We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£123
Booking.com
Priceline
£123
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
212
162
74
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
162
74
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairy tale loire valley tomato bar stuffed animals main building vegetable garden there is no air conditioning bath shower eat elsewhere public rooms an excellent meal lovely grounds water pressure comfortable rooms bread dahlia garden varieties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

We knew we were staying in the stable block as the chateau was full. Perhaps some guests would be less disappointed if the hotel called it “the stables” rather than “the pavilion”. Our room was huge but the mattress felt old and uncomfortable.
“The tomato bar” is very basic and no substitute for an actual restaurant. Our set 3 course meal (with a laminated drinks list that had a choice of one red or white wine- unforgivable in The Loire Valley) was served with neither love nor flavour and we feel that the chateau needs an a la carte restaurant and guest bar. We didn’t feel that asking reception for a pre or post dinner drink was a good guest experience so we did without.
As for breakfast, we were told we had to order it in advance and it was “sweet” therefore any savouries such as cheese, ham or eggs were “supplementary” but no cost was given so we cancelled breakfast.
The grounds are a real asset to the property but we just didn’t “get” the children’s story theme. We found zero reference to the history of the building and we had to Google it. Why spend so much time and money on a children’s theme park in the garden and nothing for adults?
We stay in a lot of chateaux in France and despite the friendly reception staff, probably won’t return. It has so much potential but feels currently underwhelming.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank am237
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

We are sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations. We took good note of your comments and will do our best to improve!
Some remarks are surprising but we won't argue we'll concentrate on improvments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

I would have given more but the aircon in our room was totally inadequate and so we did not get a lot of sleep
Breakfast was nice and simple and pleasant breakfast room
We would stay again but in a different room
Pleasant location with restaurants nearby

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Tank you for your nice comments. We'll be happy to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2022

Very nice place, comfortable rooms, breakfest is fine,
service is absolutely professional and very comprehensive, they fill you being home
Dinner is fine but not outstanding
There is no room service but you join the desk and they have what you need

Room tip: Room Henry 4th is a good choice
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Thanks a lot for your nice comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

This is a really beautiful chateau with amazing grounds not far from Amboise and well situated for discovering the Loire valley. Our room was beautifully furnished, warm and clean and the public rooms were fascinating. (Not so keen on the stuffed animals) As with many chateaus it shows signs of its age but is charming. The grounds are extensive and full of interesting sculptures and walks. The chateau gardens also contain 700 varieties of tomatoes as part of the National collection of tomatoes.
The Dahlia collection is immense too.
The only disappointment was with the lack of choice in food. The hotel offers one set meal in the evening eaten in the tea room / restaurant in the stables. Breakfast has to be preordered and is basic cereal, fruit and breads. Eggs are extra which sadly seems to have become commonplace on our journey this year.
Overall it was a lovely stay in unique and beautiful surroundings

Room tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking the garden.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trishspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay and that you loved our unique surroundings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022

We stayed for a total of 5 nights in late August/Early September.

Easily found, with plenty of parking.

Efficient reception staff speaking excellent English - just a little on the reserved/cool side. Perhaps a little jaded after a long/hot summer.

Fortunately (in our opinion anyway) this chateau has not been overly renovated and modernised, retaining all of it’s character and charm whilst being subtly brought up to date with the plumbing etc.

We stayed in two different superior rooms in the chateau itself - Charles de France and Diane de Poiters. Both were very spacious, clean and comfortable, with good quality bed linen. The bathrooms were large and well equipped - the former with a bath and shower cubicle and the latter with bath/shower above. Excellent shower water pressure. The former had a dual aspect over the grounds to the rear and the latter single aspect over the front of the chateau. We’d stay in both again. It should be noted that there were no in room coffee/tea making facilities or refrigerators.

Whilst it was sunny and hot (30) during our visit, the high ceilinged bedrooms were cool enough for us with the windows open and fans in use. There is no aircon.

The bar/lounge area was in character with the chateau and very comfortable. There is no bar as such, but drinks are served to order.

The simple breakfast that was served was to a basic standard with good quality components, but very overpriced in our opinion. We only took breakfast the once.

The evening meal (not on a Sunday) is served in the Tomato Bar, which is a couple of hundred yards walk away from the main building in the main garden area. The ‘bar’ is actually a lean to structure against a garden wall, with a variety of rustic tables and chairs arranged beneath an open sided gazebo type structure. The menu choice is simple - there is none - it’s a 3 course Plat D’ Jour. Good quality ingredients simply cooked in a ‘home’ style. The menu is a 3 day rotation - veal featuring twice. The location would not be pleasant in cool or inclement weather. We were aware that no meal would be available upon our Sunday evening arrival after a long day from the UK, so took the precaution of a cold box meal. However, in no uncertain terms were were instructed by Christelle the receptionist not to consume this (with a bottle of wine from the Chateau) in the lovely grounds or breakfast area - this had to be consumed in our room! Perhaps this was due to the grounds and garden being open to the public and ‘picnicking’ was clearly discouraged.

Visitors to the gardens/grounds are allowed to tour the chateau public rooms.

The chateau willingly booked an excellent ‘Sunday’ local restaurant for us - but this wasn’t any compensation as there were no taxis available and neither of us will drink and drive, so an excellent meal was sadly sans wine.

The formal tomato and dahlia garden was wonderful. The actual grounds were fascinating, with much thought and effort having gone into creating a mindfulness theme along the walkways through the ancient forest. The underground cellars and ‘caves’ were equally fascinating. Several hours were spent just wandering, exploring and appreciating the estate.

This review would be 5 star if only there were a proper restaurant on site.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

We thank for your complete explanation and your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews