We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
relax on the fabulous terrace and drink in the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
relax on the fabulous terrace and drink in the views
Turtle Beach Penthouse, third from the right .... the view from the living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
relax on the fabulous terrace and drink in the views
Turtle Beach Penthouse, third from the right ....
the view from the living area
al fresco dining at Turtle Beach
living area with open plan kitchen, marble floors and high cathedral ceilings
another view of the spacious living area
master bedroom with en suite bathroom, AC and ceiling fan
second bedroom, with adjoining bathroom, AC and ceiling fan
upstairs landing with atrium leading to living area
Turtle Beach as seen from the beach
The idyllic beach at historic Speightstown
Relax on the terrace of Turtle Beach
Evening falls at Turtle Beach
Tasteful tropical furnishings throughout
entrance foyer with full bathroom, and utility area with mahogany staircase leading up to main floor
fresh fish !!
Sunset at Mullins Beach Bar
Sunset at Turtle Beach
Local beach, fantastic!
Amazing Caribbean colours
The colours of the Caribbean evening sky
The beautiful and rugged wild East coast…a 30 minute drive away
Bathsheba, on the East Coast
Evening catamaran cruise, a must 'do' on your trip
The famous Mullins Beach a 2 minute drive away, perfect for swimming and snorkelling
The fabulous powder white sand beach, Speightstown
The local pub ...... a cool Banks beer awaits....
another beautiful morning !
Thunder Bay .... sun is up :)
another stunning sunset as seen from the terrace
on your last sunset you will not want to leave :)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnjcart
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our initial expectations of this property were understandably based on what the owner wrote about it in her 'description' of the apartment. Words like 'fabulous', 'stunning', 'perfect' and 'idyllic' are used freely and it was difficult to reconcile this description with the reality of living in a poorly maintained, dirty and cluttered apartment.
Furthermore, when you are not happy you are encouraged to report the fact to the owner or responsible person. We have done so and what follows is an extract from an e-mail sent on 4 March 2013 listing our concerns and registering our disappointment. To date we have not had the courtesy of a reply. You may draw your own conclusions!

“Hi Trisha
Further to my e-mail below. As you may have gathered our holiday accommodation together with the facilities you listed proved a big disappointment.
We were sold a dream, which did not live up to our expectations (this holiday was to celebrate our retirement).
You will be aware by now that in the en-suite to the main bedroom there was no hot water in the shower for 7 days, until the plumber (Andrew) came to fix the 'drainage' of the bath and the faucet, which was blocked by a calcium deposit, losing a morning of our holiday waiting for the repair to be completed. Without an operating shower the four of us had to share one bathroom for a week, which was extremely inconvenient more especially as this bath was slow to drain and the extractor fan wasn't working which meant the door had to be left open.
Some of the other facilities listed on your 'booking site', for instance "linen & towels provided" - the quality of the towels were unbelievably shabby (We have a photo if you wish to inspect) and the colour of the white towels defies description.The TV you mention under 'general' only provided one channel and that was a home shopping/religious channel, not that TV was high on the list of requirements but it would have been nice to keep up with news events, local weather and in particular the Barbadian general election, which was on at the time.You say that under 'rooms' there is a solarium and roof terrace - is this the same as balcony and terrace (outdoors)? Your 'blurb' seems to suggest under 'rooms' that there was a solarium and roof terrace - if so, where was it?
General housekeeping was of a very poor standard. We have photos of dust and dirt in some quantity along the blades of the fans and on the built in wardrobe section of the main bedroom. The batteries in one of the AC controls were non functional in fact they were leaking in the casing. When we arrived there was only one tea-towel and nothing to wash cutlery with, oh - and no egg cups!!
A couple of other observations; we noticed that the wicker blind in the main bedroom was broken and continually 'drawn'. It would have been nice to receive some light into that room, but when we lifted the blind you can see why it is 'set' in the drawn position - your 'blurb' is silent on the 'stunning' view at the back of the building - hence the 'broken blind, which appears (remarkably) to have been engineered'!!
Also, the umbrella on the balcony/terrace is broken. It appears the part of the pole that slots into the weighted bottom has rotted, so we were unable to use this, which is a shame as the glare onto the balcony mid afternoon was quite punishing.
There was, as I believe has been mentioned on Trip Adviser, a lot of clutter and personal affects around the apartment, which far exceeded what one might expect in a property that is, to all intense and purposes our home for 2 weeks by virtue of our rental agreement, subject of course to a damage and breakages clause. As evidence of this our friends had to hang their clothes outside their bedroom in the small hallway leading to the toilet and washroom as there was very limited space in their bedroom.
We are aware that the standard response is “you should have mentioned all of this at the outset so that it could be rectified". Unfortunately we don't see it that way.
We consider that whoever is looking after your apartment in Speightstown, and (one must assume) has your best interests at heart would have made sure that everything is working, in place and in an acceptable condition and not leave it to the paying guests to report back after they have run a cursory check over the property on their arrival.
Apart from this we enjoyed Speightstown, Holetown, in fact the whole of Barbados and we would like to make a return visit at some time in the future, but unfortunately (as things stand at the moment) not to F3 White Sands, Speightstown!
We did consider putting all of this in your guest book, but alas it appears to be missing, so we'd thought we'd e-mail you and allow you the right of reply to the points raised”. [end]

In support of everything mentioned above I have a series of photographs, which I can make available on request.
Dated 11/04/13

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Speightstown & the view from the balcony!
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness in the apartment and too much clutter
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
in response to this review I would like to state the following:
These guests were contacted by myself within a couple of hours or their arrival at the property, which is what I do with each guest, in order to accertain if everything is ok. My housekeeper, Velda, who has been with me several years always handles check in, and I keep in touch with her also, during the entire stay. In their email, they stated they were not happy with certain things, including a missing wardrobe knob ...which needed to be screwed back into the door, a lightbulb that needed replacing and requested new towels. I asked them to please consult Velda on any housekeeping issues, and that they would be resolved within the next few hours. They replied saying that they didn't wish to spoil their vacation any further and would take up any other issues on their return to the UK. I pointed out that as they had just arrived, and all things could be easily rectified it made no sense to do so, when it would then of course be too late to solve problems. Velda called in a handyman, replaced towels with new ones etc. During their stay, it was necessary to call in a plumber, as one bath was draining too slowly. He was there for 2 hours one morning, problem solved, Velda was there to supervise and there was no need for the guests to be present. I was I constant contact with Velda, who was trying her utmost to placate them. On their return to the UK, I refunded their damages deposit in full. It was after this that I received their email with complaints in depth, knowing full well that nothing could now be done. Complaints ranged from the above, to dust on ceiling fans - which had never been mentioned to either Velda or myself - to a dislike of the view from the rear of the property. The view from the rear windows is of Bajan chattel houses, a cricket field and the distant hills, the forward view is of the beach and the Caribbean Sea. The property is in Barbados which is in the Caribbean - this was deifihately something that could not be altered. They also sent me photos of towels which were not mine. They have possibly been left by a previous guest, I can't be sure. The website states that beach towels are NOT provided, and the photos were of beach towels. Velda has been with me for several years, and I trust her judgement. Every guest has a different vision of their ideal vacation, and for each person this comprises different elements, the Caribbean is laid back and this is for most people the core of it's appeal. Any issue raised was rectified within the fastest possible time. The property is efficiently managed and priced correctly for the facilities, amenities and the amazing Caribbean views - be they sea or land. I do hope that the negative comments of these guests, does not colour the judgement of any future clients. Thank you, Trisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: Lots of personal belongings in apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Mar 2013
Hello, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, both in the apartment and the surrounding area of Speightstown.
Yes, the beach is a great spot, and the apartment enjoys wonderful views over the Carribean sea.
I am sorry about the slow drainage issue, which was a recurring problem throughout the building. It's is a problem with sand not having been rinsed off by guests before entering the apartment. This issue has now been resolved, and hopefully will not be recurring for some time!
Thanks for your review, and you would be welcome to return at any time.
Trisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ESCLATA-S...
Alcudia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a nice apartment, but do not expect five star quality as one reviewer has described. The property is full of the owners obejcts and personal memorabilia, which some guests may find a little overwhelming. Speightstown itself could do with a wake-up call regarding street cleaning and decaying historic architecture, but does provide all useful amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the clutter
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2012
I am sorry to see this review, but not everyone has a similar perspective of what will be their ideal place to stay.
Unfortunately these guests liked neither the property nor Speightstown itself. I could have rejected the review, but did not wish to appear biased. The complaints ranged from everything within and without of my control. The things within my control, would have been easily rectified, but as all, with the exception of one, emerged 4 weeks after departure, this was not the case. The one complaint I actually received during their stay - after I had phoned them to ensure all was good - was the lack of eggcups. They occupied my property for over 2 weeks, and nothing was ever mentioned. I spoke to my housekeeper several times during their stay and was never aware of any issues they had.
These are the first complaints I have received in over 5 years.
My property, Speightstown, and Barbados are all wonderful places to stay, do not let this review colour your judgement :)
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and quality of accomodation
Liked least: The mosquitoes but that is beyond anyone's control!!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TKPTwicke...
Twickenham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 27 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We would highly recommend this beautiful apartment in Speightstown, Barbados. It is spacious, furnished and equipped to a very high standard and efficiently managed by Trisha and her houskeeper, Velda.
The location is fantastic - right on a beach, but within walking distance (2 mins) to the nearest restaurants and bars. It is far enough to be extremely quiet and peaceful, but close enough not to need a car at all. Also within walking distance (10 mins) is a swimming pool at one of the all-inclusive hotels and another wonderful beach (St Charles Marina).
We would go back without hesitation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in fantastic location”
Reviewed 26 May 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Four of us stayed in this apartment for a couple of weeks in December 2010. Its location is perfect - right by the beach with the most fantastic views of the beautiful sunsets; close to shops, bars, the best dive shop on Barbados and restaurants in Speightstown (which is very quiet - in a good way - not such a tourist trap). The apartment is beautifully furnished - the beds are fantastically comfortable, the kitchen is large and well stocked, and the dining/living/outside areas are furnished tastefully and beautifully. The large sun terrace has two comfortable sunloungers as well as a dining table with four chairs and really does catch the sun all day. The owner is very accomodating and friendly - all in all, we enjoyed our stay so much that we are going back next week - can't wait.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing