We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Daiquiri
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,203)
Filter reviews
4,203 results
Traveller rating
1,545
1,599
706
250
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,545
1,599
706
250
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsthe mexican restaurantla marinafishcamaguey buildinglobby barpilar beachevery other daysuperior roompastafajitasguest servicesmain buffeta la carte restaurantsentertainment staffother resortstwo weeks
Filter
Updating list...
1,112 - 1,117 of 4,203 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We travelled there back in the end of August. Since the hotel was undergoing the renovations (still, although they were supposed to be done by Aug 1st) I will skip the feedback that is related to it, at the end it is something temporary and will be over sooner or later.

First of all, the management sucks. We have booked a vacation with AirCanada and arrived at around noon, as it was planned. Just to discover that our room is not ready :) We have been to Cuba several times before and always the arrival time was different - yet it never happened to us that we did not have a room upon arrival. So, we were told to wait for 2 hours for our room and when I asked to at least give us a place to change they have suggested to go to the restrooms. Great advice for the family with two kids, including 2 years old girl.

Of course, two hours later the room was not ready. I had to call their managed (Eduardo) and quickly realized that he is totally useless. We have got our room at about 3pm only.

The room was in quite bad state. It was clean, cannot argue with that, but so far I think it was the worst room I have seen in Cuba. Important advice: do not try to hang anything on the bathroom curtain rail, it won't even hold a single towel ;) Light in the bathroom did not work and it took them like 3 days to fix it. There is not a single available electrical outlet in the room, except the bathroom - so you will need to unplug something to charge your camera/phone/etc. And, of course, these outlets are located in the most hidden places behind the furniture :)

Also we could not get any drinking water in our room until next day, even after I went to the reception in person twice. And first day in hot tropical climate you do drink more than on average. Ary at the bar was very helpful, we have got some water in the bottles from him after I explained the situation.

A/C was barely able to provide a little bit of cool air so the nights were a bit too warm. The choice was between warmer air with few mosquitos and cooler outdoor air with more mosquitos. To be fair, the number of these flying beasts was quite modest, to our surprise.

The hotel was half-closed so it worked only at half of its capacity. So it was not that crowded. But I imagine that it becomes super-crowded when it is full. Even with half of the guests often there was not enough free space in the pools and at the pool bar. But going to the bean with only half of the people was great, the beach was quite empty and there was plenty of space. Otherwise I would imagine that the beach is too small for this hotel.

My wife got an ear infection, probably because of the pool water. The doctor at the hotel was great and the service was very quick and affordable. For 80 CUC she had all the care and the drugs so the problem was solved almost instantly and that did not ruin our vacation. I wish I could get to the doctor and be out in 10 minutes with all the drugs for $80 in Montreal ;)

The food was very good, a bit repeating but still very good and we never had any issues with either quality or choice. A-la-carte restaurant (well, actually one that played different roles each day ;) ) was also quite good. Although there was one episode that I did not really like. We were there one evening and a group of 3 women entered. They were greeted by the waiter and politely asked for their reservation, which they did not have. Their response was "we are Canadians, we do not need a reservation". Followed by a small bribe. They had their table 30 seconds later.

Evening entertainment was mostly good. And the theatre is definitely great. Again, having only half of the guests at the hotel simplified many things, no problems getting a seat etc.

Staff, especially the entertainment teams, is really good. They tried to do their best. I was really sorry for the entertainment team because they did not have enough customers and had to go to the people and the beach and ask them to participate in different activities. One or twice we were competing alone with my son :)

Also an interesting fact: while the hotel was half-open they have sold many rooms there to the Cubans. I suppose these had to be rich Cubans - one night there is roughly equivalent of a very decent monthly salary there. So I could not really understand who were these guys. Clearly some of them were working for Iberostar and were there with their families. But I have to say: they were the greatest neighbours we ever had in Cuba. Polite, reasonably quiet, not drinking until they are unable to walk, with very well behaving children. That was a pleasure to spend our time there with such a neighbours and, except a few drunk Germans, Quebeckers and some mosquitos ;) there was absolutely no other sources or nuisance there.

Room safety boxes is another story. When I saw that rusted metal thing my first idea was that the room does not have a safe :) It turned out that if you pay 2 CUC a day you get a lock cylinder that you can use to lock this monster. And you need to keep the key, of course. I think most of other hotels provide the safety boxes for free and they are keyless.

So, at the end, we have really mixed impression about the hotel. We had great time there but there was a couple of things we did not like. So the family thinks that we won't be going to Iberostar again, looks like our previous choices of the hotels in Cuba were significantly better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ngrigoriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Mr. N grigorien,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Iberostar Daiquiri hotel for your recent holiday in Cuba. We sincerely regret that you enjoyed your holiday as per your expectations.
Our main motivation is the satisfaction of our customers, we will take your comments in consideration for improve and achieve these failures do not occur at other times.

We hope you give us the opportunity to again be our guest and experience to improve their Iberostar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This si a piece of paradise and the people giving an excellent service make this an even better experiece. Sure the renovations are needed, actually half is closed off for renos. But the service is impecable and the stay was better than we expected.

The servers in the buffet are very attentive: to name a few, Rosa, Yummy and Ismail.

The entertainmetn group was spectacula (5 stars) they are all smiles and make your stay more enjoyable : all were good, we lucked into the nicest ChiChi and Mario as well as many other beautiful performers.

This was by far the most relaxing holiday in Cuba... if you are looking for city life or busy beacjh don't go there, it is a serene and lovely yuiet beach with 1/2 hour aqua fittness musc and the rest is calm.

Room Tip: rooms away from pool are quiter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saad_dhadouh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Sead_dhadouth,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel for the enjoyment your holiday, we area so happy to know you have an enjoyed a great time. Thank as well, for write this positive reviewer for all community readers follow on the TripAdvisor.

We will congratulate Rosa, Yummy, Ismail, chichi and Mario that they have contributed to making your holiday special.

We hope to see again here in this hotel.

Best regard,

Celia Ferrán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Daiquiri (all inclusive) in Cayo Guillermo having previously stayed 3 nights in Varadero at the hotel Paradisus. Reviews suggested the Cayo resorts were better than Varadero hence the reason we decided to go to both.
We found a massive difference between the two hotels in every aspect

This hotel is in urgent need of renovation as highlighted by our first day on arrival we found the air-con did not work. When eventually the maintenance man came and sort of fixed it by opening a stop cock to get the air-con working which resulted almost immediately in water running down the wall and pooling on the floor and hence a room change.

The main differences between the two hotels:

The buffet restaurant extremely limited
Number of a la carte restaurants far less
Overall a much older resort needing a serious amount of investment to update rooms'
In comparison Diaqiri:
Less activities
Less selection of drinks
Much less choice in the buffet but staff brilliantly attentive
Less a la carte restaurants
More admin to get towels and equipment
Did not see any lunchtime beach barbecues or music
The beach was OK but not as picturesque
The grounds currently not well maintained

It needs some serious investment to update and upgrade the rooms, the building and grounds and we saw some of that had already begun when we were there.

The good bits were the staff were really friendly, the dancers in the show were amazing and a must see for anyone going. We still had a really good time in the pool playing water polo and water volleyball with some of the other guests as well as drinks from the pool bar.
The highlight for my children were swimming with the dolphins at a place within walking distance of this hotel. (was around 110 CUC for adullts and 60 CUC for U12s)
It was still a great relaxing time and had we not been to Paradisus we would have most likely have been very happy with Daiqiri.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Asanka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Asanka W,
We would like first to all, to thank you for taking time to write this review about your stay at the Iberostar Daiquiri hotel as destination of your holidays. We are very pleased to know you have been a very happy with this resort, likewise our apology for the inconvenience fined in the Air condition and the food in the buffet. Your comments motivate us to continue improving on our daily chores.

Thank for the good comments references our personal service who are inspire you to comeback. After the recent reform the hotel has been open with many changes in proof up the service too.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel

The Hotel Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent hotel, very clean great food & friendly and helpful staff... Excellent beach front hotel.. However, if you want to see the real Cuba you need to do excursions or do it yourself- as the resort is very secluded

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hollyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Hollyft,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this positive reviewed on the tripadvisor; we are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at this hotel Iberostar Daiquiri. Thanks for your good evaluation about it. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.

We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel
Best regard

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We just came back from a week at Iberostar Daquiri. This used to be a very decent hotel that held a special place in our heart. This was our 4th stay at this resort since 2009 and there have been some positive changes but unfortunately also many negative ones.

Positives:

- The hotel is currently being renovated. The lobby has been repainted and there is new furniture.
- Some palapas on the beach are new and others have been repaired.
- Beautiful beach with crystal clear warm waters that we love so much.
- Mature gardens with palm trees on the beach and palapas between palm trees.
- We noticed less beach erosion this year.

Negatives:

- Many palm trees on the beach have been cut and no new ones were planted to replace them. These trees are what makes this beach so special and dear to us. They also provide additional shade.

- Only two beers at arrival and no beer every two days as before

- Horrible service at breakfast. The buffet is supposed to open at 7h00 am and they are barely ready by 8h00 am. Even then, you have to stand there and keep asking for an egg or a piece of cheese. Otherwise good luck unless you do not mind surviving on toasts and old fruit form the day before. This was not the case during our previous visits. The food and service at noon and in the evening was OK.

- Very lax or inexistent security. We were unfortunate to be there during the two weeks of Cuban holidays (last week of August and first week of September). Over 50% of the guests at the hotel were Cuban. Also, there is a little Cuban restaurant between the two resorts (the Iberostar and the Melia) and everyday a busload of Cubans comes to enjoy the beach. The problem is that the Cubans not staying at the hotel completely overtook that part of the beach and the pier belonging to the hotel, came to the resort, were using the loungers and the boats from the marina, and were getting food and drinks from Cubans staying there. The result of this entire fiasco was a very loud and noisy beach. These people do not talk but scream even if they stand next to each other. We and several other guests had to go over the part of the beach were the hotel was closed for construction to get some relative quite and peace. Not an ideal situation. The beach was also not as nice there with more rocks and vegetation.


Overall, an OK holiday, but we are saddened by the overall downward slide of this resort and will not come back unless things improve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bucky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Bucky12
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Daiquiri hotel how we understand on this reviews this last one you didn’t enjoyed as well other time, we fell very sad to know that, we want to apology for any inappropriate situation fined in the hotel. Of course we will take note of your comments in order to improve.

Regardless of their comment that indicates (not return here), I hope and reconsidered and
Allow us to have you back in better circumstances
Best regard.
Hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews