We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”
Review of Jumas Restaurant

Jumas Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$75
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jumas restaurant is located on the beautiful Speightstown Bay. Our ground floor deli and beach terrace are open every day from 9am, serving full English breakfast and a wide variety of lunch options including home made burgers, baguettes, and local favourites like black belly lamb curry and flying fish with hand cut chips. Our first floor restaurant has fabulous views of the beach and is open daily from 12 - 3pm for lunch and 6 - 9pm for dinner. On Sundays we have live music from talented local artist Alexander Mills (2 - 4pm). We offer complimentary beach loungers and umbrellas for our guest's use and complimentary transport from anywhere on the west coast (evenings only)> We are able to cater for large groups, weddings, parties, etc.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Encouraged by our friends' desire to eat at much lauded restaurant I agreed. Oh dear, oh dear. The food and the owner? Well, let's just say that common decency (and Tripadvisor guidelines) preclude me from making any comments whatsoever. Bright spots? The waitresses were nice. At half the price or less we would still have been disappointed and felt we had been overcharged. At the actual price we paid - outrageous. Never again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Your original review was removed by Trip Advisor as it violated their guidelines and clearly common decency does not figure. In it you mentioned, and I quote 'the chef looking nervously through the window from his kitchen in to the restaurant'
Two points to make here - one is that the chef and in fact all of our kitchen staff are female and two is that there is no window from the kitchen in to the restaurant.
Your original review also mentioned that there were six of you dining. The only table for six we have had in during the last few weeks left saying that they wished they had discovered us sooner as it was their last night. They were lovely people and we would have been amazed if they had been in any way two faced so we called their hotel to ask if they had given any feedback and were told that they had come back enthusing about their night and recommending us highly.
I note that so desperate were you to post something negative that you posted your edited and marginally less vile review on the same day that your original one was removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    237
    113
    29
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing ribs at the Deli at Juma's”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Out for a stroll in Speightstown and saw the sign for specials at the Deli. Always willing to try pork ribs so ordered them and was delighted with my meal. Large portion of ribs, very tasty bbq sauce, perfectly cooked hand cut chips and opted for tossed salad instead of coleslaw. Glass of delicious sauvignon blanc rounded off one of the best meals I've had on this beautiful island. First visit to Juma's but will be back to try out the dinner menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the deli at Jumas. The ribs are proving to be a big hit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The nicest restaurant on the Northwestern coast”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant on the first evening in town almost by chance as there wasn't that much choice. We have returned many times for dinner as we were really impressed with the fine cooking in Caribbean and Thai flavours with good quality ingredients and great presentations. Service is very friendly and attentive and your meal will be inspired further by the sea view and the rolling waves on the beach just few meters away. We can only strongly recommend this restaurant if you are spending some time on the Northwestern coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erodotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's. We really appreciate it and it was so nice to have you dine with us on so many occasions. We hope that you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beach restaurant I have ever been”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

AMAZING VIEW!!
Delicious food, with a good variety in the menu.
The staff is fantastic, friendly, funny and polite they really look after you.
If you are in the West coast is a MUST go.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's. It was a pleasure to see you and chat with you so many times during your stay on Barbados and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had a lovely evening here, starting with a nice cocktail each. We drank these down in the Deli area as we watched a beautiful sunset. We then moved upstairs to the main restaurant area where we were well looked after by attentive staff. We both chose the salt fish cakes with salad and sweet chilli dip which was very good.
I then chose the Bajan chicken and my wife had the chicken pad Thai. Both meals were really good and the portion sizes were excellent.. To finish, my wife chose Grandma's coconut cake with ice cream which was so good I had to help her finish!
All in all a very good evening for a decent price which included a nice bottle of wine. A nice touch is that when you book, you are picked up and taken back to your hotel/apartment free of charge if you are in the west coast area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGAR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's. It was a pleasure to serve you and to chat to you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jumas Restaurant also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Jumas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing