We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Playa Coco(Cayo Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,187)
Filter reviews
4,187 results
Traveller rating
1,622
1,371
619
339
236
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,622
1,371
619
339
236
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain barfishsnack barpastacubanito bartwo weeksbeach restauranta la cartetoastiesgreat holidaybeautiful beachsand flieschurrossales managerbuffet restaurantentertainment staffthe thomas cook rep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 4,187 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved everything about my holiday The place was very friendly the staff could not be more helpful the food was delish my accommodation was really nice and the maids came every day. The entertainment was exceptional there was something for every one the shows were fantastic at the night time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank LindaRothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Linda,

Your comments has been Brilliam! I love having feedback from my clients, specially when they left the hotel. I'm very glad to know we have been able to provide you with another fantastic holiday experience. We will certainly share your remarks with the staff.Your comments make us feel like we are moving on the right direction to make our hotel even better for your future enjoyment. Hope to see you soon!

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from what i can only describe as another two weeks spent in paradise. This was our third visit and we love it. We get greeted like family the staff are amazing so helpful and always smiling. The food is much improved thanks to new head chef angel , our repeat guest meal was outstanding the buffet has so much more choice that some evenings we struggled to decide. We'd like to thank lupe for all her care and attention as with all the management and staff nothing was ever to much. Our only negative is that we can only visit once year.
So thank you Jose and all you're wonderful staff for our perfect two weeks in paradise and we'll see you next April
Anita and John smith (815)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anita C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear repeated Anita,

great to read you have found improvements at the hotel. we works for you and we do with love and devotion. So glad to read you have had a wonderful holiday with us! Thank you so much for reviewing your experience, especially for all your compliments about our facilities and services. Thank you for let us know in advance that you'll be back, we'll be glad to welcome you one more time, Please, email us your booking details and just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday with us.

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

In mid April, a group of 16 of us returned to SCG and had a fabulous time. Everything was perfect, the weather, the beach, the food was great and as alway's the most amazing staff!!!! I have been returning to this hotel for 18 yrs and almost alway's stay in the same room. This last trip there was a small problem so I was put in the room next to my regular room..I would just like to point out that the General manager( Antonio) went out of his way to personally buy me a bottle of the best white wine the store had just to say sorry about the room. I really didn't expect anything like that so I have to say Thank you once again Antonio for that lovely gesture. Nelido as alway's, my good friend was very attentive to all our needs, alway's with a smile on his face and happy to share his little free time with us. Also, Nelido, thank you for the most amazing lunch you arranged for us to have...we all loved it, it was delicious!
This little hotel is a home away from home for many regular repeat guests. It may not alway's be perfect as thing's do go wrong from time to time but it is alway's perfect to me!!!
Thank you everyone at SCG for your smiles, your friendliness and most importantly...for alway's making me feel HAPPY when I am there!
See you in Sept my friend's!! XXX

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear lovely & Loyal Tima,

Thank you very much for have taken part of your time to write your comment con Tripadvisor, I appreciate it a lot, specially coming from you, a client who is visiting us since the hotel was open, 18 years ago, thank you for your loyalty, your honesty and your friendship with all your family in Sol Cayo Guillermo. You know every client have a piece of or heart, also we always find a way to provide you a nice welcome and we'll do our best to make you keep your gorgeous smile, thank you for enjoy every moment, every day and for make happy your friends. Please keep in touch and see you in september 10th with all your gruop as you always come. Have a nice Day!

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed at SCG three times over the past three years (once before at Sol Cayo Coco). Each time I have travelled alone and have enjoyed the most wonderful, relaxing, restorative holiday. Staff have warmly welcomed me back, to my delight. In particular, Maidelyn in Reception and Lupe in Customer Services, have gone out of their way to make my holiday the most comfortable and peaceful ever. Nothing is too much trouble.
The location, as others have said is incredible...you could easily be in the Maldives, but less far and less cost. Sadly, no marine life like the Maldives on the doorstep!
Many changes for the better this year, (new Manager), although the rooms are a bit tired, they are still very comfortable and have everything a person might need. The sea views are breath-taking.....beautiful white sand and warm, aqua/green sea. Stunning.
I requested a particular room when I booked, but was not given this (but one close by). However, with some help from Maidelyn and Lupe, I ended up with a perfect room for me (114). Upper floor, far away from the entertainment (which I'm told is very good)....but I went for peace.....and got it.
Everywhere was very clean. Pools and surrounding areas always clean and tidy. Plenty of good, tasty food virtually 24 hours. Plenty of variety. Restaurant staff always so helpful (and not just after a tip). Bar staff warm and welcoming too.
They have nothing, so take a few small goodies...you will delight them! Deodorant, Impulse spray, cotton buds, emery boards, toothpaste and toothbrushes.....pennies to us.....luxuries for Cubans.
Money exchange always available. I always ask for two key-cards, as one or other will usually stop working and it's a few minutes walk back to Reception.....No problem! Worth paying for the safe in the room. HUGE king-size plus, comfy bed.
The first time I stayed at SCG there were 7 or 8 repairs needed in my room, over the two weeks, which were attended to fairly swiftly, far fewer last year.. This year, everything worked, nothing broke down, not even a light bulb needed to be replaced. Fresh pool towels available most of the day.
Can be nice to take a travel kettle, travel mug, coffee etc and sit on the balcony, enjoying the view.
I have just rebooked for 2015...solo again....it's my therapeutic holiday!
The internet is SOOOOO slow...they don't have broadband or Wi fi.... This would be very helpful if/when they do, as there is a very small internet room, with two PC's. By the time you've waited for a PC to become free then managed to log-on, many minutes have passed, eating up your credit. Next year, I will avoid this unless there's Wi fi, and just text home instead. This was the only time I felt remotely stressed, when waiting for a PC to become free, then waiting AGES for connection, and then being aware of others waiting to use the PC. This was not the fault of the hotel, just appallingly slow internet in Cuba.
Overall, a perfect holiday for me. Suitable for everyone who wants peace and tranquillity. Trips to go on, if you like. Little shop within the hotel stocks soft chilled drinks etc biscuits, crisps etc...if you really want them.
I cannot wait to return and HOPE that I am given room 114 this time....I know the staff will do their best. Language is no problem. Most staff speak good English and appreciate the odd effort in Spanish.
Weather in March was perfect. No sign of a drop of rain for the whole time.
VIP lounge at the airport is good value for money, limited numbers, so book when you arrive. All inclusive drinks and snacks. Nothing fancy, but armchairs and air-con. They come and collect you, as it's time to board.
ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet.....rooms in the 100's are as far away from everything (about 5mins walk through lovely grounds). Sea view/upper floor definitely best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CazAnnaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear CazAnnaT,

We are so sorry to read that we were not able to meet your expectations on your third time in our country. We clearly failed to deliver an up to our standards service and facility. I'm very happy to read you have encountered our staff to be very hard working and provided you with outstanding service. Thank you very much for your nmice review, I would like to see you soon one more time laying in front of our spectacular beach Spot or Around the pool area drinking a cuban cocktail, taking a nap or reading a book and enjoying the purity of the nature at Sol Cayo Guillermo style. Thank you for choosing us!

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from our stay at this resort.

Let me begin with the positive points about this resort;
- The staff is very friendly and helpful.
- The beach, you won't find one much better.
- The food is excellent.
- The entertainment is fantastic.

The negative points;

- We checked into our room which at first glance seemed alright, we went out to dinner and took in a show and returned to our room to find water all over our bathroom floor from a leaky toilet. A maintenance guy came and said he couldn't find where exactly the problem was and wanted to send a maid to clean the floor. I said if you don't know where the problem is the water is going to continue to cover the floor so I asked if we could be moved to another room.

- They said they only had one room available, which we took it even though it was a lot longer of walk to and from the restaurants and pool area and we lost our ocean view from our balcony. We get to the room and door doesn't work to get in. Again the maintenance guy had to come and was able to fix this problem. We get into the room and go into the bathroom and all you can smell is a sewage smell. We slept in this room because they said nothing else was available so next morning I asked to be moved again.

- We go to our 3rd room which is back closer to the restaurants and pool area, we then find out that our A/C isn't working properly. You can only set it to max. or freezing cold or shut it off which the room would heat up quickly. Maintenance came but couldn't fix the temperature setting which is made it hard to sleep but we weren't going to change rooms again.

- Half way through our stay in this room we lost hot water and never did get it back again so we ended up taking cold showers the rest of the time. Luckily there cold water isn't really cold but cold enough.

- We also learned that maids do not leave bar soap, body wash or shampoo without requesting it by leaving a note which we did. The second day I left a note with a tip but we didn't get any soaps left. I called customer service at lunch time and they said someone would leave it in the room. Coming back to the room to get ready for dinner, no one came so I called a second time. Again someone would come is what I was told. We returned to our room around 10:30pm and again no soaps. I called a third time and was told that when the maid cleans the room the next morning soaps would be left. We returned from the beach mid afternoon after the cleaning lady had already been in and again no soaps. By my 4th call I was getting upset and did let them know which they finally did come and give us our soaps.

- Also the rooms walls are very thin. You can clearly hear conversations, televisions, wake up calls, etc.

Overall we had a good vacation its just the resort itself needs to be renovated because we talked to several people who also had to be move to other rooms for various reasons. The positive points listed above gives this resort a good rating but be aware the buildings need much work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trev_2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it, they give us the opportunity to work on you (clients) to be better and better, and we took them very seriously. I'm totally agree, staff and beach make your holiday, I'm not glad have not meet your expectations, We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the holiday vacation that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo. Hope to see you one more time!

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews