We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Vista!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrubella Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monreale
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great hotel, with a stunning view overlookig Palermo. Comfortable room, albeit the water temperature was only warm. Roberto and other staff very friendly & helpful. Croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, meat, biscuits , cereal was a great selection for breakfast. The very narrow road in made it a hair raising experience on our way up to the hotel, as it was two way, but with cars parked either side of the street, you need to back up and give way when able. We stayed 3 nights, it's an easy walk down to the Piazza where I would recommend catching a bus or taxi into Palermo...and not driving!

Room Tip: Request Room overlooking Palermo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

+ good location, nice vieuw, clean, big room, nice breakfast, parking, helpfull and friendly staff, OK just for sleeping

- dirty environnement, hotel is old and less attractive, a little too expensive for the value

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bosske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Hotel with a lift and car parking, with expansive views over Palermo
Reasonable sized room and bathroom (with good shower) and balcony facing the view.
Generous breakfast with good choices, served on the terrace.
GPS friendly address, but at the end of a road with two-way traffic on a single lane in several places. 1 km from main piazza which has bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Request view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebankianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I got married in the Duomo di Monreale on 28 april, and stayed at this hotel before and after the wedding (before leaving for our honey moon) with most of my husband's extended family. They are Norwegian, I'm from Palermo.
The location is fantastic, overlooking the whole of the Conca d'Oro (the plain surrounding Palermo, full of orange trees), the city itself, and down to the city harbour and the sea. Do ask for a 'camera con vista', room with a view: they'll be happy to help. If none is available, you can still enjoy the panorama from the breakfast room terrace.
The staff is amazingly helpful, polite and welcoming: Mr Armando La mattina, his brother, and whoever works at the Carrubella really make you feel you are special, and go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. They are very discreet, never invasive, yet always present and vigilant. Same for the cleaning ladies, who noticed I was not well, wished me better, and the day after even asked me about how it was going: very kind indeed! And they do work well: rooms are spotlessly cleaned every day, and towels are changed every day... it is all so clean!
Breakfast is served in a large room with a retro' atmosphere, and a both western and eastern mediterranean influence in the decorations and lamps. There is a terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast if the weather is nice. Takien into account that this is a 3 stars hotel, breakfast is pretty good, much better than in other hotels: americano, good selection of teas, hot milk, corn flakes, cheese, cured ham, hard-boiled eggs (or frittata), local bread, local sesame biscuits, yoghurts, croissants... It is served between 8 and 10. now, my Norwegian friends do tend to have long lasting breakfasts, and the 10 o'clock limit was a bit tight for them... So i apologised to staff about it, saying that at home that's what they do... and he replied: 'No problem at all! We want them to feel at home, so they can enjoy breakfast for as long as they like!', which I though was very very kind, flexible, accomodating and customer focused. I have experienced other hotels where they do make you notice you should leave the table at 10 sharp, a bit pushy!
Many reviews have pointed out that the road leading to the hotel can be a bit of a trauma, not very exciting or pretty, and it's true: not so easy to be found, and a bit narrow for 2 cars coming form opposite directions. However, I must say that we got used to it very quickly, and once you are familiar with it, it won't generate any further apprehension. Locals are used to drive in these winding roads, so they are very careful.
The Duomo (you MUST go there!!!) is just 10 mins away on foot, we were walking back and forth at any time of day or night, and had no problem at all.
This was our second stay at the Carrubella, and we are all ready to go back there again, the service you get in unbeatable. All the Norwegian guests absolutely loved the hotel and the Duomo :)

Room Tip: ask for a 'camera con vista'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delfina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed all around westerm sicily. Monreale is a grotty town, much the same as Palermo which the hotel looks down on. Litter in the streets, fly tipping...awful. The hotel was very old fashioned, in dire need of renovation but having said that the room and bedding was clean and the bathroom was new. the breakfast was very disappointing. its is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Monreale with a steep hill down to the town, I personally didnt like the walk back at night as was a desolate road.. the terrace looking over palermo is nice, we sat up there at night with a bottle of wine. the night staff - Roberto was very friendly and helpful, gave us advice as to where to eat etc. I wouldnt stay there again, and wouldnt go anywhere near Palermo again, there are much better places in Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank suejayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Carrubella Park Hotel which is a great base to visit Palermo while avoiding the traffic and hassle of driving in Palermo. Bus 389 which leaves from town square is only a 30 minute ride to the center of Palermo. We were able to do other day excursions from Monreale which were very enjoyable as well (Erice and Marsala).

The hotel is good value, has free parking and friendly, helpful staff! It was also one of the largest guest rooms we found in our travels across Sicily.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked through booking.com and got some discount - turned out to be good value for money. I would recommend this hotel as a base to visit Palermo without entering the city by car (as the traffic is v.hectic). Monreale is a cosy and pleasant town (esp. in the evenings when all the coach tours leave) and is only 30min bus ride away from Palermo city center. The hotel itself is very nicely located - 10 mins walk from Monreale's piazza and the views are unbeatable! Rooms are clean, spacious and with proper air-con. Car park outside. On the minus side: quite difficult to find, a bit old-fashioned, modest breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monreale hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Guglielmo II
Hotel Guglielmo II
#1 of 5 in Monreale
149 reviews
24.0 mi away
Sirignano Wine Resort
Sirignano Wine Resort
#2 of 5 in Monreale
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ducale Suites
Palazzo Ducale Suites
#1 of 26 in Monreale
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Locanda Re Ruggero
Locanda Re Ruggero
#6 of 26 in Monreale
165 reviews
8.5 mi away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
0.6 mi away
Rocca di Monreale
Rocca di Monreale
#8 of 26 in Monreale
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrubella Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrubella Park Hotel

Address: Via Umberto I 233, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monreale
Price Range: £46 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrubella Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Carrubella Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carrubella Park
Carrubella Park Monreale
Carrubella Park Hotel Monreale, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing