We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday of my life”
Review of Cobblers Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cobblers Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday of my life”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I went to cobblers cove when I was 10 and this was the first holiday that I absolutely loved, the staff were so friendly and nice, I had a waiter who would always make a fuss of me, the pool was beautiful and on the beach we would be served fruit or celebrations, it was good as also I got to see the culture of the place as one the beach were local people selling stuff too! If you want to go out for dinner go to The Lone Star and order the Aromatic Duck! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Get the garden rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    77
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
106
268
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My fiancee and I were so excited to experience Barbados, and this hotel especially.
The property is quite beautiful but there are quite a few issues. First, when we would wake up in the morning, the few sun beds that were available were always taken. Not by people, but by individuals that go out at 5AM to place their books on the beds, and then go lay down at about 10AM. What a disrespectful bunch of guests.
Secondly, the food expense there was outrageous and it was subpar. The only good meal we had was when there was caviar night.
Third, the drinks were weak weak weak, and just not savory. Find something else, this place is simply not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was a return visit to Cobblers cove ,we had a wonderful welcome from the always smiling Yvette. Our room was an upper garden suite as requested . The rooms are quite traditionally furnished and decorated ,but very comfortable and the lay out is perfect. We love the space they provide here. The rum punch was very welcome on arrival and we were very quickly installed on sun beds for the last rays of the afternoon. We had arranged half board and the dinner was superb evey evening. I think I ate my body weight in Lobster! The steaks we had were magnificent and the chef Michael was a delightful chap who takes great pride in his presentation and flavours. Breakfast is just a carefully presented and tasty . The delightful afternoon tea of finger sandwiches ,scones ,cakes and lashings of lemonade or pots of tea is just Great!! It's lovely watching British people getting excited about tea and cake at 4.oclock every afternoon . In places the hotel is ready for a little TLC ,but it will need to be done with great care so as not to ruin the lovely comfortable atmosphere. This is a small hotel and at times it's like being at the perfect house party , you always meet delightful folks . A big thank you to all the staff for another lovely holiday ,we hope to be back to you lovely home in the sun.

Room Tip: We think the garden rooms are lovely ,we prefer the upper floor but others may like ground if they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

By the time this reveiw appears on tripadvisor we will be packing our bags and heading off but didn't want to leave without saying " Thank-you so much everyone at Cobblers Cove for such a wonderful couple of weeks". Just as long as we can keep coming back here it will make all the stesses and strains of running a business in the recession ravaged U.K. worth it..
Now a word of advise to all our fellow tripdvisors out there: If you like Barbados or fancy a holiday in Barbados and want a small classically traditional ,wonderfully comfortable, truly luxurious hotel in a location to die for with warm friendly highly professional staff delivering great service then trust me there is no where better on this island than Cobblers Cove.
Oh yes. I nearly forgot ... the food is great too !! .
THANK - YOU COBBLERS COVE ! . NEVER HAVE WE ENJOYED STAYING IN A HOTEL AS MUCH AS WE HAVE ENJOYED STAYING IN YOURS .

Room Tip: Sorry. I'm not telling which suite we're in .If when we book again to come back in December...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon-Bancroft_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

First class resort with courteous and proffessional staff! You will want for nothing. I even broke my hair clip and the receptionist asked her shift replacement if she would stop and get me a new one. Now thats service! The food is creative and excellent. The rooms and grounds are impeccable. The view from our room was spectacular. I highly recommend Cobblers Cove for a relaxing vacation !

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbieBethel_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a week with my girlfriend and by the end we did not want to leave! The rooms were amazing, the garden was incredible and the beach was lovely! Liked the service as well, manager came and greeted us the first day and staff was generally polite. One thing i didnt like was the trousers & shirt policy at the restaurant but the staff brought our food at the patio tables so it was ok! Highlights of the trip: BBQ day and live music day

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Work F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for a week in early April. The location was lovely and the staff were super, really nice.

The hotel is supposed to be full of elderly people but that's certainly not what we found. Most were 30 to 50 with some kids in tow.

The hotel had a very English country house feeling which we liked.

So why the reservations? A bit is to do with the bathrooms where they should spend some money if they want to be a 5 star hotel. Taxi prices from the hotel irritate although I gather they are centrally negotiated so you cant really blame the hotel but it is a long way north of most hotels so it does impinge more.


The biggest problem we had was not being able to sleep because of a distressed cat right below our room. On the first day of listening to the constant yowling from 5 am onwards we asked reception if the hotel owned any cats and were told no, they would be strays. At breakfast however we learned from a waiter that the hotel had removed 4 kittens from below our room the previous day. We did not want to cause any further fuss feeling very sorry for a cat that was obviously grieving. However the cat continued to pine for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speightstown
3.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
5.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
621 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
16.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobblers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblers Cove

Property: Cobblers Cove
Address: Speightstown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Speightstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobblers Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique resort combines Caribbean style and beauty with gracious English country living. Set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking coastal views, the beachside hotel has 40 suites, each individually decorated and open to the ocean and tropical garden surroundings. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux group, Cobblers Cove prides itself on its impeccable service and elegant Caribbean charm. The hotel's restaurant, The Camelot, serves island-inspired gourmet dishes made with the finest local produce. Lead by Executive Chef Michael Harrison, who has previously trained under Michel Roux Jr. At Le Gavroche in London, The Camelot was recently awarded the highly-coveted BHTA Restaurant of the Year award. Popular with couples and families alike, the resort offers a whole repertoire of activities and facilities. Thrill-seeking children and adults can enjoy complimentary watersports each day, including water skiing, sailing, kayaking and windsurfing. For golfers, Cobblers Cove has a privilege system in place at the Royal Westmoreland Golf and Country Club. For those seeking serenity and relaxation, the Sea Moon Spa offers an extensive treatment list from skincare specialists REN and Sothys, providing the perfect setting for a touch of holiday pampering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobblers Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblers Cove Hotel Barbados
Cobblers Cove Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing