We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great, as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Levernois
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Simply great, as usual”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I cannot visit Burgundy without an evening at the restaurant of the Hostellerie de Levernois. This time it was my 5th dinner there year by year. It is simply fantastic - the food, the wine, the atmosphere and the way you are treated by all members of the staff. The owners are always there making sure you are as happy as possible and it never sounds fake - they must really like this job. The green surroundings of the hotel are simply lovely and I only regret I cannot live in this hotel and eat at their restaurant every day. Absolutely worth the way and money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    65
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
102
410
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Almost everything about this hotel was perfect from the reception which included valet parking to the gardens and buildings.

We had a lovely corner room on the first floor of the main building. (409). It was large and well equipped with proper hangers, glass glasses, easy to use free wiFi and a fridge.

The restaurant was stunning; a large beautifully designed and decorated room. Service was perfect and the terrine of pâté starter was wonderful as was the Grand Marnier soufflé. The cheeses board was the biggest I have ever seen and needed two people to carry it and another one for the goat's cheese.

Just one problem. As one would expect the restaurant was expensive. The cheapest meal was 70 Euros and for this there was a choice of only two main courses neither of which I liked. There is a cheaper option in that there is a bistro. Unfortunately it is not open every night so if cost worries you it is worthwhile checking before you book.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our fourth stay at the hotel was, as on each previous occasion, marvelous. Everything contributes to a feeling of relaxation and wellbeing, from the large and well-presented rooms to the wonderful restaurants. And our hosts were generous with their time and their advice, and very much made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Do try and take in the wine-tasting on Saturday evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We just came back from a two days break in Hostellerie de Levernois. It was now the third time that we stayed there as the hotel is located in a very quite area, the premises are really nice and extremely well maintained- the same is also valid for the different rooms. We had booked a Deluxe room and were travelling with a small Toddler (not yet well experienced in climbing stairs). Unfortunately our room was located in "the Meix" on the top floor means quite some stairs, that' s why we asked also for a room in the garden up-front, but did not get it. The breakfast is quite okay for France but also pretty expensive with 22€ per person and believe it or not you explicitly need to ask for some fresh ham as not part of the buffet (good to know it because otherwise you will not find it out)- for me a bit surprising as there are good means to preserve fresh ham on a breakfast buffet for some hours in hygienic conditions. Turn down service was also this time not what we experienced earlier on-we would have wished to get it as our room had a kind of bulls- eye window without curtain that had to be closed by a big wooden plate which was not to obvious and also pretty heavy to mount (especially no one told us upon arrival- Tip: You will find it in the wardrobe). Anyway, all in all a quite relaxing stay and one of the first choice hotels in the area despite that fact that we were used a bit more from former stays.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxi2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very friendly welcome, excellent cuisine and fantastic wines. The owners go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. Drinks on the terrace followed by dinner in the gastronomic restaurant is an experience to savour. A must visit hotel in Burgundy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We first stayed at Hostellerie de Levernois on our way back from the South of France for a one night stop over. Having experienced the wonderful hotel and its magnificent food we booked to go back 6 weeks later for a longer 3 night stay. The dining experience is second to none, made even better by the wonderful staff and very knowledgeable sommeliers. The owners and all the staff were keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room, we had the same one on both occasions, was clean and comfortable and very quiet. We had a wonderful massage booked by the hotel in our room and went on a fabulous 2 hour bike ride, on the hotel bikes, around the neighbouring villages. We love this place so much we have already booked a return visit in September. I cannot recommend this place enough, you will not be disappointed if you go. A top tip is to give the surprise menu a go, all I can say is wow!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved our three decadent days at Hostellerie de Levernois. The grounds were beautiful, rooms luxurious and food fabulous. Combine all of that with friendly service and you have a terrific choice for a deluxe Burgundy visit.
We stayed in an end room in the pavilion with french doors opening up to a double patio and back lawn area. Although it was new, there was a bit of a nice rustic feel to it which we liked. There was a king bed, a twin bed for our son, 2 chairs with table and a writing desk. The bathroom was huge, with the biggest shower of our trip. There was a large tub and french doors opened to the garden. A high powered blow dryer and high end bath products were appreciated. The ONLY thing that I could find that was not perfect were the towels were a bit thin.
We chose the half board package, which was a good value. It included breakfast which you order the night before. What a treat to be brought a table full of amazing food (killer pastries) and hot coffee each morning at a specified time. We ate on the patio listening to song birds.
Dinner each night began with an aperitif in the garden while you chose your dinner and wine. The first night they recommend the pre-set and the other nights you chose off the menu. The sommelier was very helpful in wine selection. We were always steered to a perfect and interesting choice. The food was not only delicious but beautifully presented. We had a tour of the kitchen and were blown away by the precise teamwork that goes into each plate. And although we were really too full, it was fun each night to partake in the HUGE cheese tray which took two servers to carry. All of the servers were professional yet friendly. The owners were present each evening to great and chat with each guest.
Although delicious, three nights of such grand eating was a bit much. I recommend breaking it up with eating one night at their lovely casual restaurant if you were going to stay for a few days.
There is a lot to do in the area, especially if you like wine. Ask the hotel to make reservations at Maison Joseph Drouhin for a visit to some unbelievably old wine caves beneath Beaune, learn some local history and taste some fabulous wine. Market day in Beaune on Saturday is also a lot of fun.
We look forward to visiting Burgundy again soon, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else but here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the pavilion have nice patios. Ours faced the parking lot which could be a bit noisier th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levernois
2.9 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
819 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
603 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
419 reviews
17.2 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
495 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois

Property: Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Address: Rue du Golf, 21200 Levernois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Levernois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Levernois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie de Levernois is above all a bucolic setting in a protected area just 5 minutes away from the A6 highway. This lovely bourgeois house, in complete harmony with nature, is composed of 26 bright rooms (4 of them apartments) distributed in 3 different buildings, in a park of more than 5 hectares. The Hostellerie benefits of an ideal geographic position in the heart of Burgundy, rich in history and culture. It is surrounded by prestigious vineyards such as Gevrey Chambertin, Vosne Romanee, Pommard, Meursault or Puligny-Montrachet. Come discover the pure Burgundian tradition. Enjoy a meal in our Bistro along the river or taste our Michelin starred cuisine. Learn about wines in the tasting cellar and let our sommelier guide you through an exceptional selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais And Chateaux - Hostellerie De Levernois
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie De Levernois Hotel Levernois
Hostellerie De Hotel Levernois
Levernois Hostellerie De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing