We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant villa”
other travellers have booked this property
front of villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of villa
front of villa Welcome to Stradbally Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
front of villa
front of villa
Welcome to Stradbally Villa
Front terrace
indoor dining area
lounge area
fully equipped kitchen
king size bed in master bedroom
master bedroom en-suite, also includes a walk-in closet with space for hanging clothes and drawers.
master bedroom balcony
master bedroom balcony
2nd bedroom, includes wardrobe/drawers and ensuite
2nd bedroom en-suite, includes bath with shower over
third bedroom with en-suite, wardrobe and set of drawers
front of garden room
garden room, ideal for dining and lounging, surrounded by garden
side gate and private parking area
monkey visitor
Heywood's beach, 5 minute walk from villa
Photo opportunity at Heywood's Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
misstjose...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant villa”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is an excellent choice for any family, clean and tidy, beautiful grounds and a well equipped accommodation. Fresh fruits at your finger tips and beach within walking distance and buses into town on a regular bases. I would recommend hire of car if you want to travel around the Island but the local transport is just as good.
The internet really works, much better than the UK, and a television that actually worked, great entertainment for the kids when you are trying to sort yourself out to go out.

The reason why it did not get a full six grading was only because the owner needs to put netting on the windows all around the house to permit guest to enjoy opening the window without being bitten by mosquitoes, this was the only downside. Aside from this it was great apartment and would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole accommodation was excellent, but Internet was brilliant
Liked least: There were no mosquito nets on window or doors to allow you the open the windows or doors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your excellent review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at our villa, since your stay last year all the windows now have netting. Many thanks again for taking the time to write your review. Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2015
Dear Claire
Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you and your family enjoyed the villa and local beach and good to see you like our new walk in shower. We welcome you back to our home when next you visit beautiful Barbados.
Regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
burhoenoe...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stradbally villa was awesome! It was like a home away from home. Close to the beach, provided a great morning walk location, within 5 mins of Speightstown. In the mornings we sat on the upper deck, enjoyed coffee and bird watched. Our kids loved discovering all of the different plants, flowers and fruit in the garden. We say fire flies at night. The neighbourhood was quiet and felt safe. Many villas can be overpriced but Stradbally was affordable, perfect, it was truly like home away from home. Will be booking with Stradbally next year!!!
Can I add the owner and care taker were easy to reach, professional and great response!
Derrick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and location.
Liked least: The beds were a bit hard but manageable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Dear Derrick, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and so pleased to hear you and your family had a great time,I hope you managed to enjoy a mango or two ! I will pass on your comments to OB.
Kind Regards
Maria & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suedeani
NY
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The house was absolutely perfect for our family. OB met us on arrival and was great at getting back to us to answer questions. A short walk to the most glorious beach, where snorkeling was a must.The monkeys were a sweet surprise on the way to the beach.
We love Speightstown...more laid back and a little more authentic than some of the areas further south on this coast. We rented a car and drove to the beautiful and wilder east coast. The walk along the coast of Bathsheba to The Atlantis was spectacular, as was the trip to the north coast flower caves? The buffet at The Atlantis was disappointing and expensive....try The Roundhouse instead. Local restaurants were variable, we waited for an hour and a half for breakfast at The Orange Street Grocery, but Island Plates was wonderful. The Lone Star, a little further south was a great place to have cocktails in the late afternoon.
The house was spacious and we loved sitting out on the balcony in the early morning and listening to the birds. The beds were more comfortable than we at first expected - with firm mattresses. The internet worked intermittently, though I don't think this is always the case....we did a lot of reading which was not a bad outcome. Cooking at the house was a bit of a challenge because we kept forgetting to buy some of the basics. A few basic supplies might be a good addition. If you're a coffee drinker remember to bring some ground beans with you! I also want to thank Maria, the owner, for being so quick to respond to our questions. We hope to be back at the earliest opportunity and will certainly recommend the house to all our friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Dear Sue
Thank you for your comments and very pleased to hear you enjoyed not only the villa but the surrounding area, sounds like you saw a lot of the Island and had a great time. I am sorry the Internet wasn't 100% working but OB is working hard to fix the problem. We would welcome you back to our home anytime. Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny F
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful and clean villa, close to beaches. Great location.”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have just returned from spending 2 weeks in this beautiful villa in Barbados. It was for my Mum's 60th birthday so we wanted somewhere special for the family, and this ticked all of the boxes. It was clean and bright and very spacious, we could not believe how big the bedrooms and living area were! The villa was just a short stroll to the beach, and just a 10 minute walk to Speightstown. The owner of the property, Maria, was very helpful and made the booking quick and simple. She always responds quickly to emails and queries and was on hand when I gave her a call to discuss last minute details. A big thank you to Maria for arranging flowers and wine for Mum when she arrived, it was a really personal touch! O'Brian, the house manager was also very obliging and made us very welcome when we arrived, and took us to the shop to get essentials for our first night.
The buses ran regularly from the bottom of the road and were cheap to get anywhere on the island (just BBD$2). The island is easy to get around, we hired a car for 1 week of our stay and managed to fit in a lot of sights. The car hire companies are great in Barbados, they will deliver the car to your door and will also collect it. This takes the hassle away from finding rental companies, as most of them are scattered around Bridgetown.
Lots of wildlife around the villa was also a bonus. There were whistling frogs, cane toads, lizards, and a variety of different birds and insects in the garden, and also some green monkeys at the end of the road in the trees.
We will definately be returning to Barbados in the future and when we do we will be staying at this villa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Dear Jenny

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and very happy to hear you enjoyed our villa and the surrounding area. O'Brian will be also pleased to hear you were happy with his services as he very much enjoys meeting and greeting our guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela R
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Beautiful and Stunning Villa and a Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My partner Elton and I stayed at this stunning villa in December 2014. It was absolutely beautiful staying at this lovely villa we did not want to leave when the time had arrived. The rooms are all light and airy and there is also a cool breeze that goes through the house. On the balcony in the main bedroom we would sit outside and have our morning coffee and watch the sun rise. We would also watch the sun set as we have a glass of wine, banks beer or even a rum punch. If you find it a bit too hot on the balcony with the midday sun, you can also go downstairs outside to the back of the villa where is a terrace that you can cool off and relax in the cool breeze. All the facilities worked perfectly and the Manager was very helpful if you needed anything. Where the villa is situated, it is a good location in Heywoods area and you are not far from the transport buses to take you either into Holetown, Paynes Bay, Bridgetown or even Oistins. Speightstown is very historical and there are lots of local shops and bars where you can either eat, drink or listen to live jazz music at Austin's Bar. I will definitely be looking into rebooking the villa for next year and I can say, once you have stayed at this lovely villa, you will want to rebook it again. Also, I will recommend Heywoods Villa to my friends and family or anyone who is looking to rent a place in Barbados. I thank you Maria and Tony for letting Elton and I stayed at your fabulous villa. xxxx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Dear Pamela and Elton
Thank you for your kind words and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our villa. You might be interested to learn we are in the process of refurbishing our master en-suite to include a walk-in wet room and once complete we will add photos.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our home. Kind Regards Maria & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrumpyDyk...
Glaston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So relaxing.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely cool well situated and shaded property. Very clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen. Clean rooms and bathrooms, all air conditioned. Comfortable lounge and dining area, all combined. TV and stereo/ DVD. sadly no BBC channels! except BBC world! mostly American TV, Aaaagggghhhh. Never mind someone has to watch it I suppose. Other than that slight flaw, (who goes on holiday to watch tv anyway) the property and all it's facilities are great. Literally 400m to the Beach, which is an easy 10 minute walk. One of the best beaches on the island though, so worth the walk. The village is slightly further, but not much. Bus station is an easy 5-7 min walk and the buses are frequent and cheap. Don't bother with car hire, mix with the locals who are polite and friendly. No fears walking anywhere anytime of day or night, except some of the road and pavement surfaces can be a little uneven. Even walking past the bars with locals outside, everyone speaks and there is no hint of aggravation.
Back to the property. We had a great relaxing holiday, free wifi was a great bonus, as were the towels provided, which saved loads of luggage space. Plenty of storage space and room to spread out. Surrounded by tall trees, but the shade was very welcome. Sun loungers for 4 in the outside store, plenty of equipment in the kitchen and a huge fridge freezer and 6 burner cooker. Plenty of pots pans and plates etc. a growing library of books which we added to with what we read and left. All in all a great place. I can imagine people would like a pool, but with the sea so close and safe and warm it wouldn't be used.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Shading and coolness of property
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing