We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Playa Coco(Cayo Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,557)
Filter reviews
4,557 results
Traveller rating
2,040
1,383
620
313
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,040
1,383
620
313
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinternational restaurantpool barpizzafishbeautiful beachopen for lunchbeach grillchickenlong pierrepeat guestsentertainment staffthomas cookspecial thanksa la carte restaurantspilar beachtwo weeksfries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
831 - 836 of 4,557 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

A great hotel in a great location. Accommodation and food very good, bars excellent, entertainers excellent and a beautiful beach.

We all really enjoyed the mud treatments and massage, also my daughter enjoyed the horse riding on the beach making a friend she is still in touch with. We had two marvelous boat trips for snorkeling and swimming, and can highly recommend this hotel and resort.

A visit to Havana is essential if you can fit it in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank d1arm1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hello d 1 arm 1 d:

Thank you very much for your kind words in this review about your holidays in our hotel.

I am very happy that your daughter had such a marvelous time and had fun horse back riding and relax with our mud treatments and boat excursions and of course the beach.

Thanks again for recommending us to toher travellers and we are eager to have you back with us any time.

Best wishes and come soon,

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned from 2 wks not 4☆ plus would give it a 3.needs major refurbishment , food luke warm , housekeeping of rooms terrible, poor value of money....ground floor rooms flood would not return ....

Room Tip: Not ground floor to left of lobby as flood
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank michaela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Michaela…

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for the time you took to write this post, Ut is very regretable that you didn't reach your expectations while you were visiting us.
Our hotel has a plan of renovations for next 2015 hwhich includes the rooms. We are sure that when we finish it, clients will be better off during their holidays. .
We continue to work on the bettering of the services in the restaurants, in variety and quality of the food. We want to transmit you our apologies for all the problems you had. Ando also because unfortunately you were caught up in the middle of a tropical storm. This fenemenon can happen in this parts of the Caribbean during this time of the year. It was a very unhappy coincidence.
We assure you that we are following the headlights you have sent us and will ask you to consider visiting us again after the refurbishing, so we can have a chance to earn your trust once more.

Regards

Jesus T
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have just returned home from our second visit to Melia Cayo Guillermo. I must to say it was even better than our first visit here last year and we hope to go back in January.

The customer service is exceptional, the staff always going out of their way to make you feel welcome and accommodate you.

The room was lovely, good location and a lot of hot water and good pressure all the time.

For breakfast and supper we were happy with the buffet and we haven't tried the a la carte restaurants, The second evening we have been invited to a special supper for the repeat guests. It was very nice and highly appreciated. For lunch we used the restaurant Ranchon near to the beach or the Italian/Pizza restaurant near the pool.

The beach is stunning and the water was awesome. We never spent so much time in the water, it was like a warm bath.

The resort was full even if August is considered low season. Despite that, there were no line ups for drinks or food!

Thank you everyone at Melia Cayo Guillermo for the great vacation!. We will come again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ovidiu1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Ovidiu 133

We are so glad that you had in your words an incredible vacation! Thanks for this review and for let us know your opinion. I can see that you are already thinking of coming back again. You are now offcicaly part of the big family of the Repeat clients fo Melia Guillermo and e are very happy for that!

It is good to know that you enjoyed the beach, the services and the different offers in restaurants and bars.

We will be waiting for you again in January so don't be late!

Best regards,

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Well, I haven't written a review in a while, I have been going to this resort since 2002 and seen its ups and downs. I travelled beginning of July, on a relaxing trip, no husband or child..

First off. AMAZING,.. Sums it up again.

This review will be mostly about the staff.. Before I get into them.. The ground are spectacular, well maintained, rooms could do with renovation but it does the purpose. The pool is perfect tempature..

But overall great resort and you can't beat the beach.

Ok the staff is really why to resort have so many repeat clients,

Carmen- sales manager ... Does a amazing job, listens to you and takes action when required.

Mary- customer service and wedding cooridnator, the best in Cuba..

Ana- pool bar, extremely friendly and always has a smile on her face for all guests.

Tommy- pool bar evening, awesome and does his job with great authusim.

Deniesy- cleaning lady at pool bar, very very nice .. Keeps things very clean and spotless.

Noelkis- kids club, best in the business.. A real asset to the resort, many can learn from her.

Yoel- dancer., amazing dancer and very friendly.. English is very strong and it's great that he helps others understand.

Jimmy- animation.. Well what can we say... He is one of a kind . Don't lose him.

Addy- activities manager. Doing a amazing job, has many great ideas.

I could go on and on, but really it is all the staff that really make our holidays so special.


I look forward to my return trip in oct, husband and son in tow..
Thank you


Marcie

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Marcie

From the bottom of our hearts thank you very much for all your support anf fidelity over these long years. You have been, since the beginning, more than a client to us, you are a member of our family and always have been there for us. I am sure that every single member of our crew thinks this way. I will transmit your regrads to all your friends here: CArmen, Mary, Ana, Tommy, Anaconda (Deniesy), Noelkys, Jimmy, Addy, and of course our Yoel.

Can't way to have you all in october, especially Greyson. He is growing really fast and he is above all a Melia Guillermo Baby :), after all, Mom and Dad got married here right?.

All the best for you, your family and friends in Canada.

See you in October and thanks for always beein there for us!

Jesus T
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our 3rd time in Cuba so knew what standard to expect.
We went to this hotel July 23 and I have to say 4.5- 5 star more like a 2 or 3.

Hotel was only half open( low season summer apparently. Staff were rude, rooms sub standard and dirty and food pretty disgusting. And to top it all Air conditioning didn't work properly!

1st day asked for cold milk for cereal so they put ice cubes into hot milk. I complained so they fetched a carton of milk from out the kitchen tipped it on my sons cereal and was like clotted cheese. Doesn't leave you with a lot of faith in the hotel

Buffet/snack bar- not red sauce for kids only mustard for their burgers and chips and no lemonade!! There response maybe tomorrow.

Management said they would find us up graded rooms better rooms and strung us along for 2 days, nothing happened. Once we got the rep involved Roberto from Thomas Cooke we managed to get a move to another hotel Iberia star Daquiri 4 star and 10 times better.

Maybe the roomer that Thomas Cooke is pulling out of this hotel is true- change now is my advise don`t go.

Room Tip: Don`t bother our friends toilet basin had a large crack in it we had a rusty mirror, hoes in the furniture, filthy bathroom and air conditioning not working properly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank 783Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus T, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hello 173 Diane

First of all, thanks for taking your time in making this review about us.

I want to express our deepest apologies for all that happened during your stay that was not what you expected.

I would also like to tell you that we have cold milk in the cold table at the buffet for breakfast, so that concern of yours is already covered.
Unfortunatelly the suppliers of the hotels have no ketchup right now. We are waiting for it, and we will get it as soon as they bring it from wherever they import it. I am very sorry for this but there is nothing we can do about it as there are no alternative offers anywhere we can access but i guarantee you tha we keep looking after this matter.

It is true that we tried to find an upgrade in the room for you but all our superior rooms were booked and we didn't have any available due to the high ocupancy level. This was most unfortunate.

But overall, i wanted to let you know that we really cared for our clients, that we took very seriously your concerns and that we work towards finding a solution fot them. Having said that, and after teeling you how sorry we are, we would like to invite you to come again for qa visit, let us know in advance and we will make sure you have the best holidays ver. We would like to have the opportunity of gaining back your trust.

Regards

Jesus T
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews