We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in friendly village”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tomintoul, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Siebette
Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in friendly village”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful start of the year in the cottage. It is very cosy and complete. Furniture and fittings a bit outdated but everything worked well. Considering the price you pay you get a lot of comfort and facilities. There are thermostat controlled radiators in every room and there is a very nice multifuel stove, so we we're nice and warm even in the winter. Facilities very complete, including bedlinnen, towels, soap, cleaning products, wood and coal for the stove, kitchen towels, cling film, pepper & salt, and so on. Also a large fridge and freezer, a washing machine and dryer. All you need to bring yourselve is your toothbrush and shampoo. The cottage was very clean, allthough the extraction hood could benefit from some more attention. There is no wifi, but good 3G reception. The bed was allright but had a dimple in the middle and was therefore maybe at end of life we felt. Owner is living a few houses further down the road and very friendly and attentive. Some whisky and shortbread were offered for welcome, how nice is that! Tomintoul is a small but very charming village with a good pub at the Avon Hotel and a store village which sells the basic every day groceries. Very beautiful surroundings for touring, walking and of course there are some very nice whisky distilleries to visit. Nice villages to visit (and drive to) are Braemer, Ballatar and Aberlour. All in all we had a really good time and highly recommand this cottage. We certainly will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricky1949
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage was immaculately presented. You couldn't ask for any more. The village itself is beautiful. Great if you want to explore places such as balmoral, ballater, avimore or even further afield. The hotels etc do carry out meals for you. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants a base to explore or even just for relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden for the dogs
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Beech Yard Cottage and it proved to be a wonderful place to call 'home' whilst you explored all the area has to offer! We will pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMartin...
Suttom In Ashfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pat and I long with Poppy our sprocker spaniel have just spent the past week in BEECH YARD COTTAGE in Tomintoul Great location lovely cottage very comfortable bed with everything you needed. Tony the owner even left a large bottle of water on the door step on the morning the water was cut off for a few hour We will defiantly spend another week or two when we next visit
If you're after a really peaceful place to stay then Tomintoul and BEECH YARD COTTAGE is the place to do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic stay at this lovely property. All the amenities you require included and very friendly neighbors. Great base for us to tour around and the walks around the village well worth doing. Hope to be back again in the future. Gift on arrival well appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: cushions required for settee
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valventre...
Driffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a restfull village”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely bungalow, pet friendly, but don't be put off if you don't have pets as it was nice and clean. Owner called in the first morning to make sure we were OK. So quiet and a reasonable price, couldn't have wanted more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquilty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickmansworth
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Galashiels
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing