We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food”
Review of Jumas Restaurant

Jumas Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Speightstown
Price range: US$5 - US$75
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jumas restaurant is located on the beautiful Speightstown Bay. Our ground floor deli and beach terrace are open every day from 9am, serving full English breakfast and a wide variety of lunch options including home made burgers, baguettes, and local favourites like black belly lamb curry and flying fish with hand cut chips. Our first floor restaurant has fabulous views of the beach and is open daily from 12 - 3pm for lunch and 6 - 9pm for dinner. On Sundays we have live music from talented local artist Alexander Mills (2 - 4pm). We offer complimentary beach loungers and umbrellas for our guest's use and complimentary transport from anywhere on the west coast (evenings only)> We are able to cater for large groups, weddings, parties, etc.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Loved the setting and décor, overlooking the sea on a balcony. Great food, ate there twice in a week, so must be good for my husband to return. A little more pricey but worth it. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. Friendly owner and staff. Will return.

Thank SusanBrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's. It is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 757 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Hidden away in Speightstown is this remarkable restaurant overlooking the west coast. Its remarkable because they believe so strongly in what they do that unlike any other restaurant on the coast they actualy provide a free door to door taxi service to and from your hotel which means that if you are in Holetown or Porters you are already saving up to 100 Bajan Dollars. When we arrived we realised very quickly that there were definite Thai overtones to the menu... its fusion darling I said to my wife who chose Marlin in a Thai Red Curry sauce. However the Bajan Salt Fishcake starters (reputed to be the best on the island were amazingly good.) The evening we dined there were not so many people but the ambiance was still there and the head waiter was totally charming and made cracking cocktails.... if your on the island and you want a real relaxed cullinary experiance try Jumas but make sure you have room for the dessert Bananas Four Ways... its a 30min wait but its heaven for banana lovers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's and for your kind words. We really appreciate it and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Seven months since we last visited Juma's and this time was even better than then.
Mark and Jules continue to improve and personalise their delightful Restaurant in the heart of Speightstown.
The food and service continues to be of a very high standard, but the changes and improvements to the Restaurant itself is making this the top Restaurant in the area.
Decided to have a Steak this time and I thought I was being asked to carve the Sunday roast joint when it arrived at the table...it was huge! Cooked to perfection and served with the home made/cut fries, this was Steak & Chips at it's best.
I understand there are still further improvements to be made in the Bar/Restaurant so looking forward to our next visit, which sadly won't be for another 10 months this time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gogandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Juma's. We really appreciate it. As always it was a pleasure to see you on your most recent visit to Barbados and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Encouraged by our friends' desire to eat at much lauded restaurant I agreed. Oh dear, oh dear. The food and the owner? Well, let's just say that common decency (and Tripadvisor guidelines) preclude me from making any comments whatsoever. Bright spots? The waitresses were nice. At half the price or less we would still have been disappointed and felt we had been overcharged. At the actual price we paid - outrageous. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Your original review was removed by Trip Advisor as it violated their guidelines and clearly common decency does not figure. In it you mentioned, and I quote 'the chef looking nervously through the window from his kitchen in to the restaurant'
Two points to make here - one is that the chef and in fact all of our kitchen staff are female and two is that there is no window from the kitchen in to the restaurant.
Your original review also mentioned that there were six of you dining. The only table for six we have had in during the last few weeks left saying that they wished they had discovered us sooner as it was their last night. They were lovely people and we would have been amazed if they had been in any way two faced so we called their hotel to ask if they had given any feedback and were told that they had come back enthusing about their night and recommending us highly.
I note that so desperate were you to post something negative that you posted your edited and marginally less vile review on the same day that your original one was removed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Out for a stroll in Speightstown and saw the sign for specials at the Deli. Always willing to try pork ribs so ordered them and was delighted with my meal. Large portion of ribs, very tasty bbq sauce, perfectly cooked hand cut chips and opted for tossed salad instead of coleslaw. Glass of delicious sauvignon blanc rounded off one of the best meals I've had on this beautiful island. First visit to Juma's but will be back to try out the dinner menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the deli at Jumas. The ribs are proving to be a big hit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jumas Restaurant also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Jumas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing