We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graham C
London, United Kingdom

A very different experience.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2021
Stayed overnight and had dinner in the bar. The chateau is lovely and the parkland around it is superb. The place shows its age but has been traditionally furnished so everything seems to be "period". The room was comfy and warm (good for November) and the food served in the bar came from the establishment which focuses on tomatoes - it was good wholesome food and the white wine we had was excellent. If we are this way again we will certainly stay and maybe take a break of a few days to savour the atmosphere.
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free parking
Chateaux a proximité entre 15 et 20km
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue du parc
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
126.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    2.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Façade principale du Domaine des Bidaudieres
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £149
    • Hotels.com
    3.0 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £69
    • Hotels.com
    3.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £120
    • Priceline
    3.5 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Montlouis-sur-Loire
    Reviews (494)
    Filter reviews
    494 results
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    75
    31
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    75
    31
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fairy tale loire valley tomato bar stuffed animals main building vegetable garden there is no air conditioning bath shower eat elsewhere public rooms an excellent meal lovely grounds water pressure comfortable rooms bread dahlia garden varieties
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 494 reviews
    Reviewed 29 August 2021

    We did a little tour of this very pretty chateau. Loved the scale and the design, enjoyed the sumptuous parkland around it. A nice afternoon. We spent some time walking around the grounds and then went into town for something to eat.

    Date of stay: July 2021
    Thank Thomas V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 August 2021

    I cannot say enough good things about this chateau. We had a choice of rooms, either in the actual chateau or the adjoining charming building which once was a 17th century building to stable the horses and is an essential part of the chateau. We chose the converted stable room and enjoyed it very much. The room was a bit tricky and interesting to find, could have used a map to get to it once you entered the historic old building. The beauty and charm of the 16-17th century chateau is beyond description. The room was spacious, bed was super, bathroom was the best, view of the chateau from our window was exquisite. The tomato bar was unique and enjoyable for at least one dinner. The gardens are beautiful and the landscape with the chateau in the picture is something out of a fairy tale. The beauty of all the trees including the gorgeous sequoias is something to behold. We would highly recommend this accommodation and would love to revisit it in the near future.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank deh60996
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 July 2021

    We stayed at the chateau for two nights. Not long after our booking (a day in advance) we received a phone call from the chateau, letting us know the restaurant would be closed upon the first day. We appreciated this and also their advice on where we could eat in stead. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome.

    The chateau is stunning, both inside and out. Beautiful gardens to stroll around, wooden structures in the forrest to explore, where we laid down in a hammock for a little while.

    Our room was on the first floor and we absolutely loved it. The right amount of (way too many) flower patterns, a stand alone tub in a giant bathroom and an amazing view of the garden. Only the bed was quite hard, which wasn't great for my bad back. Still, it was worth staying here!
    I also loved the common area with lots of sofas to relax in. We spent an evening here playing some games we brought from home. They even came by to offer us a glass of water.

    Have to say the breakfast is quite expensive.

    Great service and hospitality.

    Date of stay: June 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Kath303
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 September 2020

    This is a very pretty chateau in the countryside. We stopped here briefly to admire the architecture and our cousin explained the history. Nice to have a personal guide and he did a great job with a bunch of anecdotes.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Thomas V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 February 2020

    If you enjoy eating scales with your fish and getting a dried out sad excuse for a steak when you ask for it to be "medium", this is the place for you.

    It's not as if it was a one-time mistake. Mom, dad and my partner all got rubbery desiccated steaks.

    The hotel places their bets on travelers being lazy (or clueless) about driving a short 10 minutes outside of the property to real restaurants in the city. And so they don't give enough of a damn to descale their fish and seem to be in the habit of refrying old steaks from yesterday,

    The tomato bar lunches (soup and quiches) are, on the other hand, fresh and rather divine.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Sam_globetrotter_50
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews