choice and very good value. Evening meal likewise. Very friendly and helpful staff, And all the amenities of the Gap within a few minutes walk. Where else to stay ?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkb194805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
"Where else to stay" indeed! We're elated that your stay with us this year was even better than the last one. Excellent food, entertainment, amenities, friendly staff......."where else to stay"! Thanks for your review and see you next year when you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Helpful and friendly staff. Large , plain and simple accommodation. Small pool with a few sunbeds - sheltered when its windy. Jazz and karaoke night a bit noisy but didn't go on too late to be annoying. Would come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We look forward to your next visit - sunbeds and staff await you!
We do ensure that our entertainment ends by midnight so we are glad that you thought that it didn't go on too late. Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at Ocean 15 with friends. We had a great time in Barbados and Ocean 15 was a great value for money. I emailed reservations a few times after booking and Nicole was really helpful and pleasant. She also checked us in upon arrival and was very efficient and helped with booking restaurants etc. The room was basic but clean and was more than happy with facilities.

The food was great, we ate out a few times and always thought the food at Ocean 15 was better quality and value for money. They also do specials in addition to the standard menu. There were people who came from neighboring hotels to eat and enjoy entertainment at Ocean 15. The entertainment was good, jazz, karaoke and band night.

The bar staff were also very friendly, especially Colvin, Rachel and Andrea. Always smiling and giving great service.

Ocean 15 is close to the beach, a short walk away and also close to bars and nightlife at the gap. If you would like to go further afield there were always taxi's around.

(Reminded myself to leave a review as I am planning to go back to Barbados this year...and will be staying at Ocean 15)!!

Room Tip: Room 1,2,5,6 is close to the entertainment so can be disturbing if you are planning to have early ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerTam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We're so glad that you found your stay with us as 'great value for money".
The daily specials on our menu has proven to be a great attraction to all - locals and tourists alike. A short walk to the beach as well as bars and entertainment as you indicated is also a plus for our location at the quiet end of the Gap.
Hoping to see you on your next visit to Barbados!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our stay was short and sweet. Room is modern and clean, service was good. Good choice for young couples. Food was nice. Bar staff was very friendly......big up to Andrea she makes a great cocktail :-)
Looking forward for another visit. We really enjoyed it. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSamuel268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean15Barbados, Public Relations Manager at Ocean 15 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
"Good times" at Ocean 15 indeed! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks very much for your review and that cocktail is waiting for you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 15 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 15 Hotel

Property: Ocean 15 Hotel
Address: Dover Gardens, St. Lawrence Gap 15028, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean 15 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean15 is a family owned property offering traditional Barbadian warmth and hospitality. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers sixteen (16) impeccably furnished, luxury lifestyle rooms reflecting fine Barbadian decor, simple elegance and comfort. It is an excellently appointed facility designed to embrace families and business travelers, the adventurist or the individual looking for solitude. We are less than 5 minutes walking distance from the white sand and turquoise waters of Dover Beach and are located in the center of the renowned St Lawrence Gap, famous for its lively night life, wide variety of restaurants and bars and duty-free shopping. Within the Barbadian context, where luxury high end hotels are typically located on the West Coast of the island, the hotel has been described as "a West Coast experience on the South Coast." As such, we live up to our maxim "De Luxe for Less!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Kognitiv US Corp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean 15 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 15 Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing