We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good family vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Travelled mid to late November with small children.

The positives:

1. Great weather even in off-season. Forecast said rain and clouds but if it rained, it was only for minutes per day then sunshine and beautiful weather. Lots of breeze so we were never sweltering hot but at times I found it too windy by the beach.

2. People and Staff were friendly. We always felt safe. The star friends were nice and tried to get people involved but I've been to other resorts in other countries whose entertainers were more animated, involved and made you feel extra special. Even on the bus ride there and back, we stopped by Memories in Cayo Coco and there was music and an entire team to greet/say goodbye to the guests arriving/leaving with dancing and even a mascot. It was much more low key (if anything) at the Daiquiri but that wasn't too important to me.

3. People complained that the rooms were run down but I stayed in the main building and the rooms were completely functional and acceptable. There was no beer in the fridge but water and two sodas every two days and that was more than enough for us as we were rarely in the room and drank the filtered water at the restaurants and bars. The room was cleaned everyday and towels were changed when needed. But see my room tip below.

4. The pool was clean and nice. It was during low season and half the hotel was empty so we got the pool to ourselves most of the time. There's a kiddie pool that goes below your knees and it was perfect for the little ones to play on their own there.

The Negatives:

1. The food. Yes, there were lots of selection but it was repetitive day after day and all of it was just not seasoned or tasty. A big part of vacation for me is about food so this one was the one major upset of the trip. The mexican restaurant was the best of all the food there and breakfast buffet was good too. Skip the Cuban and Italian.

2. The bites. I didn't get that many but the little that I got was itchy. And others had it worst than me.

3. The beach had beautiful white sand but there wasn't much beach at high tide and there was always seaweed around. And it can get a bit too windy down there. Pilar was a nice day trip but again, don't go during high tide.

Overall, a good trip and the hotel and management was up to 4 star quality. Only real complaint was food but others are not as picky so I'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: Staying in the main building was great for close access to everything ('cept the beach) but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OttFamilyVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear OttFamilyVacationer

On behalf of the manager of the Iberostar daiquiri hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel destination for you recent holiday in Cuba, pleasure for us to know about that were a good family vacation; finding people and staff were friendly. I will look with the chef the suggestions regarding the variety food optional in the buffet; Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel.

Best regard,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    1,469
    631
    221
    81
See reviews for
1,096
1,496
129
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I would like to start with the flight to Cuba with Westjet,my sister had a bit of anxiety attack being her first time traveling on a plane,the flight attendants were amazing at making sure she was comfortable.
We got to our resort,first impression was very good.We checked in at the front desk where there is a gentleman behind the desk that had a bit of an attitude [I found out a few days later that he had relationship issues,I can understand but when serving clients, you should put your personal issues asside.] The other receptionists were fabulous!!
We were also greeted with a glass of punch[very nice touch!!] Got to our room and is was good, my only complaint was that we had a view of palm trees, [I had requested a room on the beach, and when I went to front desk, they were willing to move us but it would be a few days later so we stayed in that room.]it's ok because we were not in the room that long. The maid was very good, the room was cleaned everyday and she made these different animals with the towels and blankets,very cute and appreciated, reminded me of the cruises I have been on!
The grounds were kept clean everyday, the beach was ok because of the seaweed that kept coming on the shore everyday ,having said that, they would clean it everyday and by 10 am you couldn't see any of that. There was also 2 pools and a swim up bar that was very nice and very well kept[cleaned ]
The food was ok, breakfast was always GREAT[ lots to chose from eggs,pancakes,french toast, fruits, cereal,croisants etc] lunch and dinner at the buffet was ok, lots to chose from but a bit blan, hamburgers, sausage, fish , vegies ,paella,pasta ,pizza . The a la carte restaurants were not that great,I enjoyed the lobster at the Cuban restaurant[ it was not on the menu, you had to pre order it] , Mexican restaurant was good but the Italian restaurant was bad.
Service was GREAT! Everyone makes sure you are well looked after.[ a tip goes a long way!!]
We had live entertainment everynight, I really enjoyed the Cuban band that would come out at the bar every evening!!
We went on a excursion, The Spectacular,which took you to 2 towns to see the real Cuban way of life ,a restaurant in the forest, a place where they make the best Pina Colada[ fresh coconut and pineapple and of course RUM] , a crocodile farm and my favorite part of the trip was going on a speed boat that went into a mangrove forest[ very cool] All of it was $75 pesos.
Now for the best part of our trip was to go to one of the top 10 beaches in the world!! Playa Pillar, OMG it was amazing!!! For 5 peso, the taxi will drive you to and back from the beach[ 10 minutes from resort] So make sure you go to that beach when in Caya Coco or Cayo Guillermo!! PS: they are building 3 resorts near that beach!
All in all, we had a great vacation for our first time in Cuba!!!!!
Thanks to the staff at Iberostar Daiquiri!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the beach on your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Louise1957,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Daiquiri hotel for your recent holidays in Cuba. Is a pleasure for us to read you had enjoyed a greet vacation, as well thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel

Best regard

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My spouse and myself we came back from a 16 day trip from iberostar daiquiri this was our third time returning there and we had an amazing time this is our home away from home everyone makes us feel we are a member of their family very hospitable people and they go above and beyond to make everyone's stay unforgetable there is not one day similar with another each day is different and you never feel bored. Thanks everyone for making our stay memorable. We will definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stsimenidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Stsimenidis,

We appreciate your comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel. We are pleased that everything were excellent, thank for the height evaluation about it. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.

We will congratulate all the staff that they have contributed to making you feel like stars

we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincere
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beach – 3 out of 5. Beach narrows substantially when tide is in, and mounds of seaweed (cleaned up daily) make it difficult to walk the beach. Beautiful when the tide is out though. Most palapas are in need of repair.

Common Areas – 4 out of 5. Modern, spacious lobby and bar area. Watch out for the no-see-ums though. They’re not at the beach; they’re in the lobby in and around the ‘ponds’.

Food – 4 out of 5. No complaints; good amount of choice, and consistent quality. If you can’t find anything you like, the fault lies with you.

Massage - 4 out of 5. One of the best prices around, 40 CUC for an hour!

Pool – 4 out of 5. Clean and in good repair, but fairly small.

Rooms – 3 out of 5. The rooms are in desperate needs to updating & repair (currently underway). Long overdue. Overall cleanliness of the rooms is excellent.

Service – 5 out of 5; no complaints whatsoever. Right up there with the best resorts.

Shows - 4 out of 5. We don't typically go to the shows, as we've run the gammut. The one we did attend though was entertaining.

Wedding - 4 out of 5. Our trip was for a family wedding, which went very well. Very nice that our group was given private use of the Mexican restaurant - unexpected!

Overall – 4 out of 5. As half of the rooms are currently being renovated, the resort was only about half full. Lots of space at the beach, pool, lobby & restaurants. At full capacity, I think it would be quite congested.

Room Tip: Request a top floor oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roam the World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Roam the Worid,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Daiquiri hotel for the family wedding holiday, we are so happy to read it were a Pleaseant trip, as well we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your opinion of your holiday with evaluation all the different services received. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel
Best Regard,
The Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was my second time in Cuba, but first in this resort. There is so much nice things to say about the resort, workers, place. I like everything and everyone there. The special thanks for entertaimant team they are the best. I am plain to go there next year in April on my 40th birthday. (-:

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sakharevych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Sakharevych,

Thank you for taking time to write this positive review about your experience stay with us, our pleasure to know it were a great experience stay in Iberostar Daiquiri as a destination for your holidays. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.

We will so happy to welcome you again in next year!

Best regard,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited Iberostar from the 11th to the 18th of October. It was the First time my husband and I ever travelled during off season.
There is much to be desired about Cuba, and for us its the people, the staff and the resort.
This was our 8th time visiting Cuba, and our first to Iberostar Daiquiri.
Although this resort is under renovations, this was the best resort we had visited.
We travelled with a group of 8 ranging from 19 to 65.
The buffet was limited as expected during off season and renovation, so they lacked certain fruits such as bananas. On our second day as we entered the buffet restaurant, I had two staff members Petrio and Dania bring me Bananas from home. (who does that??)
The management in this resort was always around asking if there was anything anyone needed.
Close relations were made during this trip. A special thanks to management, my wonderful handsome bartender Alfery, the entertainment staff who we bonded with and who will forever be in our lives, Arria, Omar, Luis, Mario, and Dania, we love you to the moon and the back.
Okay, now lets talk resort.
Resort is beautiful, considering it is still under renovations they have gone out of there way to ensure that the resort still meets our expectations as paying travellers. Rooms are basic but clean, we had a wonderful ocean view, but We also had a leaking roof on our first night during a horrible storm. Management was quick to change our room with a complimentary bottle of rum and wine.
The beach is small, and when the tide comes in, there isn't much of a beach, BUT for 2$ take the double bus to pilar beach, five minutes away, it is one of the top 10 beaches in the world. ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING.
The food was good, there was plenty to choose from. So for those who constantly complain that the food was repetitive, take a step back and think about your what your everyday dinners are from week to week.
So what was the down fault of this resort?
The mosquitos!! Im not sure how to pronounce this particular bug, but it is small, and when they bite they leave nasty welts on your body. As I mentioned, there were 8 of us, and only two of us seemed to attract these little bastards!!!
We have stayed at some of the most prestige resorts throughout the carribean, including cruises,, but Iberostar Daiquiri will now be our home away from home.
We have booked our next trip in January, counting the days until we return home.

Liz Sheppard

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank harleysangel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Liz Sheppard,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel. Our pleaser to know that ware a good holyday for the entire group. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
As well we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your experience.
We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again, see you on January.
Best regard,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice resort, beautiful beach with fine white sand. Not much snorkeling on spot. The food very good for Cuba and for a low season booking,lots of fresh sea food cooked on site. fish, cookies...We had beautifull evenings with live band before show every day, profesional shows followed by discoteque. Despite their effort( they fummigate every day) we still got lots of bites from mosquitoes and sand flies, recomend bug spray.The hotel is renovating one site now and it was very quiet . The best highlight are the peoples who work hard to keep up the resort, the entertaiment team the best (Omar. Cici ,Vickie,Kokie, Carlo....I would go back and recomand this resort after 22 times in different places in Cuba.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carribeanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Carribeanguy,
On behalf the hotel manager, I will like to thank you for take time to write this positive review about your experience stayed at our hotel, is a pleasure to know you had an excellent stay. Reference your comment about the rooms, that fined looked tired.
We will congratulate all our staff in particular Omar, Cici, Vickie, Kokie and Carlos they have contributed to making your holiday special.

We look forward, to seeing you again at our hotel.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,878 reviews
13.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing