We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Domus Notari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domus Notari
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monreale
Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Visited Monreale two weeks ago; stayed here based on reviews. Not disappointed; room was large and clean-if a bit quirky, as the bathroom(also spotless) was in the room but...required us to walk up a set of stairs. Not a problem, but definitely different. Breakfast was very good; was very close to cathedral and very quiet. Would recommend.
Best part of stay was our high-tech moment; we were having some difficultly communicating with the clerk at the hotel-so she whipped out her I-phone and viola, Google translator; problem solved!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found this hotel quite last minute as our plan to visit Monreale materialised late in our holiday. Given the low price we expected something simple, however we were pleasantly surprised to find the room spacious and characterful, the staff happy and helpful and the breakfast one of the best in our entire week on the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_and_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked two nights at the Domus Notari in order to visit the breath-takingly gorgeous Norman cathedral of Monreale.
Luckily our sat-nav, which our hire car proved incapable of charging up, had just enough juice left to navigate us through the labyrinthine complexity of Monreale's streets. Even turning into the narrow one leading to the B&B was fraught with anxiety about crushing the oranges, artichokes and giant broccoli heads spilling across the pavement from the corner greengrocer's shop!
We had booked garage parking for the extra 10 € per night, which was money well spent. The staff squoze our hired Ford Fiesta in, and expertly extracted it again for our departure.
Our charmngly quaint room was up 27 marble stairs, which ensured we worked off some of the calories from meals enjoyed in the excellent nearby restaurants that the staff recommended. Anyone with mobility problems would probably prefer to book the slighly more expensive rooms in the main building across the street, in which our breakfasts were taken and which has a lift.
Breakfast was served in this Palazzo Ducale, in a lovely sunny first floor room, with an outdoor terrace. Freshly squeezed orange juice was on the menu, and excellent coffee, alongside pastries from the fantastic bakery on the corner.
We didn't get to meet the famous Daniele, but all the staff were smilingly helpful with directions and recommendations. We give this place a big thumbs-up.
If you want to make up a picnic, call into the corner bread shop and buy a salad sandwich for 2€, then across to the greengrocer's for some fruit to enjoy with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This B&B is really a great experience, Daniel makes it more so. We stayed here with a single friend traveling with us and had two very nice rooms, with high ceilings and lots of space, it made for a pleasant visit in Monreale. We liked staying out of the hustle- bustle of Palermo because at night we could relax and stroll around this quaint town.

We could have stayed across the street at their Hotel Palazzo with more modern rooms but we like to really experience all a Country has to offer when we travel, this was a good choice. We had a taste of the different kinds of accommodations and each was a different but enjoyable experience. Our rooms were very large and Daniel with his staff were so wonderful! Very good value!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Furmommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Spent a night here as the last day of a tour of Sicily. They have their own parking garage (though it's extra) and the owner parked the car for us (as it takes some practice to get the car in). The rooms we had were clean, and comfortable, and felt really genuine - just like being an Italian.

We had to get up early for the Airport and they arranged an early breakfast for us. Overall a great place to spend the last night in Sicily

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Monreale is situated outside Palermo, with spotty and uncomfortable public transportation to the center of town. Despite the inconvenient bus links, we were happy with this choice, as Monreale possesses its own charm, as well as one of the most awesome churches in all of Europe. There's a newer generation running some of the tourist-oriented businesses in this small town, and they tend to be more "European" in style and manner than their grandparents. But that Mediterranean hospitality is as strong as ever.

A young and entreprenurial staff run this B&B, as well as the pricier "Palazzo" on the other side of the street. Our rooms, in a ca. 1900 "grand bourgeois" apartment with plenty of nostalgic charm, were spotlessly clean, and the breakfast, served across the street, was composed of good, fresh products (excellent prosciutto) and delicious coffee. The friendly hotel owner and his assistant stood on the sidewalk to see us off on departure. It's not the Ritz, but in the budget category, this B&B is tops. If there were six stars, I'd give it six.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Large comfortable rooms, reasonable breakfast on a roof terrace, friendly service.

The transfer price from the airport is 40€ for a taxi so even if the vehicle can accommodate 5 persons the 3€ per head quoted on their web-site is incorrect.

Staying in Monreale is pleasant but the bus journey into Palermo can take up to 1 hour due to traffic chaos.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monreale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Guglielmo II
Hotel Guglielmo II
#1 of 6 in Monreale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrubella Park Hotel
Carrubella Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Monreale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Genoardo Park Hotel
Genoardo Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Monreale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Ducale Suites
Palazzo Ducale Suites
#1 of 24 in Monreale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hootel Duomo Monreale
Hootel Duomo Monreale
#3 of 24 in Monreale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Elvira Al Duomo
B&B Elvira Al Duomo
#5 of 24 in Monreale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Notari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Notari

Property: Domus Notari
Address: Via Duca Degli Abruzzi 3, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monreale
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Notari 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Domus Notari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Notari Monreale, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing