We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment staff!!!!”
Review of Iberostar Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We travel to Guillermo twice a year because we do kitesurfing. There is a designated area for kitesurfers on the right side of the beach. Good resort, pack lots of bug spray. Decent variety of food. Beach has seaweed, but kept very clean. Half of the resort has been renovated, so try to get a room in the new section. Entertainment is the best of 4 resorts in the Guillermo. Comparing to Melia we love it more, but if you compare the beach and kitesurfing area Sol has a better beach for both. We love this resort and will definitely come back soon.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank SvetlanaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel.

Certainly this hotel has been remodel in a 40% and but may we will do almost 80 % of the total rooms.

We appreciate you think our entertainment is the best of Guillermo area , they work really hard and love what they do.

We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed from March 29th to April 5th and have nothing but good things to say about the Iberostar Daiquiri.

Check-In
We arrived around noon and check –in was easy and fast. I’ve read comments from people who complain that their rooms weren’t’ ready when they tried to checked in. Note that the check-in time is 3pm so don’t expect it to be ready before that. What we did was packed shorts and sunscreen in our carry-on luggage just in case our room wasn’t ready so we could still enjoy the resort.

Room
We paid for one of the renovated rooms and were very happy with it. We always had lots of hot water for showers. My only suggestion for the resort would be to add a dresser as there are only two small bedside tables and one other drawer in the closest to put your clothes away.
The resort has repainted the buildings on the one side of the resort and they look really good. Some of these buildings also contain the renovated the rooms, (Camaguey, Holguin, Guardalavaca and Baracoa buildings). My suggestions would be to pay for one the renovated rooms.

Beach
I was down at the beach by 7am to save two chairs that were in the front row, but there was still shade in the other rows at 9am. No issues with swapping out our beach towels. Bring a mask and snorkel as there’s lots of fish that swim around the pier. The sunrises were beautiful and I captured some amazing photographs. It was very windy the week we were there so the bugs weren’t bad.

Pool
I read some comments that people thought the pool was too small, but whenever I walked by, half of the chairs seemed empty so I’m not sure there needs to be a larger pool.

Food
We both found the food to be very good, both at the buffet and the a la cartes.

Staff
The staff were amazing and always seemed to have a smile.

Excursions
I’ll post separate review on the two excursions that we took, but the power boat tour which is only 5 minutes from the resort was so much fun. We also went to Pilar beach using the shuttle and thought it was beautiful.

Flight
We flew with Air Canada Rouge and didn’t have any issues other than the fact that neither of the planes had TV monitors anywhere in the aircraft. This made for a long flight.

Special thanks to Raul in Public Relations at the Daiquiri. I e-mailed the resort ahead of time with some requests and he fulfilled all of them.

I would highly recommend the Iberostar Daiquiri.

Room Tip: Pay for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chillin4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments; we want to thank you for taking the time to send us your experience.

The best award for a hotel is a feedback like yours. It will be a big pleasure to welcome here again and hopefully very soon.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed March 19-26. After our Canadian winter, Oboy did that sun feel good!! We chose not to upgrade to a superior (renovated) room as we knew we wouldn't be spending anytime there, other to sleep anyway. Our room, in the Varadero bldg, main floor, was a tad beat up, but what the heck. We were close to everything..minute's from the beach, pool, buffet, lobby bar. The Daiquiri is a small resort, and very isolated. Only 3 other's in Cayo Guillermo, but a couple new one's under construction near Pilar Beach. The food was exceptional!! We never suffered any type of stomach complaint. The sand flea's were terrible (not the resort's fault)! We were covered with bite's and no amount of repellent worked on us. Other's had none. We also had no AC. Blew air only, no cooling. The compressor was obviously *done*. Reported the problem, but it was never resolved, simply because it couldn't be. The elusive part(s) are on order, and we know how thing's go on Cuban time. It did not deter our holiday one bit. Half of the hotel was refurbished already, and the other half is scheduled to close the end of May, until it's completed. Had a great time and can't wait to go back for the 15th time!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are very glad to know that you had a great time enjoying our food, staff and that the situation with the AC didn’t tarnish your opinion of our hotel, we are working on them very hard to be able to solved it in no time.

Can’t wait to have you again with us and have the opportunity to share with you one more time.

Best regard,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a superior room at the Daiquiri for the week starting March 29th. We had a great room overlooking the ocean on the first floor. Loved the resort and the beach. The only problem was the AC didn't work. On Saturday night it was 27 degrees outside and 25 degrees in our room. There's no way to sleep in that. We looked at other rooms which was just a waste of time since it's central AC. Asked to be moved to another resort on Sunday. Moved down to the Iberostar Mojito. AC worked fine there. The only thing a person needs to know about the Mojito is most rooms don't have a balcony. I don't know about you but when I go south to get out of the snow I like to have some outdoor space. We were lucky and did get a balcony. Had a great week at the Mojito. I'm still giving the Daiquiri *** because I would have been more then happy to stay there but just couldn't handle the heat in the room. The food was as good as expected for Cuba. The workers were friendly and the beach was nice. There was grass in the water once you got out so far. We didn't see any bugs but were only there for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizCPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank for taking the time to share with us your experience at our resort.

We are very sorry you suffer the situation with the AC, makes us sad you had to move to other hotel wish we could had fix it on time but at same time we appreciate you nice comments in general regarding our hotel as well as Mojito.

We will love to have you back and be able to offer you a super vacation, hope we wil have the chance one day.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here from march 23 to march 30 the check in was slow only one person working we arrived late thank you to Lolita who had been here before helped by giving bracelets out so we could get a drink. The beach is great water warm thanks to Alberto for his special beach drinks,Danny for cleaning our chairs,Louis Antonio for his great pizza ask for him he will make any way you want also pasta.lots of food choices for breakfast lunch and supper. the staff great at keeping you entertained with day games and night shows. watch for small sand flies didnt bother me but noticed other guests with bites.hello to Jean michel and Marie if you read this also brenda and Tim great people we met here. Our room was always clean by judy room could be updated good enough for us we didnt spend much time there. would definitly go back some day but look for an earlier arrival.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room but not worth an extra $200 if they want to charge that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,
We are happy to know you had a great time at the Daiquiri.

We will pass your sweet comments regarding our staff to all of them, nice to know they make your vacation better.

Hoping to see you again.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Let me start by saying that this was our 14th visit to this hotel and until now, it has always been without serious issues. On each and every vacation to this hotel, we are usually accompanied by friends and new repeat customers who also make the Iberostar Daiquiri their first choice for vacations. Let me clarify that the staff and hotel management are excellent and was very apologetic about our situation. There were 2 important issues that we were not informed about on this visit before we booked our vacation. First of all, we were not notified that the Air Conditioning in several building including ours had been broken and blowing only warm air for several weeks. This included the Buffet where we are our breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in 31C degree temperatures. What frustrated us the most was that although we were informed that a Technician would be coming to fix it, no one ever did come and repair it. We were told that we could move to a part of the hotel which was renovated in December 2013 when we were last there however, there was a charge of an extra $30.00 per day. One person who also traveled with us informed us that had we requested a renovated room when we booked in Toronto, it would have cost us only $5.00 per day. A staff told me that they have no intention of replacing the A/C units until May 2014 when the renovate that side of the resort. Let me be clear, my complaints have no reflection on the quality of service, dedicated staff and management. Obviously not as we continue to visit this hotel year after year, However, it was an avoidable annoyance had we been informed in advance that we would not have air conditioning in 31 degree celsius heat.

Room Tip: Inquire if air conditioning is working well and if you need a newly renovated room, book it in Toron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donnyboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your stay at the Iberostar Daiquiri, it’s an honor to know you had been several time with us and we really hope keeps that way.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient you had regarding the AC, it’s true we had been having problems in some of the rooms in different buildings but not in all, including the buffet, we are very sorry you were misinform by one of our staff, we got new units to help us out and took us a little bit of time to start the work but I can assure you they are now connected.

It is true the information you got regarding the renovate rooms, paying through travel agency at home it is much cheaper than paying directly at the hotel, we always try to advise our guest when they ask about them by email because we know about the big different on the rates.

We are really thankful for the kind comments regarding our general staff; they are a very important part of the success of Iberostar Daiquiri.

Thank you again for taking the time and comments about your trip and we really hope to see you soon so you can enjoy our hotel once again.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We did the Thomas Cook Classic Cuba Tour from 10 March - 24 March 2014. If you want to see the real Cuba, then would heartily recommend. Several things to remember. (1) Get some Cuban pesos from the bank directly outside the airport - exchange rates hardly fluctuate wherever you get your pesos and you will need money almost immediately at the first beer stop.(2) All your meals are provided, you only need to pay for drinks, you may also get an all-inclusive hotel in the first week - such as the Amigo Costa Sur in Trinidad (3) You will have a 160 km bus journey as soon as you leave the airport - be prepared ! That said, the tour is brilliant. Our guide Jose Manuel Alea was an absolute star. There seemed to be no-one he didn't know in the whole of Cuba. Sancti Spritius is fine, stayed in old colonial hotel, Trinidad superb - if you get the chance, go up to the roof of the Palacio Cantero Museum for the photo opportunity. We stayed in two different resort hotels, both had swimming pools. The El Nicho nature park is good fun - bit Indiana Jones - Health and Safety went out the window. Cienfuegos hotel was nice, the town itself again very colonial - again only there one night..The crocodile farm is also good fun, and the Indian Village has some lovely sculptures. Havana is superb - the mojitos in memory of Ernest Hemingway went down extremely well ! Actually got to unpack here, three nights in the El Presidente Hotel. The tour is full on, so evenings are mainly for winding down, having said that, evening visits to a Trova House (local dance venue) and the famous Tropicana well worth it. The scenery towards Vinales is lovely, the caves were interesting and the boat ride enjoyable. Your guide and driver will be with you all week, staying the same hotels and taking care of you. Our driver (Nelson) took us as far as the airport in Havana for our connecting flight to Cayo Coco (Jardines Del Rey), Jose came with us on the flight and made sure we got our connecting buses to our resort hotels.

The Iberostar Daiquiri was a very good resort - perfect for winding down, however, there are only resort hotels in the Cayos, so be prepared to be somewhat isolated. Having said that, the food is great - lots more choice than during the tour. Excellent service. Rooms are very spacious. Never a fight for loungers. The beach area is superb. Entertainment also high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience in Cuba, especially in our hotel, we are very glad you enjoy our resort and the service we offer.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you back in this little paradise of the Cayos.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Pilar
Iberostar Playa Pilar
#1 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,031 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,266 reviews
19.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Daiquiri

Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: £100 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing