We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice:)”
Review of IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice:)”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week from May 17, 2014 to May 24, 2014 with a group of 12 that included kids age 11 to 19. We had been upgraded to a superior room for free which was quite nice. Safe was free. Only downside is I was ill 2 days due to the food. Been to Cuba twice before and never been ill. Shows at night were great. Didn't see the engagement during the day we have seen at other iberostar resorts however. Also no hair dryer in our room, called down for one, never got it. Never had an issue getting a chair at the beach. Pool was busy in the afternoon so finding shade was difficult but there were chairs. Resort was not busy when we were there so it was very pleasant. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Danie14,

We want to thank you for take a time to wire this positive review reference your experience in your group holiday at this hotel IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, our pleasure to knew it were a very nice stay. Congratulation that you got a renovate room without charge for the upgrade, we will like to do that with all our guest but we can´t because only 4 block are finish renovated and are offer by contact superior.

We really sorry you got two day ill, I understand you contact our medical assistant in the hotel who are available every day. About the hair dryer, we were with deleted with the import but now we received and all room have one all ready, apologize for the inconvenient.

We hope you comeback one again, it will be our pleasure to offer you and your family our hospitality!

Best regard,

Online Reputación Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    1,518
    667
    234
    84
See reviews for
1,152
1,555
136
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 7th May for two weeks excluding 3 nights in the Iberostar Parque Central Havana we were very disappointed . The main public areas are nice although the gardens leave a lot to be desired with several murky ponds in and around the main lobby bar great mosquito homes!, however the public areas are immaculately clean. Unfortunately the room we stayed in had not been renovated and was very shabby, the bath was plugless and scratched, tiles chipped and cracked, the ceiling had awful marks on, the bedding looked like it needed a good wash, the room was generally run down and we had a squashed bug on the tiles near the mirror for the entire holiday. We has to pay 2 pesos per day for a safe, however in the renovated rooms there are free!!! Food in the main buffet restaurant was of good quality, hot and very repetitive but we always found something. I wouldn't bother with the Al carte restaurants one is the pool bar which turns into the italian , the cuban is the beach hut and the Mexican is a separate room. All three are self service for starters and desserts and main course is served to you the italian was mainly all fish (fish lasagne) yuk ! as was the Cuban and when ordering Fajitas in the Mexican we were served a plate of stir fry with no tortillas, salsa, cheese or soured cream .
The staff were friendly enough however i wouldn't say any particularly stood out and we certainly didn't get the name of anyone
The beach was beautiful and cleaned every day , we hired the bikes and cycled to Pilar Beach they are free for 1st hour and 1 peso thereafter . The Animation team were technically fantastic dances however they could have done with some investment into their costumes and staging
All in all we had a good holiday, met some lovely people and enjoyed the Cuba Libres , would we go back? NO would we recommend it to a friend? NO but pleased I went to Cayo Coco. My top tip if you want to see Havana stay somewhere like Varedero as the 1hr 10 min flight to Havana from Cayo Coco took us 7.5hr in total !!!

Room Tip: pay for a renovated room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innes1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing at our trip advisor page your experience at our hotel.

We are happy to hear you had a good vacation in general, enjoyed our beaches, food at the buffet, the cleanness of the public areas and our staff generally.

We have to types of rooms as you mentioned, standard and superior the superior had been renovate it, we are going through some renovations and by next winter a 70% of the rooms of the hotel will all renovate which will help us a lot regarding rooms.

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy our a la cart restaurant and will take under consideration your comments about it as well in order to improve and try to be a bit better each day.

We really hope you change your mind one day and decide to come back to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived for one night stay before internal flight to Havana the following day - very welcoming and we were able to leave some luggage in a locked room for our return. Arrived back 4 days later and checked into a new room for the remaining 10 nights. It was in the main hotel building which has not been upgraded yet and was in need of some cosmetic improvements, but served its purpose and had good air conditioning. F
Fridge was restocked with water and juice every other day. Towels and bed linen changed on a daily basis and were very clean.
Buffet restaurant has a very good choice of food at breakfast and dinner - something to suit all tastes. We also ate in the Cuban restaurant and the Mexican, which was excellent. We didn't eat in the Italian restaurant on the recommendation of others, so cant comment on it.
Bar staff, dining staff, reception staff and entertainment staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our guides (Roberto and then Jorge) were very helpful and gave great advice.
The beach is fabulous and although the pool area is small for the size of hotel, it was never busy during our stay.
The entertainment staff were around all day and evening inviting people to join in activities and we did go to some of the shows in the evenings, which were very good. Its not perhaps the ideal place for teenagers or young adults who like to party into the morning but there were varied age groups, mostly enjoying the chilled out atmosphere. The bands playing daily in the lobby bar were lively and it's a pity they didn't play longer sets.
Shops and stalls on site were good for picking up souvenirs and bits and bobs. Leather and wooden goods were good value.
We took a lot of things with us to hand out as gifts - lipsticks, toiletries, clothing, pens, etc. and that was well received by the staff who really appreciated the little luxuries which we take for granted.
A couple of things to note: Its mostly Canadians and South Americans who stay there - not so many Brits since the number of flights from UK reduced. We noticed that most of them come prepared with their own cool mugs (often litre sized) and regularly get the bar staff to replenish their drinks in these containers so they can take them wherever they go...wish we'd thought of that!
On the whole, it was a lovely stay. Hopefully the improvements which are due to be done to the rooms over the next few months will entice more bookings. We would have no hesitation to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments at trip advisor.

It’s really nice to hear you enjoy so much our installations, from the rooms, to the food, to the hotel in general as per the service of our staff and activities we offer.

We hope you also enjoy your experience at Havana, because is a really beautiful city with lots of thing to offer.

It is true we are going through some renovations at the hotel more specific at our rooms in order to make them better and fulfill the needs and speciation’s of our guest, we willl have 70% done by winter season and hopefully as you said will get us more reservations.

It is pity no more flights come from England because it’s a great type of guest and we always enjoy having them at our hotel.

Really hope to see you soon at our hotel enjoying our beach, service and staff.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently got back from Iberostar Daiquiri with a group of 33 for my wedding.
First of all, we stayed in the Holguin building which was fully renovated and had no problems with our room. Our maid Heddy was wonderful and we always came back to clean sheets and towels. She was extremely nice as well. We had no problems with our room 3235, no bad AC, no leaking, no cracked tiles or bugs. The view was beautiful. As for hot water, if its busy, you won't get hot water you'll get warm water. If its a big issue for you that you have hot water shower sometimes after noon when barely no one is using the shower; you'll get hot.

Second of all, the buffet was good. We where expecting it to be 'meh' but countless members of our group said it was better than the 'el a cartes' at the resort. The cooks where wonderful, especially Walter who brought our meals straight to our table! Very impressed.

Thirdly, the overall resort was very clean. Workers where tending to the gardens and palm trees every single day. The pool was clean and not too cold. The beach was beautiful, i travel to tropical places regularly and it is one of the most beautiful beaches i have ever seen. A few workers would walk around giving away free coconuts with coconut milk and pieces of coconut to snack on throughout the day. Loved that.

Fourthly, the entertainment (as i've seen people complain on here) was great for us. If you expect them to bow at your feet and continuously entertain you then you will be disappointed. The musicians, singers, dancers move from table to table at the lobby and sometimes its impossible for them to get to every one. Tipping once during your stay will work wonders. We tipped one peso for the whole group and they where happy. Every night there is a different show which is basically the same kind of dancing on stage with different music and costumes.

Fifthly, if your having your wedding there; Junior did a fantastic job. The veranda where we got married was decorated beautifully and the ceremony was 15 minutes the most. Everybody that attended all 33 people absolutely loved it and the treatment. Word of advice if this is your wedding location; ask a lot of questions if you have them. Bring your own music if you'd like it played during the walk down the aisle. Flowers for the bridesmaids and groomsman do cost extra keep in mind.

Now the hiccups.
We where given late check out till 3 pm for free because we where the bride and groom. We wanted an extra two hours and my stepmother went down to ask them for us since we where in our room with our napping toddler. They said they would give us to five for free, (5 pesos an hour for late check out). I even went down at 3 to 'recharge' my card till 5 which they did without question. At 3:30 we got a call from front desk that we had to be out which baffled me as they told us, two different people at the front desk, that they would give us an extra two hours till 5. When i went down to see what was going on the new woman behind the desk had no idea what i was talking about. She needed us out for a arriving couple in a few hours. There was no communication on their end and they should have made a note that we had another two hours. I agree, the front desk needs some major work. We had to move 33 people's suitcases out of our room within a half n hour and pack everything up quickly with a toddler.
If you need to shower after you've checked out they let you use the rooms above the lobby, only they are rarely clean. I had a relative step inn VOMIT in one of the rooms and two others stumble into dirty rooms. They complained to front desk but little was solved.

Those are the only complaints I, and my party of 33 had with the resort.
Most of the resort was renovated.
There is a Lobster shack right next to the resort where you'll get the BEST lobster and shrimp ever. 15 pesos, just delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment your experience at our hotel.

It’s a pleasure and an honor to had such wonderful group as you and the weeding was beautiful and what to say about the lovely bride, she was incredibly beautiful, thank you for the sweet comment regarding Junior he is really got and try his best tom make the couple happy.

We are glad you enjoy so much the rooms, maid, food in general, staff and the entertainment at night, we will pass on all your nice comments to our staff.

Regarding the complains we are sorry you went through that, we will sit with the management in charge on those areas to check on them and improve as much as we can in order to get better each day and of course learn from our mistakes.

Once again thank you for your comments and we really hope to see for your anniversary.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First, I must say thank you to Yenma and Leo for the hospitality they extended during our whole trip. They truly represented the Iberostar chain very well.



We have stayed at 3 Iberostar resorts in Cuba:

Iberostar - Laguna Azul - Excellent Experience

Iberostar - Mojito - Excellent Experience

Iberostar - Daquiri - Will not recommend to my friends




I'll rate each area from 1-5. One being the worst and five is excellent.

FRONT DESK (2)

Was told by 3 different front desk that could not extend my room past 12 noon check out.
Talked to a different lady later on and she extended it for me with a smile. Thank you Maruchy.

Why all the fuss about extending my room?

If you want entertainment just sit in the lobby and watch the interaction between the customers that are having problems and the front desk staff.

Found that these people will not go beyond a certain level of effort, but they did call our room at 4pm to tell us to check out.


LOBBY BAR (4)

Good service.


BUFFET SERVICE (5)

The service in both buffets were excellent. Special mention to Yenma again who went out of her way to have an area for 16 of us to sit for my son's birthday and had a cake for him too.
Leo from the Mexican restaurant sat with us the first night we arrived til about 3am and set up the restaurant for my birthday, served us drinks around the pool and beach area.
Everyone in the restaurants/buffets provided excellent service.


CLEANLINESS (3)

Overall the grounds and lobbies were kept clean.
The fact that the hotel building is in need of renovations makes it look tired and dirty. Not a big problem for us.


ROOMS (2.5)

Leaking air conditioner in one room and a really weak one in another. I didn't bother complaining about them since I knew they were having problems before booking.
Bathroom doors were getting stuck because they weren't fitted properly. They are badly in need of renovations. I'm hardly in my room so it didn't matter.


ROOM SERVICE (3.5)

Cleaning was fine. No complaints.
Fridge had a bottle of water and 2 cans of pop which they restock every other day. Our friends had a bottle of rum in theirs.


ENTERTAINMENT (2.5)

Didn't engage our kids or us. Just walked right by every time. Definitely a different experience from the other 2 Iberostars. The entertainers usually made our stay really enjoyable and memorable.
Comparison of the entertainment staff between the Daquiri and Mojito are like night and day.


LOCATION (5)

The location of the hotel was excellent. Close to Pilar Beach and the Marina.
Beach was beautiful.


FOOD (3)

You can always find something to eat just don't expect the choices to be broad. Chicken, fish, pork and beef as usual. Good enough for me. If you're picky you may not like it.



A little bit of advice for the hotel managers/supervisors on this resort walking around. Set an example for the rest of the workers and ask your customers if everything is okay. Especially, during the low season.

Room Tip: If you are paying more than $900 for this resort then you are paying too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yomamar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions because they help us to keep improving our services.

We will pass your comments to Yenma and Leo, and Maruchy, they will love it.

We are very sorry we didn’t fulfill your needs; we will definitely take into considerations the negative comments in order to improve our services and make our guest happy which is our main goal.

We are undergoing a process of renovations that we hope will end will all the maintenance and comfort issues.

Regarding your friends received a bottled of rum it was probably because either they were repetitive clients or it was a gesture of good while if they had experience an inconvenience in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Iberostar as an all adult holiday with 7 in the group, we emailed Milady some time before we went and she sorted 3 well placed rooms for us overlooking the beach.
We had a couple of issues with aircon & hot water for a couple of days, but it was sorted and all was fine, we did not book with thomas Cook but another agency and got a better price, but flight and transfers were with Thomas Cook and all was fine, as has been written already the Iberostar is going through changes and its star rating is from an earlier time as are the photographs on the Thomas Cook site, having said all that we had a great holiday, the staff are so friendly with nothing too much trouble for them, we all said that without a doubt the entertainment provided was the best we have had in our 9 years in Cuba, during the day on the beach and around the pool activities started at 10am, if you did not know what was happening it was`nt a problem they would tour all areas and make sure you knew, even games based on you not moving from the beds!, Waiter service on the beach, not had that from higher rated hotels for some years.On an evening the team would mix with the guests and invite them to dance, again not seen that for a long time, the shows are the best we have seen, you where left breathless at the pace and energy used to deliver the shows, each night was themed the quality of the costumes and the variety was 2nd to none, on the Broadway night, Zorba the Greek & Riverdance had everyone up and clapping and dancing with the the dancers,, the Mexican Restaurant is a must with Debray & Leo giving excellent sevice and sound advice on the menu, we made great friends with many of the staff, Omar, Carlito, Coqui, & Maria, the main bar staff all contributed to an enjoyable night and amazingly remembering your order before you did. overall we had a great time, and are considering next year with them.
Joge Samora from Thomas Cook looked after us well, it is just a shame that the brits are now in the minority, with Argentina & Canada the main visitors to the Cayos, only 1 aircraft a week from the UK to cover all the hotels, unlike before when Gatwick & Glasgow flew to the Cayos, now only Manchester, it is a secret paradise that is being overpriced from the UK. we do hope to go back as we have found our corner of paradise and dont want to loose it, but not at inflated prices, this is Cuba not Mexico

Room Tip: We emailed Milady before we went, you can book in advance the newer refurbished rooms at an extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to visit our hotel page.

It is always comforting to receive such comments from our guest. We will pass your comments to all of the members of our staff and we will also take into account your suggestions.

It is really a pity not to count with more English guest due to so simple reasons as the scheduling of more flights to our country, hope one day gets better so we can have more wonderful people like you.

Thank you very much, and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Daiquiri in April 2014. The holiday had been booked for over a year due to the very high school holiday prices and the need to budget for this special holiday. We heard through a social media group that the hotel would be undergoing renovation, however over the year it became apparent that not all rooms would be renovated in time for our stay. We did not upgrade to a renovated room as these were charged at a premium. However, we went open minded, but we had to change our room on arrival as it had a terrible musty smell and there were stains on the bed sheets. The second room was better, but really not what we were expecting from a four star hotel.
Other guests had air conditioning problems but ours worked fine. The room décor and furniture was tired, but comfortable.
The food was plentiful and a very good selection of meats, fish, cheese and breads. Something for everyone.
The beach is the reason we chose this resort, and we would return, just not to this hotel. Needs a lot of TLC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorDaiquiri, Manager at IBEROSTAR Daiquiri, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for visiting our page and for letting us know your experience at our hotel.
It’s true we are going through some renovations to offer a better service to our guest and we hope that once its finished all problems regarding maintenance and comfort will be eradicated.

We apologize once again for the inconveniences you had to face during your stay. We hope you change your mind and give us a second chance once the renovations are finished, we will be very glad of having you with us again.

Thank you very much for your comment.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
12.7 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
12.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,119 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,980 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,176 reviews
13.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Daiquiri

Property: IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Iberostar, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Daiquiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing