We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and super-helpful host”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach as seen from the terrace of Carib Edge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach as seen from the terrace of Carib Edge
White Sands building from the beach. The upper left penthouse terrace belongs to Carib Edge Beach at the White Sands building, never  crowded
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Beach as seen from the terrace of Carib Edge
White Sands building from the beach. The upper left penthouse terrace belongs to Carib Edge
Beach at the White Sands building, never  crowded
'House beach' in front of the White Sands building
Beach with turquoise sea water in front of the White Sands building
Coral sand at the beach in front
Beach with only small houses between Speightstown and White Sands building
Location of apartments, White Sands condominium complex, Speightstown
Floor plan of Carib Edge penthouse
White Sands building from Sand Street. Coral Edge is the uppermost terrace to the left
Terrace of Carib Edge penthouse
View of the beach from the terrace of Carib Edge
Beach view from terrace (after recent storm took away a palm tree)
Details of beach view from terrace
Sea view from the terrace of Carib Edge
View to the northwest from the terrace. Hugos restaurant to the left.
Living room with ample seating. Two AC, two fans, windows to open. Working desk, monitor and printer
Living room, AC, fans Smart TV, books to read, music dock, pictures with scenes from Barbados
View from terrace of Carib Edge as seen by the artist Sophia Ivarsson
Living room. Smart TV, book shelf with many books to read, music dock; French door to terrace
Modern kitchen with dining table for four, AC, fan, window. Fridge and freezer with ice cube maker
Kitchen area with ample space for chinaware
Washing machine and dryer in corridor
Airy bedroom with two windows, ceiling fan, AC
Queen-size bed with mosquito net (if needed) and Venetian blinds to darken the large room
Bathroom with walk in shower, wash basin with large mirror, toilet
Details of bathroom
Entrance to gated car park of White Sands; outside parking to the right
Partial view of gated car park of White Sands
Heywoods beach at Port Saint Charles, 15 min walking distance, 3 min by car
Heywoods beach at Port St. Charles yacht harbour, 15 min by foot, 3 min by car
Turtle hatchlings on their way to the sea
Snorkeling amidst turtle hatchlings at a beach nearby
Small fishing boat at Little Good Harbour nearby
St. Nicholas Abbey in the inner part of the island. They produce a very special rum?
Remnants of former fortifications are ubiquitous on the island
Unexpected visitors: Bajan green monkeys
Garden of Anglican Codrington College, east coast
East coast at Bathsheba, a surfers paradise. Easy to get there by bus.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MargaretS...
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and super-helpful host”
Reviewed 2 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Speightstown was a charming, quaint little town, not too tourist-y, with beautiful beaches and some nice places to eat (Orange Grocer, Nino's by the Sea, Juma's, Island Plates), banks/ATMs and a decent supermarket (Jordan's). The condo was very well-equipped, with everything you could possibly need, even beach chairs and a beach umbrella. There are beaches steps from the condo (you can see them from the condo terrace) and it's a very short walk into Speightstown to eat. Thilo was incredibly helpful and provided loads of information on the condo, transport, the area, etc. Also great to have an on-site caretaker. I'd book again if I return to Barbados.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
We thank for the great review. We always try, that our guests feel at home in our apartment. Margaret, you are very welcome to come back again! Thilo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 May 2018
Dear Lou, Thank you for the five star review. We appreciate you liked also this apartment; you are always welcome to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
I thank our guest for his repeated visits and the recent excellent review of our new Carib Edge apartment in the White Sands condo. Hope to see you soon again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Departure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything I wanted and more”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Carib Edge was the perfect spot from which to launch and maintain a wonderfully restorative 28-day Barbados vacation. I highly recommend it.

The apartment is housed in a very well-maintained complex featuring a security gate with a keypad as well as a locked front door to the building itself. As a single female traveller I felt secure.

The unit was lovely and clean and well appointed with lots of everything: towels, sheets, kitchenware and beach gear, including chairs, umbrellas and snorkelling equipment. It was also amazingly quiet, given the usual noise associated with a non-hotel setting.

The bedroom at the back of the unit was large and airy, as is the entire unit, thanks to beautiful vaulted ceilings. The bedroom had lots of closet space with good hangers and a double dresser. It was so serene that I had some of the best sleeps of my life there. The mattress provided the perfect amount of firmness and the ceiling fan kept the air moving so that I didn't need to turn on the air conditioning or use the mosquito net over the bed. For a deadline-weary journalist, this bedroom was sheer bliss.

The patio was lovely and the ocean-view featured an ever-changing kaleidoscope of colour, movement and sky/ocean awesomeness. I enjoyed connecting with the day each morning as well as the gorgeous sunset views.

I was told that the new ocean-side restaurant, Hugo's, across the road might create some noise but didn't find this to be the case. I also found the staff there friendly, approachable and very helpful, even when all I needed was a cab! A drink and an appetizer in the beautiful lounge was also a less expensive alternative to a full-on meal in the open-air dining room, and featured the same front-row view of the the sea crashing onto giant rocks. Stunning.

The apartment is so well located that renting a car is optional. I walked everywhere. That's the fabulous thing about Speightstown: it's small, historic, friendly, and everything is on the water within 10 minutes walking distance of the apartment.

In the evenings I took a cab to fab restaurants like The Fish Pot (don't pay more than $30 BBDs for the taxi) and during the day I braved the yellow buses to fly down the coast to the Sunshine Kula yoga studio in Holetown.

There are lots of great places to eat in Speightstown. You'll find authentic Bajan cuisine at Fisherman's Pub and terrific chicken rotis at Juma's (where you can eat lunch from you umbrella-shaded lounger on the beach). I also enjoyed the thin-crust wood-fired pizzas and salads loaded with avocado, feta, and walnuts at The Orange Grocer (ask for Nick or Julie).

The new place in town, One Eleven East, was my absolute fave. The owners are really lovely people and the place is a beautiful but laid-back oasis featuring great coffee, drinks and interesting people of all stripes. It quickly became my go-to spot for cappuccino and a Paris-worthy almond croissant, beach lounging, swimming, paddle-boarding (they rent), delicious crusty gooey grilled cheese sandwiches (which I never usually eat and at 5 pm, a paddle board yoga class with a view of the setting sun. This was invariably followed by a sundowner with the instructor and classmates.

Did I enjoy my stay? I've already re-booked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thank you K. for this more than excellent review. Some of the mentioned special amenities offered in Speightstown I did even not know myself, e.g. the paddle board yoga class with a view of the setting sun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatsyClin...
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and accommodation.”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Caribe Edge was an incredible experience. There was everything you could want in this one bedroom apartment. Extra linen, beach towels, pillows and an incredibly well equipped kitchen. The walk in shower was a bonus.

It is well and comfortably furnished. You only need to bring your bathing suit here.

The patio accessed by two French doors a lovely place to catch a few rays , watch the sunset or enjoy a meal. There were two umbrellas for those who need shade, and no shortage of patio furniture and loungers. You have a lovely view of ocean although partially blocked by a new restaurant.

For those who love the beach, it is a mere 20 seconds across a rarely travelled road, You will have to carry the beach chairs or beach umbrellas yourself.

Everything is within walking distance on safe side walks or road. There are two grocery stores and a bakery around the corner that is to die for! There is lots of beer and wine available in the grocery stores

If you are into the bar scene there are a couple of small bars in town on the water as well as a few nice restaurants.

One of the nice things about this apartment is the housekeeper Sonjia. She is so pleasant and helpful and is usually around the building somewhere and available by phone. Our kettle broke and she arrived the next morning with a new one.

If you do have a car, there is a locked garage so security is not an issue.

My only criticism would be the lack of screens in the living room and kitchen areas. We do not like air conditioning so would like to have been able to leave the windows open in those areas in the evening. The two ceiling fans worked well to circulate the air and there are three air conditioners for those who like it cool.The bedroom and bathroom are screened. The unit is on the third floor and there is a considerable climb up the stairs.

All in all this is one of the best apartments we have ever stayed in and I can't imagine anyone else thinking otherwise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
We thank Patsy for the very positive review. We will have screens (mosquito nets) mounted, so these will be there when you come hopefully back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinar...
Molndal, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“splendid”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The carib edge penthouse was a wonderful place to stay.Our hosts made everything to feel us at home in the place in the Caribbean.The penthouse is very well equipped, tastefully furnished, has a large terrace which is open to the west and north and allows therefore a wide view.We enjoyed sitting there for our breakfast and especially in he afternoon and evening, watching the sunset, the birds, and enjoying the trade winds.
The location is really greater mostly empty beach infront of the condo and this is just a few minutes away from a little town where you find all amenities needed.Speightstown is not crowded by tourists.You see the local Bajan population doing their shopping, selling and buying vegetables on the street.
No rental car is needed if you want to enjoy the beach live.if you want to explore the island a car is convenient of course, perhaps just for a few days.
from Speightstown bus terminal almost all places on the island can be reached by bus, which is very cheap indeed.
This is an ideal place but perhaps not for people enjoying disco music and noisy night life.If you want this go to the south coast.we will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
I thank the reviewer very much, who enjoyed the peaceful surroundings in Speightstown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralanyate...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carib Edge - a wonderful holiday location”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Carib Edge was all that we had hoped for in our Caribbean holiday. The apartment was tastefully and immaculately furnished, well equipped, with interesting art work, books, plants and local information. We particularly appreciated the “one level” living and the large walk-in shower.
Its location is ideal – just across from a lovely beach, easy walking distance into the friendly and colourful town of Speighstown, which has good restaurants, a supermarket and a couple of beach bars.
We particularly liked sitting on the large terrace and watching the glorious sunsets and ever changing skies, followed by a BBQ (electric, so no hassle!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
We appreciate this review of our newly acquired Carib Edge penthouse. It gives a very good impression of specifics and the local setting of the apartment in easy walking distance to Speightstown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing