We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is all you need.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magic Isle Beach Apartments
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is all you need.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We've stayed at the Magic Isle previously and you just can't beat the location. If you are looking to be pampered, you need to look elsewhere. The rooms are clean and tidy with a decent kitchenette. You don't need any more and you are only 30 seconds away from one of the best beaches in Barbados. The only issue is the A/C in the bedroom which is right beside head of the bed (bring some ear plugs). Some people have had issues with Michele and all I can say is we never have.

Beach vendors will rent you umbrellas and chairs ($15 US per day), but if you are lucky he might not collect some days. Lots of beach service and food nearby. Lots of good places to eat within walking distance. One TV channel (Fox News) which I never turned on and WiFi is free.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose ground if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    29
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the Magic Isle Apartments.Had a fabulous time....but the only person to spoil our stay was the abrupt,miserable receptionist,Michelle.Upon booking (via the internet) we were told that we could only be accommodated for 13 nights out of the 14 we required.We accepted that arrangement intending to find alternative accommodation for the last night.However,upon arrival Michelle told us that they had had " a cancellation" and that they could accommodate us for the entire 14 nights.The day after arriving we went to reception to pay for the apartment and Michelle told us that the price was dearer by 10%. I queried this and expressed disappointment as we had budgeted our finances on what we had been told the cost was.At this she simply said,"O.K." and discounted the additional 10%.........dodgy behaviour!!
That aside,whenever I went into the office she was always grumpy and gave the distinct impression that the customer was a nuisance.It was a delight to visit the office one morning and be well greeted by another receptionist called Nicky.....what a contrast !!! Pleasant,courteous helpful and happy at her work. Michelle ought to be taken off reception as she is a bad start to anyones day....and especially holiday.She is more suited to cleaning the apartments which is done when customers are out enjoying the beautiful island.The cleaners were excellent ( as indeed were all other staff members).Also,the day before departure I inquired about leaving our luggage safe once we checked out until we departed for the airport.Michelle made a meal of the matter and pretended that she was having to go to great lengths to juggle the apartments and told me to inquire again later.When I did she pulled a face and said " I can let you use room number 123 from 1pm until 3pm".She was just trying to make herself look good,as if she had done us a great favour.There's always one isn't there!! Get rid of grumpy knickers Magic Isle and have the PERFECT place to stay for a self-catering holiday in Barbados!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Linda Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

These apartments are really well laid out, very clean and in a great location with shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance. The kitchen is perfectly serviceable.
The beach is seconds away and beautiful, though the waves can get quite big.
They aren't particularly cheap, but then where is on the beach in Barbados? We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have stayed at Magic Isle many times over the years and will always return.
Clean, friendly, great location and value are the keys to this place. It may not be 5 star, but it has everything you need for an extended stay on beautiful Barbados island.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Magic Isle exclusively since almost the beginning of our travels there around 1973. The owners are still the same great people. The office staff have many friends/clients worldwide because most visitors are repeats and they are repeats for a reason. The visitors know the staff by name and the staff know the visitors by name. That includes Kendrake and Edward who look after the grounds. Sheila, Rose and the other ladies who look after the rooms. And the office staff of course.
We have stayed in nearly every room at the property. And it doesn't really matter which room they assign because inside they are all the same and they all have balconies or a patio.
Accra (Rockley) Beach is 60 or so stepping stones from the furthest room. It is a beautiful sight to see. Which is probably why we walk it from sun up to sun down with breaks at the pool in the shade when needed.
Everything is handy the Magic Isle. Airport 15-20 minutes. Downtown Bridgetown 20 minutes. Many restaurants, banks, grocery stores, wine shops, liquor stores. The now famous Boardwalk starts at the beach directly in front of Magic Isle. Even a great doctor is only 5-10 minutes drive.
The apartments are big and bright with everything needed for housekeeping. We were dismayed when they put phones and tv in the rooms years ago because we liked the isolation. So we don't use the tv, have never made a phone call (although we have received a few that we could have done without :). We do put the radio on for some local music every once in a while. But that's about it. The rest of the time is on the beach, in the pool or on the balcony with a Mount Gay or 2.
Before a reader of this says we wouldn't know a good place to stay in Barbados because we've only stayed at the Magic Isle let me say that I owned a travel agency for many years and have been in nearly every property in Barbados, every property in Bermuda, have been to nearly every island in the Caribbean and I still say Barbados is a fantastic place to visit and the Magic Isle is a fantastic place to stay. I only wish we could get there more!!

Room Tip: If you are a repeat you will be asking the office for the room of your choice and they will do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Second visit in four years. Stayed for two weeks this time - last week in September and first week in October 2013. Little to add to my last review dated October 2009. Noisy AC units have been replaced by updated and quiet models, in the two apartments we occupied. Wi Fi is available after 08:30 in the on site pool area and in the apartments nearest the pool. This was the so called rainy season but the only significant rainfall was overnight. A few days were partially cloudy which was a relief from the hot overhead midday sun.The ambient air temperature is still as high during the rare cloudy weather - upper 20's to 31 deg C . Good time of the year to visit if you prefer a quiet holiday- only six apartments intermittently occupied during our stay. Busy time is December to February when holidaymakers escape the North American/North European winters. If you decide to rent a car, Stoutes are recommended for their efficiency and courtesy and will pay a refund on your credit card, if you terminate the rental contract early. An alternative way to tour the island is to hire a taxi for a day. Gridlocked traffic in Bridgetown and its suburbs during the weekday morning and evening rush hours. Beware of many potholes on all inland roads and of steep lanes leading down to the east coast.
Additional comments:
1. If you need a taxi, Winston Williams taxi service is recommended.
2.A security guard is on continuous patrol during hours of darkness.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment nearest the beach for good sea views and the sound of breaking waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hintertuxsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
666 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Magic Isle apartments have been recently repainted and look good inside and out. The front carpark has a rope across it, which has to be undone by the security guard, and entrance at the front of the roadside block is by key only. At the back a gate through the high wire fence is open for most of the day but closed at night, so security is good. To the left, the white-sand Accra Beach is fine for swimming. To the right, the boardwalk allows you to visit various other small beach areas all the way to Hastings. The Magic Isle swimming pool is not very glamorous and we much preferred to use the nearby beaches. There are at least a dozen interesting restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The block nearest the sea has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockley
0.0 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.7 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Isle Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Isle Beach Apartments

Property: Magic Isle Beach Apartments
Address: Rockley Beach, Rockley, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Rockley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rockley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Magic Isle Beach Apartments Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing