We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best beach in the world”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best beach in the world”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our 2nd time in this hotel not as good as first time but still had a great time we got the room we requested next to the wedding gazebo you will meet some great people and friendly staff if you want a beach out of this world with some of the best fishing in the world this is the place for you

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you in our hotel,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,530
    1,306
    588
    311
    198
See reviews for
1,053
1,763
159
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York , United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

It was our first time in Cuba and we spent two weeks from 05 Apr - 19 April 2012 at the Sol , my fiancee and i were so pleased with the choice of hotels and location. Yes the 4 star is cuban 4 star and may hit a 3 star in europe but dont let that put you off. The hotel is small enough to feel safe but big enough for you to find yor own iece of paradise. Our room was clean, tidy & comfortable but to be honest i didnt go on holiday to spend time in my room. The hotel staff were captivating and lovley so many characters to mention them all by name but the likes of Carlos and his big smile , Elizabeth and her cheekyness, Anita with her singing and the 2 Yamilla's who were always keen to serve with a smile help make the holiday what it was . The pool was clean and a good temperature especially on those HOT days. The Beach is beautifull with a shallow sea perfect for young children or those who arent confident swimmers, I can mention the weather which was 2 weeks of sunshine but you arent here to read about the weather. I am not sure how anyone can complain about the food at the hotel as there was plenty to choose from , whether it be grilled meat cooked in front of you or fresh pasta or fresh fish or if the mood takes you all 3 , the choices of self service dishes was plenty and in two weeks i never got bored of the food. The staff in the restaurant were wonderfull and always greeting people with a big smile. Manuel the manager is a machine the man works all the hours god sends but is very approachable and a jolly nice man.
Dont forget to head to the beach turn left and a few yards up the beach is a beach bar good for a change of scenary , great beer and great lobster , it isnt five star its a beach bar but the owner is wonderful and the food is great.
Thinking of going snorkeling , then see the life guards or talk to the 'sailors' at the hotels watersports centre 15 pesos pp got us a 90 minute trip on a catermerang out to sea with snorkelling equipment (dont forget bananas the fish love them) . It was amazing and 120 pesos cheaper than doing an excursion form the harbour area.
Compared to other Carribean islands Cuba is cheaper but trust me you will not find a safer , friendlier more captivating island than this one. We will be returning next year this time with the children. Thank you to Manuel and all at the Sol Cayo Guillermo you are as wonderfull as your island. See you in 2013

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the centre of the resort will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed in the SOG in febuary with my pregnant wife and 2 young girls, the hotel was a real let down considering what we payed. We were really looking forward to some of the great hospitality which cubans are renowned for but found the staff rude and only happy if you tipped them every day the entertainment staff were even worse constantly trying to provide poorly done manicures and hair breading for a fee and they didn't take no kindly, through out the holiday this continued I was offered fake cigars daily and at meal times offered lobster for a fee which I declined this really let the hotel down because it has 1 of the best beaches iv ever seen but they didn't even have a beach bar like there sister hotels tryp & sol which we visited.
The food was repetitive and of a very poor standed the cocktails were a joke the plastic cups provided to drink from were far to small the coffee was about the best thing to drink another thing which really annoyed us was when the sister hotel guests came to visit a cocktail menu was provided as soon as the left it was taken away why was this manual?
Sandwich & burger bar on two occasions after visiting we had stomach upsets not good for a pregnant lady.
Over all found the hotel was very poor and it needs lots of improvements in all areas we understand the turmoil of the Cuban economy but this dosnt excuse poor hospitality and rudeness.

Room Tip: Inspect the room for bugs prior to accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Michael B. Thank you for your feedback, as a manager I do not like to get bad reports like yours but listening to our guest is the only way to improve. I am sorry for all inconvenience, We wish you and your family all the best. If you have time to give me more information be free to writte me, you can get my contact on this web. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I spent a great week in Cuba at the Sol. The people are fantastic. Staff were very friendly. Nice to be able to speak English to them. Hotel was smaller scale. Great main bar. The house band and entertainment team were fantastic. Food was fine. Mostly the same every day at the buffet but enough selection and a-la-cart stations to keep it interesting. Beach was great. Very shallow water. The rooms could use some work. We stayed in 305 which was an "upgraded" second floor with a distant view of the ocean. Unfortunately the furnishings were very tired looking and every night around 5 pm I had to kill a few dozen flying insects. The king size bed was comfortable, though. I tried a couple times to get the desk to change our room but they dropped the ball and didn't hold a room for us the next day when one became vacant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkhamMac2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear MarkhamMac2009. Thank you for your visit and your feedbak which help us to improve. I am sorry we could not get your full expectations. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoornton Cleveleys
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

we returned back from Sol Cayo Guillermo on 20th April, we took our 6 children of varying ages with us to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. we had a fabulous time yet again and met some lovely people. We were given 3 apartments next door to each other which was great and they all overlooked the sea. On arrival we were met by one of Manuel's assistants as he was not there who welcomed us back which was a lovely touch. Even though they had no water on the day we arrived they worked hard to sort it out and by the evening it was back and normal service resumed. We never had any problems with hot water and the showers were brilliant very powerful. Manuel had booked the A La Carte for us to celebrate my husbands birthday and they decorated the table and made him a cake. Whilst we were there 3 weddings took place and each one was made to be very special. My son and his girlfriend went on a day trip to explore Cuba and loved it and said its a must. The food choice was even better than last year and nobody in our party had any problem finding food that they liked each day. The staff behind the bar and in the restaurant were friendly and so happy all of the time. We also went on a fishing trip that included snorkelling around a ship wreck which was fantastic as the different species of fish were amazing. The only down side to our holiday was that we had a few items stolen from the apartment which has never happened before, we reported them to Hector the Thomas Cook rep who is brilliant and immediately wrote a full report and Manuel the manager came to see us immediately about it as he was very unhappy that this had happened . it just made us a bit more vigilant with our things. All in all a fantastic time at a wonderful hotel thank you.

Room Tip: make sure your patio doors are locked when you go out, rooms in 600's are perfectly postioned fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear lisaleary. Thank you for your visit once again. It was a pleasure to meet you and all your nice family. Thank you for your understanding too. We hope you will come back soon, please, let us know. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarporley cheshire england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Hi,
I recently went to this hotel for my 60th birthday, I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews, that this was a lovely destination. Cannot find a great deal wrong with this hotel, we had a lovely bungalow type room over looking the most beautiful sea. Maybe the food could have been a little hotter, but that really didnot spoil it for me. The manager of this hotel was on the ball, always there if you needed him. All the staff where excellent. Really enjoyed it would go back tomorrow. The thomas cook rep was very informative and we went on a couple of excursions, which were brilliant.
Could recommend this hotel to anybody.
Lyndsay Brown

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, but the rooms from 1100 onwards are the quietiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear stuart640. Thank you for celebrate with us your 60th birthday and your congratulations. We hope we will see you again very soon. Best regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at Sol Cayo Guillermo from March 17-24/12. This was our first time at the hotel and we had a wonderful vacation. We liked how small the resort was - very easy to find your way around, with access to the beach from any spot. We walked down the beach to the other hotels one day and firmly believe that Sol Cayo Guillermo has the best beach of the four.

All of the staff were wonderful - we especially enjoyed talking to one of the gardeners every day. I don't know his name but he has tattoos of his children on his forearms. There wasn't a single person who didn't try to help if they could, or even just chat a bit to make you feel like you were a friend, not just a customer. We had the opportunity to speak with Manuel, the manager, several times. He is a lovely man, always wanting to make sure you are pleased with the service.

We aren't picky about food and always found enough to eat at the buffet. I think I ate huevos rancheros & sausage every morning for breakfast because it was so good! I wish we had that sausage here in Canada! My husband said the buffet had the best coffee he'd ever tried. We ate at Don Guillermo - the a la carte restaurant - one night. It was just okay - we actually preferred the food at the buffet more. We didn't get a chance to eat at the other a la carte as it was booked up each night. We also had pizza at the ranchon (excellent Hawaiian) and burgers more than once at the snack bar. I only wish the snack bar was open during dinner hours as sometimes that's all I wanted.

We went horseback riding on our last day there and wished we had gone sooner. When we visit next time we'll ride every day. The ride was very relaxing and the guide was excellent. On other vacations we've gone riding and the guides make you push the horses hard - to squeeze in more rides in a day I guess. But here they let us go at our own pace - nice, as I'm always a little nervous at first.

We watched a few of the evening shows. The magic show was fun - mostly because of the two amazing dancers featured in between magic acts. Those two were just fantastically talented. And seeing the animacion girls with the kids each night was sweet. We couldn't stop saying, "Ciao, Ciao, Mickey Mouse" to each other after that.

The only negative during our week had nothing to do with the resort itself. One day we got into a heated argument with another guest who thought it was her right to hold one of the cabanas all day while she laid in the sun at the pool edge with her friends. She wanted it "in case she wanted to sit in the shade". Not a huge deal but it made it unpleasant for the rest of the day.

We tend to stay at a different resort every time we go on vacation, just for the variety, but Sol Cayo Guillermo is one place that has us wanting to go back. I'm hoping we can stay there again next year, and perhaps convince our family and friends to make it an annual event.

Barb & Tom Steadman
Newmarket, Ontario

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you can - the vaulted ceiling is amazing! Next time we're going to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chloepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear chloepants. It was a pleasure to chat with you during your stay with us. Thank you for your positive review, please, let us know when you are coming back. Take care. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
13.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,090 reviews
13.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
520 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Property: Sol Cayo Guillermo
Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing