We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommendable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagord
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not recommendable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

After our visit to this hotel we are unfortunately very disappointed and this makes make write this critic. We usually book our hotels through Splendia and this is absolutely not up the the standards we are used to.
On the side of the hotel the are horrible appartments that ruin the sight, these blocks of appartments are not separated from the hotel facilities, which allows people of the neighbourhood entering into the hotel garden. As a consequence, it is not very nice to stay in the garden as they are noisy and there is no intimacy.
The garden is another critical point, more than a garden, it is a small forest open to the public and it is not taken care.
To end with, breakfast was not flexible at all, one minute past 10:30 it was already removed from the buffet tables.
Additionally, nobody at the reception could make it to book a table for 2 for dinner at any time even being lodged at the hotel (from 19:30 to 22:00! Although we were flexible to adapt to anytime). Staff was rude.
I am sorry but I cannot recomment this hotel

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    127
    45
    28
    10
See reviews for
34
248
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
villeneuve
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

we arrived at mid day with only an hour and a quarter until our flight out of france
the staff were very helpful after we had explained in our poor french that we had only a short time until our flight
we ate a wonderful main meal, dessert and coffee within the time we had
the food was excellent and beautifully presented
the waiter was courteous and prompt and spoke to us in English and french
exactly what we wanted
I shall go back and next time I shall linger!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very dissapointed by this hotel. I have read mixed reviews but I liked the pictures so I booked it.
To begin with, there are council flats around which ruins the sight (explains why there are only pictures of the building and not its garden, because there is no garden on the side but only at the back, on the side, you have the council flats).
Swimming pool very tiny and not impressive. No shoes provided to go to the pool. Broken glass on the lift. Terrible service when we wanted to talk to the manager to provide our feedback. The answer we received was "you paid a discounted price for the room" (booked via a website). What a surprice when you think that you are in a Chateau...
Only good thing was the room. Clean and spacy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Positive:
Very good service, as well at the reception as in the hotel restaurant. Modern, clean and enjoyable rooms with fancy bathrooms. Fully equipped.

The food in the restaurant was superb, and the service was five star!!

Negative:
The spa/indoor pool wasn't as fancy as I thought (there was only a pool and a sauna), and the environment outside the hotel could have been better. No outdoor pool.

All and all:
A good hotel if you wish to have a romantic get-away and wish to stay and enjoy the inside of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

The room was nice and clean and of a good standard.

On checking in the Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. There were around 8-10 people in the queue to check in and the Receptionist showed us all individually to our room as apparently this is Hotel practise? I have stayed in many Hotels of a high standard and work for a large hotel chain and have never experienced this. After a long journey, guests would much rather have a quick check in, than have to wait for a personal chaperone to their room to explain how the key card works!
Unfortunately although our friends booked the table for 8 of us as they arrived and checked in a few hours before us, we were told the Restaurant was full and they had not booked us in.
The kind Receptionist booked us 2 taxi's to another Restaurant, we asked if it was possible for us all to sit in the lounge or garden and have a drink whilst we waited but were told this was not possible as the Restaurant was too busy.
On arrival back to the Hotel at approximately 10.30pm we asked if we could have a drink before we went to bed. The Night Porter said he would ask the Restaurant if this was possible, we were told again that it was not possible. We then asked if we could have room service drinks but again we were told no.
As paying customers and guests in the hotel we thought it was poor Customer service to not allow those simple requests.
Unfortunately the General Manager was unavailable to speak to throughout our 2 night stay. It is very apparent that this is a new Hotel with very new staff but that is no excuse for the service we received.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareBear12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagord
2.1 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#13 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 123, avenue du Clavier, 17140 Lagord, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle > Lagord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lagord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century chateau provides 4-star accommodation in a large park in Lagord, 5 km from La Rochelle and Ré island.Each guest room at the Hôtel Du Château has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and a courtesy tray on arrival. Some rooms also have views of the park or the sea.Guests can enjoy traditional cuisine at the chateau’s restaurant, Le 123, which has a view of the park from its terrace. Du Château’s well-being space,with indoor swimming pool, provides a range of beauty treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing