We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
£135
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TubaKoseogluOkcu
Istanbul, Türkiye

Castle and Tomatoes

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024
On our last day during our Loire Valley trip, we came across this castle and we allocated around 2 hours visiting it and walking around it. As we were there out of season, there were no crowds around, it was extremely serene. The gardens were enchanting, with some art installations and music. Each castle in the area is known for something special and this caste's speciality is tomatoes. There is a castle shop where everything about tomatoes is sold here from tomato paste to tomato seeds or tomato patterned clothing. Inside of the castle is a bit sombre but it fits the spirit of a castle. We were sorry we have not stayed here during our visit. Maybe next time.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free parking
Chateaux a proximité entre 15 et 20km
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue du parc
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
126.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Booking.com
    2.2 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Façade principale du Domaine des Bidaudieres
    Tripadvisor
    £138
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.0 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £80
    • Priceline
    3.1 miles from Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Montlouis-sur-Loire
    Reviews (493)
    Filter reviews
    493 results
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    74
    31
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    212
    162
    74
    31
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fairy tale loire valley tomato bar stuffed animals main building vegetable garden there is no air conditioning bath shower eat elsewhere public rooms an excellent meal lovely grounds water pressure comfortable rooms bread dahlia garden varieties
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 493 reviews
    Reviewed 10 September 2023

    We recently chose the Bar a Tomates for our wedding lunch. While the ambiance of the venue was lovely and the food satisfactory, we encountered some challenges with the service. On a rainy day, our guests were directed to park at the park entrance, which required them to walk a considerable distance in the rain, even though there was an available parking lot closer to the restaurant, which we later found out was reserved for hotel guests. It was disappointing to see restaurant golf carts passing by our drenched guests without offering assistance or umbrellas, even to the bride. Upon our arrival, it seemed the staff-to-guest ratio was off balance, with 3 waiters attending to 30 guests, making it a bit difficult for them to cater to our needs efficiently. There were also some oversights like not offering drinks or assistance in rearranging the tables, and our request for towels for our wet guests was not accommodated. We reached out to the management with our concerns, but unfortunately, did not receive the response we hoped for. If considering this venue for special event, it might be helpful to set clear expectations upfront.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank hpommarede
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

    We already replied to your remark and are very surprised by your description which doesn't reflect the reality.
    We undertsand that the bad werather affected your party but you can't blame us for that reason!
    You didn't take time to come and visit the palce before the event which affected your perception afterwards.
    If you are right that the parking lot is at the entrance of the castle, about 300 meters from the Bar à tomates, we allowed your guests to drop the family next to the Bar à Tomate.Some people were also carried to the place by our electrical Kart...
    Also you stated that 3 people to serve a banquet of 30 people is not much but usually for a banquet, you have 1 waiter for 12 to 15 people....
    Also our colleagues spend lots of time at your arrival to assist you guests.
    You choosed to book a simple country style lunch with a very reasonnable price (less than 25€) so you can't expect to get the serviec of a gastronomic restaurant.
    You mentionned your mail to the management. You stated yourself on your mail that you received what you paid for (location and good food) but asked for a discount, we can see that your goal was very clear and your frustration clearly based on our fair answer .
    The bar à tomate is a very simple place and we clearly explain that to you when you booked it, If you had reserved the chateau itself the service and the price would have been more different.... Next time we would recommand that you share your expectations and we will adjust our serviec and price!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

    We knew we were staying in the stable block as the chateau was full. Perhaps some guests would be less disappointed if the hotel called it “the stables” rather than “the pavilion”. Our room was huge but the mattress felt old and uncomfortable.
    “The tomato bar” is very basic and no substitute for an actual restaurant. Our set 3 course meal (with a laminated drinks list that had a choice of one red or white wine- unforgivable in The Loire Valley) was served with neither love nor flavour and we feel that the chateau needs an a la carte restaurant and guest bar. We didn’t feel that asking reception for a pre or post dinner drink was a good guest experience so we did without.
    As for breakfast, we were told we had to order it in advance and it was “sweet” therefore any savouries such as cheese, ham or eggs were “supplementary” but no cost was given so we cancelled breakfast.
    The grounds are a real asset to the property but we just didn’t “get” the children’s story theme. We found zero reference to the history of the building and we had to Google it. Why spend so much time and money on a children’s theme park in the garden and nothing for adults?
    We stay in a lot of chateaux in France and despite the friendly reception staff, probably won’t return. It has so much potential but feels currently underwhelming.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank am237
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

    We are sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations. We took good note of your comments and will do our best to improve!
    Some remarks are surprising but we won't argue we'll concentrate on improvments!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

    I would have given more but the aircon in our room was totally inadequate and so we did not get a lot of sleep
    Breakfast was nice and simple and pleasant breakfast room
    We would stay again but in a different room
    Pleasant location with restaurants nearby

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Andy C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

    Tank you for your nice comments. We'll be happy to welcome you again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2022

    Very nice place, comfortable rooms, breakfest is fine,
    service is absolutely professional and very comprehensive, they fill you being home
    Dinner is fine but not outstanding
    There is no room service but you join the desk and they have what you need

    Room tip: Room Henry 4th is a good choice
    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank CHARLES B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

    Thanks a lot for your nice comment!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

    This is a really beautiful chateau with amazing grounds not far from Amboise and well situated for discovering the Loire valley. Our room was beautifully furnished, warm and clean and the public rooms were fascinating. (Not so keen on the stuffed animals) As with many chateaus it shows signs of its age but is charming. The grounds are extensive and full of interesting sculptures and walks. The chateau gardens also contain 700 varieties of tomatoes as part of the National collection of tomatoes.
    The Dahlia collection is immense too.
    The only disappointment was with the lack of choice in food. The hotel offers one set meal in the evening eaten in the tea room / restaurant in the stables. Breakfast has to be preordered and is basic cereal, fruit and breads. Eggs are extra which sadly seems to have become commonplace on our journey this year.
    Overall it was a lovely stay in unique and beautiful surroundings

    Room tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking the garden.
    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Trishspit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

    We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay and that you loved our unique surroundings!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews