We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul
Certificate of Excellence
English Lakes
2 reviews
“An excellent hostel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I previously visited this hostel when it was an SYHA hostel. It has had a make-over that has changed if out of all recognition. It is now spacious, comfortable, very well appointed and with an excellent staff who went out of their way to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction, and the state of cleanliness and attention to daily cleaning and servicing was outstanding. We specially liked the en-suite facilities to our 4-bedded dorm. The hot water boiler in the kitchen was particularly useful. My only adverse comment would be the loud noise frequently made by the plumbing when a hot water tap was running. Turning the cold tap on solved the problem at once, but... All in all though, one of the best hostels!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank badgerSedbergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello there! Thank you so much for your great review. We are very fond of our hostel and love it when guests notice that we really care about the place! We are also happy to report that after the season we will be getting the plumbing, the en-suite dorms and the showers rooms modernised.
With our very best wishes from Tomintoul.
The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My group stayed two nights at this hostel--although it was small, it was quite comfortable. Great staff and excellent breakfast. For Speyside Way walkers, it's in a great location. There are a few pubs in town but limited places to buy groceries, if you plan to cook yourself, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello there
Thanks for your kind review of our hostel. We often welcome hikers and are always glad to offer a comfortable stopping off point for Speyside Way walkers like your little group. Happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and while local groceries are limited at certain times of the evening, the three pubs and one restaurant in the village offer a great range of food for our guests who decide to ‘eat out’ . Hope the rest of your walk has gone well.
Take Care
The Smuggler’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great little hostel. Clean and quiet, and in a central location, with a good sitting room with lots of games, local maps, etc. One thing to keep in mind: Tomintoul is very small, and there is no grocery store there: no Tescos or Co-ops. We mostly ate out at pubs and restaurants because we were unable to buy much food to cook at the hostel other than pasta and jarred sauce. (Not the hostel's fault, obviously!) The hostel's continental breakfast was quite nice, and the full cooked version looked good, too. The post office in town does have some basic food items, and the wonderful Whisky Castle sells cans and bottles of beer in case you want to have a picnic. The hostel is nicely situated for walking on the Speyside Way hiking trail and Tomintoul's beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there!
We also think the Smugglers are a great little hostel! We always enjoy having hikers and trekkers to stay with us. Breakfasts have proved to be a big hit with you folk who are unable to carry supplies and the local eating places are always happy when our guests pop down to see what’s on the evening menu! The local shops sell quite a decent range of easy to cook food stuffs and we are also lucky enough to have a delicatessen in the village which specialises in Scottish food from small producers. Wishing you well from beautiful Tomintoul!

The Smuggler's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've just spent three nights at the Smugglers Hostel, its everything a hostel should be. Located in a lovely highland village, which is ideally placed if you are exploring the area, Corbett bagging, walking the TGO Challenge, or skiing at the Lecht Ski Centre.
Its very clean throughout, the staff are helpful and friendly, the WiFi is free (SYHA please note), the kitchen is well equipped, the dining area and the lounge are comfortable, well heated and bright. The beds are comfortable and already made up when you arrive which is great after a long day on the hills.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Geoff
We really appreciate your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Smugglers. We are always happy to provide our guests with a comfortable place to stay and as you point out, the hostel is a great starting point for many local activities. The free WiFi is very popular and a must for many travellers today. Hope to see you again! The Smugglers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Smugglers Hostel is neat, clean and comfortable. Suitable for short and longer stays.
The breakfast was good (bread, eggs, coffee, tea, various spreads, fruits, cereals) and the cooking facilities are as well. Bedding is provided. In the kitchen you find a variety of books and leaflets about the region and nature. For rainy days some board games are provided. We missed nothing.
When travelling to Tomitoul coming by car is highly recommended, as there is a bus connection only on Tuesdays. The village has some small shops, restaurants, a bar and the famous whisky castle. The region is beautiful and has a lot to offer, especially forests where you can observe a variety of animals, as deer, hare, of pheasants.

Room Tip: You can choose between rooms with shared bathroom and those with en suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Berliphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfasts and facilities. We always try to make the hostel comfortable and welcoming for our guests, so are glad you made use of our books and games! The Smugglers Hostel is well placed for local wildlife as you found out and we are lucky to be in such a beautiful region of Scotland. Take care! The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were a group of 11 there for three nights, the hostel though undergoing some refurbishment was very clean and tidy and they could not have been more friendly, helpful and flexible over our late at night arrival.
As a location it suited our mix of touring and hill walking perfectly and provided a comfortable common room/kitchen area to return too in an evening.
The village also has a number of reasonably priced pub restaurants for those who don't want the hassle of preparing a meal on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you David for your review. It was great to meet you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and the breakfasts. Tomintoul is a great little place as you found out and we would love to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Smugglers is a really nice Hostel in a lovely, quiet village with some good walks straight from the door. I visited with my walking partner and found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The common room and kitchen area are light, warm and very well equipped and breakfast was good. Real coffee was a huge plus, hot drinks were available at any time and there was fruit if you wanted it. Don't go to Avimor with it's glitz, shops and bustle: come to lovely Tormintoul. The village has a shop, two pubs and a restaurant so there are no shortages of options for eating and you will be made to feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham_Bibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Graham,

It was great that you both enjoyed our haven in the Cairngorms. Glad you got to enjoy our breakfasts and appreciated the real coffee! We pride ourselves on trying to provide what our guests like so we are very pleased that the hot drinks hit the spot!

Now you know where we are...hope to see you again!

Thanks,

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
0.2 mi away
The Balfour Manor
The Balfour Manor
#1 of 1 in Tomintoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
11.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Argyle Guest House
Argyle Guest House
#2 of 5 in Tomintoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul

Property: The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul
Address: Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Tomintoul, The Smugglers Hostel, the highest in the Scottish Highlands, is surrounded by stunning scenery. We offer friendly, comfortable and affordable accommodation for 20 'Smugglers' in our four cosy dorms, including two en-suite private rooms suitable for couples and/or families. The hostel has fantastic facilities: - Tea & Coffee - Bed linen (included in price) - A fully equipped kitchen with fridge, oven, hob and microwave - Bike shed - Outside hose to wash down those muddy bikes and boots - Drying room - Free Wi-Fi - 24/7 secure access - Lockers. As the northern gateway to the Cairngorm National Park, Tomintoul is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts. Climb our very own Munro, Ben Avon, get on your bike (or ours!) And enjoy the renowned cycling roads and mountain bike trails, follow in the footsteps of the first whisky smugglers and sample a local dram, try your hand at fly-fishing or explore the glens by horseback - the outdoor opportunities are endless. As an independent hostel, The Smugglers is run by the local Community Development Trust, so by staying with us, you're investing in the local community and making a difference to a rural economy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing