We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whisky Castle! The Whisky Yes!”
Review of The Whisky Castle

The Whisky Castle
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Tomintoul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Whisky Castle has been selling the finest malt whiskies of Scotland from its premises in the quaint village of Tomintoul for over 100 years. It is located at the gateway to Scotland's Malt Whisky Trail. Tomintoul is the highest village in the Highlands of Scotland and The Whisky Castle is the highest whisky shop in the UK. Your hosts Sam and Scott, along with their team Maureen, Kirstin and Lauren would be delighted to welcome you to sample some of the finest Scottish malts and gins Scotland has to offer. We have over 500 malt whiskies with many being single cask, independently bottled and from small batches. We provide a unique tasting experience from a fantastic selection of products allowing us to match a malt to your palette and budget. Our single malts are personally selected by us with many being non-chill filtered so you are assured of some of the most unique drams from across Scotland including limited and rare collectables. We also stock some whiskies from distilleries that have closed and also those that have been demolished and lost forever! We also offer lager, beers, wine, champagne, vodka, gin, port, brandy, sherry and many Scottish liqueurs. There is an extensive gift shop and 18 seater café in our Highland Market serving hot food all day. We offer a full range of Scottish gifts, toys, unique jewellery and country clothing to suit all tastes. When you get the chance to visit us you will be given a traditional warm Scottish welcome and if you are looking for something extra special that we don't have in stock we offer a sourcing service and we can have your item shipped direct to your door. All of our products can be bought online. We love reaching out and spreading the word about the fabulous Malt Whiskies of Scotland in their natural state where there is no added caramel for colouring and whiskies have not been chill-filtered for clarity and/or diminished in flavour for consistency.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We found this place thanks to TripAdvisor and what a gem we found. First, the new owners (of about 3.5 years) Scott and Sam were wonderful. Side note, there are a few negative reviews of this place and almost all of them are prior owners. They mentioned they were the 4th owners of this 100+ year old place (I think I remember that...been a long day of whisky tasting you know!). My wife and I truly enjoyed this experience where they walked us through some Scotch tasting. Their knowledge and love of Scotch and customer service were quickly realized. It is not easy to have a business of passion along with a spouse but they have found it.

Not only did they give us a bunch of great tips and eventually found a few bottles of fantastic Scotch, but they were more than willing to share some good tips of the surrounding distilleries and options.

They have Scotch that was only made for them as well as some other rare Scotches. We will now be on their mailing list where they can send some unique Scotches to our home back in the United States.

I wish this family all the best in their new-ish venture and we will be back when we return to Scotland. God Speed until that time!

Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Lance! When you left the shop, we both turned to each other and said "what a fantastic couple"! We really enjoyed spending time with you both and it was so obvious how passionate you are about whisky and so eager to learn more, which is what we are all about. You made some fabulous choices and we really hope you go on to enjoy them at home, while continuing your whisky journey.

Please do stay in touch. We would love to hear how you are progressing through the amazing world of whisky that independently bottled single malts have to offer and you know where we are if you are ever looking for some advice and not withstanding that, we would love to welcome you both back anytime for a wee get together over a few drams.

Take care for now and thank you so much for all your well wishes.

Slainte!

Sam & Scott xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whisky shop"
in 19 reviews
"huge selection"
in 4 reviews
"whisky lovers"
in 6 reviews
"behind the counter"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful shop"
in 2 reviews
"special bottle"
in 2 reviews
"share their knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"free whisky tasting"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
"whisky experience"
in 3 reviews
"love whisky"
in 2 reviews
"wee shop"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"whisky festival"
in 2 reviews
"take home"
in 4 reviews
"scottish gins"
in 3 reviews
"cafe next door"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Managed to get a tasting at this place while on a Rabbies speyside whisky tour. Sam was extremely accommodating as she had some special drams lined up for our group to try. Sam was very knowledgeable about the different whisky she had and offered plenty of tastes and options to help me find a favourite. Their collection is what gave me the title as all of their whisky is hand picked single casks from all over Scotland creating an experience you literally can’t get anywhere else. (these are their own personal bottlings and only be found in store or online.) Only downside is they don’t ship to Canada :(

Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Matthew! It was lovely to meet you when you came in on your Rabbies tour. I am so glad that you enjoyed the exclusive drams you tasted and I could tell you are very passionate about your whisky which is great! Maybe one day we will be able to ship to you in Canada - fingers crossed.

I really hope you get the opportunity to come back and visit us again and in the meantime, keep enjoying your whisky journey.

Take care for now.

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We went there under recommendation from another shop some miles away.
When we arrived we were met by a very nice lady by the name of Sam.
She effectively took me on a tour of the lesser known (but quite delicious) whiskeys, not only of the region but much wider ranging. We were there for best part of an hour, fortunately, my wife was driving and I would strongly recommend that you have a designated driver to get you home. The prices are fair (unlike most other similar shops) but the service is what sets this establishment apart from the others.
Very educational and great fun, definitely well worth the trip out.

Thank PatMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Ah Pat! Thank you so much for your very lovely review. I had great fun with you both and it was my pleasure to share some of our more unique whiskies with you. I am so glad you both enjoyed your experience with us and the next time you get the chance to come and visit, I can promise you a few more whisky gems!

Very much looking forward to seeing you both again soon and take care for now.

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

paid a visit during a whisky tour. highly recommended. hundreds of whiskies to choose from. book you visit for whisky tasting sessions. great café next door. Met the owner, got talking seems he came from a village where I used to work, and his dad was a customer.

Thank davyw92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Davy

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

We loved meeting you and so glad you enjoyed our tasting experience during your tour and it is indeed a small world!

Very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

My husband being an avid fan of Whisky with a wide range already in his large collection, we thought as we were in Scotland we would stray from our usual favourite, The Whisky Exchange & support the local shop.
Never again.
We entered the shop & began to look at the wide range on offer, chatting as we went, as we moved to the other end of the shop we passed the lady behind the counter & both of us said hello to the lady behind the counter to which never of us received a reply.
As we continued to look around people begin to enter the shop and were all greeted with a ‘hi! how are you, nice to see you & welcome. This happened time and time again until the shop was almost full.
We realised after a few minutes that all these people were arriving for an organised Whisky tasting.
It soon became obvious that one needs to be taking part in these tastings to be of any importance as a customer.
We left rather quickly & my husband will be continuing to make his purchases from The Whisky Exchange, who, even as an online business have excellent customer service skills where every customer is treated with the same respect.
Pity this was our experience as my husband had gone here specifically with the intention of adding to his collection.

1  Thank Di R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Di R

So sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us, as we pride ourselves on our standards of customer care and service.

Please do come back and visit us again when you get the opportunity and we can assure you of a warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whisky Castle also viewed

 

Been to The Whisky Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing