We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience”
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Nelson-Gay-022.jpg Gazebo--.jpg
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Nelson-Gay-011-HR.jpg
Nelson-Gay-022.jpg
Gazebo--.jpg
Gazebo-Seating.jpg
Nelson-Gay-006-HR.jpg
Nelson Gay 004 HR.jpg
New-living-room-with-chaire.jpg
Nelson-Gay-001-HR.jpg
Nelson Gay 011.jpg
Erte-Room.jpg
chattel house.jpg
NG Boatview nu-sky.jpg
New-Master-Angle.jpg
Living-room-rear.jpg
Loungers-Garden.jpg
newdining.jpg
Pool-to-Sea-Night.jpg
Pool-to-Villa-Night.jpg
nelson-gay-3.jpg
nelson-gay-5.jpg
NGStaff2016.jpg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katrin611
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

It was a wonderful experience. What you see on the photos is what you get.
The house is big, high ceilings, has great size of rooms, space and nice atmosphere.
The pool is heated, the garden is beautiful, with a variaty of trees, bushes, flowers beautiful.
Access right at the beach with a sunset corner to have your drink while admiring the sun set
The staff is welcoming, warm, professional. They were there when needed and knew how to be discret.
You feel at home for your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank You so much for your review, Katrin! We greatly appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed Nelson Gay and the beautiful sunsets. I will pass on your kind words to the staff - they are sure to put a smile on their faces. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D
1 review
“Nelson Gay”
Reviewed 15 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay! The staff is awesome and you are feet away from the ocean. Love the Nelson Gay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review, Debbie! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mctaguesb
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely beach location and wonderful staff... Caribbean paradise”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Such a lush, beautiful charming beachfront villa with plenty of room for the 9 of us. The staff is so friendly and accommodating and honestly the food served was the best we've had among the different villas that we have rented on Barbados. Loved that the pool was the central focal point of the grounds. Also loved learning the history of the house which you can find in their welcome book. We usually stay in St James parish and I have to say this location on the beach is a lot quieter. Not as many loud catamarans and jet skis in front of the villa all the time. Will probably rent again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of Nelson Gay! The grounds and pool are definitely one of the best features of the villa, and as you say the beach out front is a perfect retreat from the busier beaches down the coast. We will be passing on your kind words to all of the staff - especially the cook! Look forward to welcoming you back to this little slice of paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice F
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
1 review
“All you need and more for a wedding venue!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We decided to book Nelson Gay for our wedding week, and it did not disappoint! It was only a small wedding of 11, so we were able to have all our family and friends stay with us for the week, as well as hold the wedding on the immaculate property. The chattle house provided the perfect amount of privacy for the bride and groom, and was beautifully decorated as a surprise on the night of the wedding. Shauntel, Billy, Tyrone, Winston and the rest of the staff were so wonderful, and quickly felt like part of the family! The food was absolutely incredible, some of the best meals we've had, and Billy's rum punch definitely lived up to the expectiations from other reviews! The fridge was always fully stocked with beer, and we were even provided a cooler so we could have drinks down by the beach. The Blue Sky staff were very helpful in organizing excursions, airport transportation, car hires, and last minute wedding prep such as having the dresses and suits professionally pressed. Between the closet full of board games, and the water sports chest by the beach, there was never a dull moment! The staff were extremely accommodating and worked with the wedding coordinator to ensure our special day was perfect! Our stay was made even more special on the last evening when we were surprised with a BBQ and a live Reagge performance! This is the perfect versatile property for any type of holiday; whether it be with family or friends, to host an event, or just relax, Nelson Gay is the place for you!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Hi Alice, we are so happy to hear that you had a fabulous wedding week - it sounds like everything went perfectly! All of the staff here at Blue Sky Luxury and Nelson Gay felt honoured to be part of such a special day for you, your partner, and all of your family and friends. Thank you so much for all of the kind compliments - Nelson Gay is definitely a special place with lots of special people. Hope to see everyone back again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROUNDSPRI...
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Heavenly Oasis”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Party of 6 adults. Everything was perfect. The staff are attentive but not invasive. The food was wonderful, simple and wholesome as per our request. The gardens are a delightful oasis. Beach access is superb and private. We ate out twice in 2 weeks and on reflection shouldn't have bothered as we didn't find anywhere with the ambience and quality of Nelson Gay. If you need to relax in beautiful surroundings with your family and friends do it here - there is something for everyone. The media room was a hit for the younger ones on hot days. The beach watersports are outside the back gate. The garden has good shade and privacy. The pool (which we had heated) was therapeutic. Billy makes the best rum punch. Thanks to all for making our stay so special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Nelson Gay! We're so happy to hear that you had a special stay, and will be sure to let Billy know he's still the top rum punch man on the island :) The beautiful surroundings at Nelson Gay definitely make this one of the best kept secrets in Barbados. Thanks again for all the kind words, and so happy to hear that you and your family had a lovely time - hope to see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely the Best”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We first came to Nelson Gay in 2012 and have returned every year since. The owner lavishes the place with care and each year there's something more to admire. The staff completely make the place, and make sure we get a true holiday with not a care in the world. Nelson Gay is something from a more elegant age, and we absolutely love it. Next year is booked !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Hi Chris! Thanks for the lovely review! It goes without saying that we're so happy to see you year on year, and hope your holidays just keep getting better and better. Thanks again, and we're looking forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
2 reviews
“A glorious villa in a sensational position with the best staff in Barbados”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Nelson Gay has a timeless charm and draws visitors into its embrace. From the moment you are greeted by the entire staff until the sad time when you have to bid them all farewell, you are guaranteed the most memorable experience. The position of the estate is ideal - on a beautiful (often virtually private) beach but within easy
walking distance of an attractive town in one direction and Cobblers Cove in the other. The bedrooms are light and airy: and we lunched and dined out of doors throughout our stay. The food is delicious - with optional menus offering plenty of suggestions as well as the opportunity to go off-piste.

Returning visitors to Barbados know what to expect in terms of the marvellous welcome and the opportunities to attempt the full range of sports and touring: or opt to do absolutely nothing except soak up the sun and wallow in the matchless sea. With its charming grounds, Nelson Gay provides a delightful base. Our party of nine enjoyed the most wonderful holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Nelson Gay and its enchanting spot on the beautiful West Coast of Barbados, David. Your descriptions of the villa, its location, the food and activities are wonderful - and we're so happy to hear you had a marvelous experience. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing