We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Chinese Food”
Review of East Moon

East Moon
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese Food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

East Moon is my go-to place when I'm in the mood for chinese food. Can always count on the food to be really good and satisfying and you really can't beat the big portions you get! The most annoying thing about this place is sometimes the really long wait for the food. I once waited an hour for my order! Other persons that were there before me were waiting even longer and walked out. From then, I always call ahead and order.

The couple that runs it works really hard though, and I wish them continued success.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nykei16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    18
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Visited this twice during our stay. Lovely, tasty food and great prices.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The service is truly Caribbean time, but hey, you're on holiday! Relax.
Liked the food, price and the quaintness. Also, it is walking distance from Battaleys Mews

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTravelTutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Casual setting with lots of locals getting food to go. Pork ribs on the appetizers were the best thing we had there. They were served in a sauce with some onions and peppers so they are not the kind you would expect in the US but very tasty. The Hot and Sour soup was a disappointment - glowing red, no vinegar, no pork, no tofu - just a red blob of cornstarch with no flavor. Main dishes are small. We had Szechuan Chicken with peanuts. No peanuts which she told us when ordering - subbed cashews instead. The dish had about 1.5 oz chicken, no flavor, few veg - mostly cornstarch thickened sauce. Also had Szechuan fried beef so we were expecting twice fried beef in a sauce. Instead, it was long stripes of beef - think like shape of a half straw, coated in cornstarch and fried. Served with a duck like sauce on the side. Not sure if we would return

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Straight forward Chinese”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Straight forward Chinese food - the special red snapper was really good. Not too expensive compare to other local rests and a lot of people were collecting take aways.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have visited East Moon on 3 trips to Barbados using the take away service rather than eating in, enjoying a super cold Banks whilst waiting for our order. Good food, half portions available, friendly staff, reasonably priced with a wide choice available. As we stay in the Mullins area this is an excellent first meal after landing as it is also very close to a 24 hour petrol station mini mart so not only can you get an easy take away but you can also pick up essentials from the garage.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindafromnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Moon also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Mullins, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to East Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing