We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LucyLocket84
Bucks

oh dear .......

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jun 2014
The chateau is perfectly placed at the top of a hill surrounded by its beautiful gardens so the drive up towards it is extremely impressive. We were greeted by a friendly man on reception who showed us to our extremely comfortable and elegant room which looked out onto the gardens.

The reception rooms were well sized and furnished; it was a little like staying with your elderly great aunt who had not redecorated since 1932 but the chateau had a good feel. The first night we were one of 3 couples staying and the restaurant was not open but friendly man on reception made us a booking at what I can only describe as on of the most difficult to find restaurants (at the end of an unmade road) that served the best meal in France that I have ever eaten.

However, at breakfast the next morning I had to go and find someone to serve us coffee and juice etc as there was no one around, I collared a woman hovering the sitting room who then came and served us at the table. There was a distinct lack of staff around. Two cycling parties were expected at the chateau that night so we decided to eat in their dining room that evening. The chateau certainly livened up with all the people there; you can imagine how the house parties of the 1930s felt.

The meal was awful, a very good quiche starter, tasteless chicken quarter, about 9 large new potatoes and lettuce. Pud was an overcooked, and therefore hard, choc sponge with watery crème anglais. My husband who cannot eat poultry and was given a piece of white, over salted but otherwise flavourless fish, no sauce, just plain. The local wine was very good though!

When we commented to the manager on the standard of this dinner (35 Euros a head) he said that they only use vegetables from the garden (potatoes & lettuce?) and that nobody else had complained about it.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and when we arrived at the dining room to a sight of complete devastation – several large tables bore the evidence of the cycling groups having had their breakfast, the debris of which was spread across the tables. Again we had to disturb the ladies hovering to ask for coffee and juice, and then just as we were our starting breakfast in came two women with large white pails into which they proceeded to empty all the breakfast detritus, egg shells, yoghurt pots, fruit skins etc from these tables. I went and asked the woman at reception to come to the dining room with me to show her what was happening but all she said was that the women had to do their work. We left and had our breakfast at a nearby café. A nice vase of roses appeared in our room that day which was much appreciated.

The manager did take our comments on board, we did not eat in the dining room again and breakfast the next morning was cleared in a more civilised fashion (trays not buckets) and he did adjust our bill with regard to the horrible dinner.

However, I don't think we will return ........
Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free parking
Chateaux a proximité entre 15 et 20km
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue du parc
£148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £148
126.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    2.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    £115
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.0 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Façade principale du Domaine des Bidaudieres
    £149
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £149
    3.0 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £70
    • Expedia.com
      £88
    3.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Montlouis-sur-Loire
    Reviews (494)
    Filter reviews
    494 results
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    75
    31
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    75
    31
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fairy tale loire valley tomato bar stuffed animals main building vegetable garden there is no air conditioning bath shower eat elsewhere public rooms an excellent meal lovely grounds water pressure comfortable rooms bread dahlia garden varieties
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    124 - 129 of 494 reviews
    Reviewed 30 May 2014

    What a treat to stay in such a beautiful place! Everything you dream of on vacation in France. Our room was charming, comfortable and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating, got us dinner reservations in town when their dining room was closed as well as got us in their own restaurant the next night. Beautiful, peaceful gardens, cozy "living room" where we relaxed and read, enjoyed tea and the best tomato jam with scones in the afternoon. We WILL come back!

    Room tip: Lovely rooms in the annex.
    Date of stay: May 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Sierra Nevada R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 May 2014

    We were very impressed with this Chateau when we first arrived -- the drive up to the chateau on top of the hill makes for a grand impression.

    Pros: You feel like you are staying in a castle; Our room was large and had a balcony with a great view; we enjoyed walking around on the grounds; good central location in the Loire Valley.

    Cons: The bed was hard; there was no staff present when we first arrived and we had to wander around to find someone; only 2 restaurants open in the evening in the town of Montlouis-Sur-Loire; breakfast was acceptable, but I don't think they should have charged extra for eggs/meat.

    We enjoyed our stay, but it was somewhat soured after we left. I realized I had forgotten clothing hanging in the closet, and we had to call the Chateau from our next hotel. The Chateau de la Bourdaisiere was willing to ship it to us, but with a few conditions: They couldn't send it until 3 days later, when they'd call to get our credit card information (extremely inconvenient as we did not have a France cell phone), and it was lucky we were even still going to be in the country when it would eventually arrive at our last hotel. Also, the hotel we called from was astonished that the Chateau was having us pay for the shipping instead of covering it for us. I am grateful to have gotten my clothing back, but for the amount spent on the stay, it could have been handled with better service.

    Date of stay: May 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Emily B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 May 2014

    We went to this chateau with a group, and the whole experience has been wonderful. The place has such charm. When driving up to the chateau it feels like you are entering a fairy tale, so pretty. We stayed in the main chateau with our bathroom in one of the turrets. Our evening meals were pre-arranged and were all very good and plenty of it. The staff are friendly and helpful. On our last night there, the restaurant was closed and we were recommended a very good local restaurant. The outside restaurant was not open yet and neither was the swimming pool, but we were there early in the season.

    Room tip: If you have walking difficulties, definitely try and get a room in the main building, where there is a lift. There are lots of stairs and doors to the rooms above the old stables.
    Date of stay: May 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank HuizeCathy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

    We loved the place. When we drove up to the chateau the view of it as it appeared was really impressive. We felt like royalties coming here. The gardens around were also very beautiful. There was a certain charm to this place. Regret not being able to try the open air restaurant in the gardens. The appartment was very nice. Would love to come back for a longer stay to also profit from the pool and the tennis court.
    If you are looking for a real chateau experience in the Loire Valley than this is the place to stay.

    Date of stay: April 2014
    2  Thank ztyszk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 January 2014

    What a bizarre place. . . This chateau has such an over-the-top favorable description/recommendation from THE most well-known travel guide book company (that shall remain nameless) rhymes with odor . . ooops, let it slip!), that we decided we had to stay the night at this "magnificent place", as the guide book put it. Don't fall this gibberish, as we did. This chateau is not well maintained - it is crowded with not very attractive, rundown "antiques'. The place is downright spooky with dark, creaky hallways that are only lit by motion sensors. There is a nice, but bare-bones staff. The dining room is lacking of any choices. Stay here is you insist, but I guarantee you will run into Uncle Fester & Lurch at some point during your stay.

    Room tip: I have no idea.
    Date of stay: August 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Margarita B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews