We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbados - about as far away from China as you can get...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of East Moon

East Moon
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Barbados - about as far away from China as you can get...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had takeaway, but the place is nice enough - more atmospheric in the evening than at lunchtime. The portions are generous, especially of the carbs and veg, a little less so on the meat dishes. If your barometer is an average Cantonese US / British restaurant then this place should just about meet (adjusted) expectations. If you want anything more interesting then you're in the wrong place. The garlic bak choy was good. The shrimp chow mein was workaday. The kung po chicken was a sweet and sour with a bit of sweet chilli sauce thrown in - not even a peanut in sight. Beijing: GMT+8. Bridgetown: GMT-4. Enough said.

[BTW, Trip Advisor moderators, the photo and URL currently showing for this restaurant bear no relation to it whatsoever - appears to be some villa in Poland...]

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennyTinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    18
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS CHINESE FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is the best Chinese food!!! The setting is a bit rustic but do not miss the food. We ordered a variety of dishes and stayed in to dine on our terrace with the sounds of the sea.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovenlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good backup option, large portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

we ended up eating here twice during our holiday when everything else was closed or booked. its a pretty big restaurant, but most patrons just seemed to do takeaway. a lot of locals come here and get the fried rice. its massive and depending on meat or vegetable, its 13-22 BDS. for 4 adults we would typically get fried rice and 2 dishes and it was more than enough. the owner and main cook is a chinese couple. and the taste is more like average americanised-chinese take away. overall, pretty good, nothing extraordinary, but I dont think you come to this particular spot thinking youre getting gourmet food =) they also have a small bar and plenty of parking in the back. its a bit outside Speightstown, you pretty much need to drive or take the bus, it would be a long walk from main street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuniorAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holetown
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“East Moon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Their food is very good for little shack like structure, has a little charm :) The prices are reasonable and the portions are big enough with the exception of the spring rolls. The first time I ordered they were worth the $6 but after that (and I have ordered at least 3 times after) their spring rollls were tiny yet I was charged the same $6. Service is usually very quick and you can even call in your order and pickup. They're open pretty late as well, 11pm and for Bim that's late lol

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiannaHoletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speightstown, Barbados
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My go to spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

When we are feeling hungry, we dont order KFC or pizza, this is our go to place.From the time i call and give the name Alice or the waitress(cant remember her name but she has locks) know our order;half house special low mein, sweet and sour spare ribs and wing wings (fried wantons) as my daughter calls them. The food is always good and a half potion serves 3 of us,my daughter, sister and I. We have been eating here from the time they opened when they had a larger restaurant and the quality of the food is always the same. I would definitely recommend East Moon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalTourist89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Moon also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Mullins, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to East Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing