We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balneden Steading
Nearby Hotels
Garth Hotel & Restaurant(Grantown-on-Spey)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$117
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
US$110
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dowans Hotel(Aberlour)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mash Tun(Aberlour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
50
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrain storelog burnerglenlivet estatethe kitchenwelcome packwet roomski centrelocation is greatmountain bikinga great stayplaces to visitcattleaccommodationwalkscottagedogschickens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a wonderful time in the Highlands of Scotland this summer. This was in many ways due to the place we stayed. The Grain Store, which has a lovely contemporary feel, has the most glorious of views and I have to say, it took a lot of persuasion by my husband, to steal me away from the large picture window, to venture out each day! We were so taken with it, we booked to return the day after we got back! Don't all rush up there though, it is very peaceful and I would like it stay that way. Coming from the crowded South of England, it is good to know there is somewhere where you can get away from traffic and high density housing!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank ilovecountryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We have just spent a week in the Cattle Shed, perfect for two. The cottage is superb from start to finish - converted a couple of years ago, it is simply furnished with a contemporary and fresh feel about it. Situated on a hillside over-looking some fabulous scenery. Perfect base for both walking and cycling as well as exploring the wider Cairngorms National Park. A real gem and compared to alot of other cottages we looked at (and we looked at alot!), this one stands heads and shoulders and above the rest of them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just had a fabulous week in The Grain Store. Beautiful comfortable accommodation, with everything we needed provided, including whiskey and shortcake, and fresh-from-the-hen free range eggs. Even the weather cooperated, though I felt a bit cheated that it was too warm for lighting the woodburner! Tomintoul was a short drive away with a friendly pub that did great value food, as well as a restaurant, The Clock House, serving great fresh local produce and all-you-can-eat afternoon teas.
We were made to feel very welcome at Balneden, and even got an exclusive tour of the local distillery. There's a TV and DVD player for those who want them (although the view is better than most programmes), as well as free broadband. The views are sublime, the sheep entertaining, and the chickens friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaryjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was our fifth visit to Scotland with our dog, we always look for high quality accommodation which can be hard to find..but not anymore. We stayed in the Mill which was excellent, nicely furnished and clean with lovely views. There is plenty to do and the location is ideal for other day trips as well - Loch Ness, Aviemore, Glenmore and most importantly with whisky trail. We never go to the same place twice but this may be the exception. You will not go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed in the Grain Store and the cottage was perfect - beautifully styled, really well equipped, comfy and warm.

The location was wonderful - looking out of the full height window onto the hills was lovely. Felt remote enough to relax, but easy to drive to Tomintoul and Grantown, which had everything you needed.

Owners welcoming, but not too 'in your face'.

Would completely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsandMrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews