We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been to Barbados 40 times since 1973 and stayed at Magic Isle the last 39 times”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magic Isle Beach Apartments
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Magic Isle exclusively since almost the beginning of our travels there around 1973. The owners are still the same great people. The office staff have many friends/clients worldwide because most visitors are repeats and they are repeats for a reason. The visitors know the staff by name and the staff know the visitors by name. That includes Kendrake and Edward who look after the grounds. Sheila, Rose and the other ladies who look after the rooms. And the office staff of course.
We have stayed in nearly every room at the property. And it doesn't really matter which room they assign because inside they are all the same and they all have balconies or a patio.
Accra (Rockley) Beach is 60 or so stepping stones from the furthest room. It is a beautiful sight to see. Which is probably why we walk it from sun up to sun down with breaks at the pool in the shade when needed.
Everything is handy the Magic Isle. Airport 15-20 minutes. Downtown Bridgetown 20 minutes. Many restaurants, banks, grocery stores, wine shops, liquor stores. The now famous Boardwalk starts at the beach directly in front of Magic Isle. Even a great doctor is only 5-10 minutes drive.
The apartments are big and bright with everything needed for housekeeping. We were dismayed when they put phones and tv in the rooms years ago because we liked the isolation. So we don't use the tv, have never made a phone call (although we have received a few that we could have done without :). We do put the radio on for some local music every once in a while. But that's about it. The rest of the time is on the beach, in the pool or on the balcony with a Mount Gay or 2.
Before a reader of this says we wouldn't know a good place to stay in Barbados because we've only stayed at the Magic Isle let me say that I owned a travel agency for many years and have been in nearly every property in Barbados, every property in Bermuda, have been to nearly every island in the Caribbean and I still say Barbados is a fantastic place to visit and the Magic Isle is a fantastic place to stay. I only wish we could get there more!!

Room Tip: If you are a repeat you will be asking the office for the room of your choice and they will do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Second visit in four years. Stayed for two weeks this time - last week in September and first week in October 2013. Little to add to my last review dated October 2009. Noisy AC units have been replaced by updated and quiet models, in the two apartments we occupied. Wi Fi is available after 08:30 in the on site pool area and in the apartments nearest the pool. This was the so called rainy season but the only significant rainfall was overnight. A few days were partially cloudy which was a relief from the hot overhead midday sun.The ambient air temperature is still as high during the rare cloudy weather - upper 20's to 31 deg C . Good time of the year to visit if you prefer a quiet holiday- only six apartments intermittently occupied during our stay. Busy time is December to February when holidaymakers escape the North American/North European winters. If you decide to rent a car, Stoutes are recommended for their efficiency and courtesy and will pay a refund on your credit card, if you terminate the rental contract early. An alternative way to tour the island is to hire a taxi for a day. Gridlocked traffic in Bridgetown and its suburbs during the weekday morning and evening rush hours. Beware of many potholes on all inland roads and of steep lanes leading down to the east coast.
Additional comments:
1. If you need a taxi, Winston Williams taxi service is recommended.
2.A security guard is on continuous patrol during hours of darkness.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment nearest the beach for good sea views and the sound of breaking waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hintertuxsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Magic Isle apartments have been recently repainted and look good inside and out. The front carpark has a rope across it, which has to be undone by the security guard, and entrance at the front of the roadside block is by key only. At the back a gate through the high wire fence is open for most of the day but closed at night, so security is good. To the left, the white-sand Accra Beach is fine for swimming. To the right, the boardwalk allows you to visit various other small beach areas all the way to Hastings. The Magic Isle swimming pool is not very glamorous and we much preferred to use the nearby beaches. There are at least a dozen interesting restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The block nearest the sea has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks.
the apartments could not be in a better location yards from the beach it has its own swimming pool which is cleaned daily as well as the grounds.
our apartment had a microwave,toaster etc everything you need for a self catering holiday some items could do with re-placing, it also had its own balcony overlooking the pool and we could see the sea and beach pure heaven.
within walking distance are a good choice of restaurants (bubbas,champers etc) and mini-markets.
from just outside magic isle is the start of the broadwalk, which early morning(6am) you will see runners and walkers from locals to tourists. along the walk there is a number of eating places with a sea view very romantic.
with 24 hour security we always felt save.
not far from the apartments are the bus stops which run regular to Bridgetown and to st Lawrence.
all rooms were cleaned daily by the maid and what a good job she did.
the staff helpful and any questions we had re trips we were given good advice.
tip the supermarket to use is Big-B they have more choice and are cheaper then the mini-market near by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nashnashChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You cannot beat the location of these apartments. The views are gorgeous and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. I do wish the would update some of their creature comforts. A coffee pot that works, for example.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Overall nice large apartments ,clean and well equipped , apart from very noisy aircon in bedrooms difficult to sleep with the noise.Lovely beech location ,great sea view if you get the block at the front not such great views if you dont.Staff friendly security good . Down side when we arrived we were informed not to leave windows open as we were in the most isolated apartment in the complex { great to be told this when were 2 women} ,no smoking on balcony so for smokers they have put an ashtray and some seats near the pool this is a bit of putting in dark to have to walk to the seats , with all of the above in mind we asked the day after we arrived if we could move rooms ,as there were around 20 apartments free , thursday came and still no answer to move , we asked again and still no one could say yes or no , by sat there were 26 out of 30 apts free and we were still in isolated room!!!!!!!! , pool nice but lack of shade or umbrellas round it so you are either getting burnt or you have to sit under the umbrella for smokers , overall nice place but lack of customer service to deal with problems or requsts. Example being above plus an elderly guest how was there for 3 weeks asked to be moved as no steps from her balcony to grass , two bricks were put there for her to step on to and she was not moved to one with steps.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juls522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Basic apartment but clean and on the beach - close to everything - no car required and many taxis available - see their recommended list. Security conscious - well monitored 24hrs.

Walking distance for many restaurants, drug stores, bars and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JGgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockley
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Worthing
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Isle Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Isle Beach Apartments

Address: Rockley Beach, Rockley, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Rockley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rockley
Price Range: £74 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Magic Isle Beach Apartments Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing