We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were very impressed with this Chateau when we first arrived -- the drive up to the chateau on top of the hill makes for a grand impression.

Pros: You feel like you are staying in a castle; Our room was large and had a balcony with a great view; we enjoyed walking around on the grounds; good central location in the Loire Valley.

Cons: The bed was hard; there was no staff present when we first arrived and we had to wander around to find someone; only 2 restaurants open in the evening in the town of Montlouis-Sur-Loire; breakfast was acceptable, but I don't think they should have charged extra for eggs/meat.

We enjoyed our stay, but it was somewhat soured after we left. I realized I had forgotten clothing hanging in the closet, and we had to call the Chateau from our next hotel. The Chateau de la Bourdaisiere was willing to ship it to us, but with a few conditions: They couldn't send it until 3 days later, when they'd call to get our credit card information (extremely inconvenient as we did not have a France cell phone), and it was lucky we were even still going to be in the country when it would eventually arrive at our last hotel. Also, the hotel we called from was astonished that the Chateau was having us pay for the shipping instead of covering it for us. I am grateful to have gotten my clothing back, but for the amount spent on the stay, it could have been handled with better service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We went to this chateau with a group, and the whole experience has been wonderful. The place has such charm. When driving up to the chateau it feels like you are entering a fairy tale, so pretty. We stayed in the main chateau with our bathroom in one of the turrets. Our evening meals were pre-arranged and were all very good and plenty of it. The staff are friendly and helpful. On our last night there, the restaurant was closed and we were recommended a very good local restaurant. The outside restaurant was not open yet and neither was the swimming pool, but we were there early in the season.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties, definitely try and get a room in the main building, where there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuizeCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We loved the place. When we drove up to the chateau the view of it as it appeared was really impressive. We felt like royalties coming here. The gardens around were also very beautiful. There was a certain charm to this place. Regret not being able to try the open air restaurant in the gardens. The appartment was very nice. Would love to come back for a longer stay to also profit from the pool and the tennis court.
If you are looking for a real chateau experience in the Loire Valley than this is the place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank ztyszk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What a bizarre place. . . This chateau has such an over-the-top favorable description/recommendation from THE most well-known travel guide book company (that shall remain nameless) rhymes with odor . . ooops, let it slip!), that we decided we had to stay the night at this "magnificent place", as the guide book put it. Don't fall this gibberish, as we did. This chateau is not well maintained - it is crowded with not very attractive, rundown "antiques'. The place is downright spooky with dark, creaky hallways that are only lit by motion sensors. There is a nice, but bare-bones staff. The dining room is lacking of any choices. Stay here is you insist, but I guarantee you will run into Uncle Fester & Lurch at some point during your stay.

Room Tip: I have no idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCB826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Chateau de la Bourdaisiere certainly has the old world charm. The staff is friendly and courteous and waited for our late arrival. Large room and great comfort. The low season rate was extremely affordable. The down side is the restaurant was not opened during low season. However, the staff recommended a restaurant near the chateau and we had quite an enjoyable meal there. Do take time and enjoy walking the ground. The best lodging we had in France. If driving, recommend a GPS as the chateau may be difficult to find.

Room Tip: Free upgrade probably available during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We came in November so the prices were a GREAT value. The staff were so nice, even staying up late to be sure we were able to get in again after our dinner down the street. The grounds are lovely. Nice to sit by the fire and do a little computer work with the wifi which was excellent. It's also a good location to see Chateau Chaumont, Cheverny, Chambord and Chenenceau, (although the last two are further), as well as have great lunch at Bigot. Coming back to a castle is fantastic. It's very quiet there, so sleep is excellent. We liked Marie (?) Babou room on the second floor, although you have to share with someone intimate since the bathroom has a window to the bedroom. My parents liked the Queen Margot room, but thought the bathroom was cold since it was on the outside window side and had a tub shower w/o curtains (and I preferred they didn't step in and out over the tube to get in), so they used ours while we enjoyed the fire in the living room. No dinner in the winter. We skipped breakfast to tour around and eat lunch out. Really an enchanting time at the Bourdaisiere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MultnomahOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights last month and really enjoyed our stay. The chateau is beautiful and the staff made us feel at home. We stayed in the Louis XIV suite and felt like royalty. My only suggestion would be to change the dinner a bit; it was a fixed menu and was served in a small room with just one other couple, so a bit uncomfortable. And the beds were quite firm, almost hard. I would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montlouis-sur-Loire
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
483 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
245 reviews
7.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rochecorbon
231 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
9.1 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Bourdaisiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Bourdaisiere

Address: 25, Rue de la Bourdaisiere, 37270 Montlouis-sur-Loire, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Montlouis-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Montlouis-sur-Loire
Price Range: £93 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Bourdaisiere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau de la Bourdaisiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Bourdaisiere Hotel Montlouis-Sur-Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing