We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and clean accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Helpful staff and clean accommodation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed for two nights and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. The hostel has clean rooms and bathrooms, secure entrance, lockers (but bring your own lock), and an amazingly spacious, well-appointed kitchen. Strong wifi signal too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SusannahSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi there
How lovely to hear from you so soon! We do care about our visitors and it is really important to us to make guests feel comfortable, safe and relaxed. It was also great to have someone from such a big city visit our little village and hostel!
Enjoy the rest of your travels, with good wishes from the Smugglers team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
11
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The place was clean. The people were friendly. Wifi worked in the common room. It was really cold outside but luckily they had heat that worked, which was surprising considering it was the summer. We were three people and stayed in a dorm but we had the room to ourselves.
The two downsides were that there were no outlets in the actual room and the showers were kind of weird.

Room Tip: Ask for an empty room because it may stay empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stief510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello and thank you for reviewing the hostel. We find that people really like the free Wifi and it is just one of the improvements we have made to the hostel. Future upgrades include additional plug sockets in the dorms and new showers. Maybe you will come back one day and enjoy our hospitality once again. Take care
The Smugglers team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights here in July 2014 (was planning to stay for one night but did such a ridiculously hard walk/cycle I was too late and too tired to move on afterwards!) and had a lovely couple of nights. The first night there were only four of us in so I had a great night's sleep. The second night the hostel was almost full but I still had a pretty good night's sleep.

The wardens were both very helpful and friendly and the place was superbly equipped, very clean and tidy and an attractively laid-out building. The price was very reasonable too...

Tomintoul is a lovely village/town (not sure which) and I enjoyed mooching around there the second day and relaxing in general.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaincoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello, and thank you for your review. We always aim to offer our guests a comfortable bed in an inviting and relaxing hostel. We find that this is what our visitors’ value and we are really pleased that we met your needs. Tomintoul is a delightful village and has some great little shops and eating places.
Hope to see you again! The Smugglers Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ubud
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend and a friend at The Smugglers hostel for a one night stop over during a week of trekking in The Cairngorms on 21st June 2014. The hostel is a converted primary school and has been taken over by the community in Tomintoul. It is now run by Simon and Kerry who are extremely helpful and friendly. Simon is also a guide who can arrange day or multi-day walks into the mountains.One aspect of the hostel I really like is the large spacious self-catering kitchen in the hostel which is a great place to relax, have a drink and mingle with other walkers/bikers etc.

Tomintoul in my opinion is a sleepy, peaceful and tranquil town with some good pubs and great access to the trails. I am sure we will be visiting again next time we pass through.


Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craigfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello there. Lovely to hear from you and thanks for your great review. As you discovered, Tomintoul has the best of everything- whether you want to pursue a great variety of outdoor activities or just enjoy a quiet break in a friendly place. The hostel offers you the hospitality and the surroundings give you the rest!
Hope to see you again!
The Smugglers team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at the hostel when it was still SYHA and liked it then. It's just as nice now and I was sorry to find it so quiet - in early June, only one other resident! The staff are friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean and comfortable. Tomintoul is a handsome village, the highest in the Highlands (perhaps), and with great walking trails all around. You get 10% off meals at the Richmond Hotel, basic pub food - classier stuff is at the Clockhouse opposite. The food shops are newsagent and deli, nothing in between. The public transport options aren't quite as nonexistent as you'd think from www.travelinescotland.com - check for the timetables on the Moray Council website.

Room Tip: Quieter away from the men's washroom. One of the toilets has a phenomenal valve howl when its fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello there
Thanks for your review. Early June is often a quiet time for the hostel - a great time to visit though as the weather is usually very pleasant and as you mentioned, we have some great walking trails that start (and often finish) in Tomintoul. Glad you discovered some of our local eating places. We are lucky to have 3 hotels serving food as well as a restaurant, and some of them also do takeaway meals.
Take care
The Smugglers team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Lakes
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I previously visited this hostel when it was an SYHA hostel. It has had a make-over that has changed if out of all recognition. It is now spacious, comfortable, very well appointed and with an excellent staff who went out of their way to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction, and the state of cleanliness and attention to daily cleaning and servicing was outstanding. We specially liked the en-suite facilities to our 4-bedded dorm. The hot water boiler in the kitchen was particularly useful. My only adverse comment would be the loud noise frequently made by the plumbing when a hot water tap was running. Turning the cold tap on solved the problem at once, but... All in all though, one of the best hostels!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank badgerSedbergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello there! Thank you so much for your great review. We are very fond of our hostel and love it when guests notice that we really care about the place! We are also happy to report that after the season we will be getting the plumbing, the en-suite dorms and the showers rooms modernised.
With our very best wishes from Tomintoul.
The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My group stayed two nights at this hostel--although it was small, it was quite comfortable. Great staff and excellent breakfast. For Speyside Way walkers, it's in a great location. There are a few pubs in town but limited places to buy groceries, if you plan to cook yourself, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello there
Thanks for your kind review of our hostel. We often welcome hikers and are always glad to offer a comfortable stopping off point for Speyside Way walkers like your little group. Happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and while local groceries are limited at certain times of the evening, the three pubs and one restaurant in the village offer a great range of food for our guests who decide to ‘eat out’ . Hope the rest of your walk has gone well.
Take Care
The Smuggler’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomintoul
0.2 mi away
The Balfour Manor
The Balfour Manor
#1 of 1 in Tomintoul
41 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
10.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Arms Hotel
Richmond Arms Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tomintoul
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Argyle Guest House
Argyle Guest House
#2 of 5 in Tomintoul
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul

Property: The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul
Address: Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Tomintoul, The Smugglers Hostel, the highest in the Scottish Highlands, is surrounded by stunning scenery. We offer friendly, comfortable and affordable accommodation for 20 'Smugglers' in our four cosy dorms, including two en-suite private rooms suitable for couples and/or families. The hostel has fantastic facilities: - Tea & Coffee - Bed linen (included in price) - A fully equipped kitchen with fridge, oven, hob and microwave - Bike shed - Outside hose to wash down those muddy bikes and boots - Drying room - Free Wi-Fi - 24/7 secure access - Lockers. As the northern gateway to the Cairngorm National Park, Tomintoul is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts. Climb our very own Munro, Ben Avon, get on your bike (or ours!) And enjoy the renowned cycling roads and mountain bike trails, follow in the footsteps of the first whisky smugglers and sample a local dram, try your hand at fly-fishing or explore the glens by horseback - the outdoor opportunities are endless. As an independent hostel, The Smugglers is run by the local Community Development Trust, so by staying with us, you're investing in the local community and making a difference to a rural economy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing