We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Whisky Castle

The Whisky Castle
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Tomintoul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Whisky Castle has been selling the finest malt whiskies of Scotland from its premises in the quaint village of Tomintoul for over 100 years. It is located at the gateway to Scotland's Malt Whisky Trail. Tomintoul is the highest village in the Highlands of Scotland and The Whisky Castle is the highest whisky shop in the UK. Your hosts Sam and Scott, along with their team Maureen, Kirstin and Lauren would be delighted to welcome you to sample some of the finest Scottish malts and gins Scotland has to offer. We have over 500 malt whiskies with many being single cask, independently bottled and from small batches. We provide a unique tasting experience from a fantastic selection of products allowing us to match a malt to your palette and budget. Our single malts are personally selected by us with many being non-chill filtered so you are assured of some of the most unique drams from across Scotland including limited and rare collectables. We also stock some whiskies from distilleries that have closed and also those that have been demolished and lost forever! We also offer lager, beers, wine, champagne, vodka, gin, port, brandy, sherry and many Scottish liqueurs. There is an extensive gift shop and 18 seater café in our Highland Market serving hot food all day. We offer a full range of Scottish gifts, toys, unique jewellery and country clothing to suit all tastes. When you get the chance to visit us you will be given a traditional warm Scottish welcome and if you are looking for something extra special that we don't have in stock we offer a sourcing service and we can have your item shipped direct to your door. All of our products can be bought online. We love reaching out and spreading the word about the fabulous Malt Whiskies of Scotland in their natural state where there is no added caramel for colouring and whiskies have not been chill-filtered for clarity and/or diminished in flavour for consistency.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I'd been trying to get my Irish whiskey-drinking husband to sample some Scotch on a recent visit to Scotland but we were met with unfriendly staff in the shops in Edinburgh. Diverting from our road trip for a cup of tea, we came across The Whisky Castle. What a great place! All thoughts of tea were abandoned....My husband was advised which whiskies he might like to try and I bought a bottle of gin too. Nice gift shop next door - and a coffee shop! Our unplanned visit to Tomintoul was a winner.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Deborah_Raby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

What a lovely review Deborah, thank you so much!

So glad that you found us and we managed to introduce your husband to some lovely single malts and that you found a gin for you!

Please do come back and visit us again soon - you would be more than welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whisky shop"
in 21 reviews
"new owners"
in 4 reviews
"huge selection"
in 4 reviews
"whisky lovers"
in 6 reviews
"knowledgeable staff"
in 5 reviews
"behind the counter"
in 3 reviews
"special bottle"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful shop"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic selection"
in 2 reviews
"whisky galore"
in 2 reviews
"whisky experience"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
"love whisky"
in 2 reviews
"wee shop"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"whisky festival"
in 2 reviews
"take home"
in 4 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We went in to the Whisky Castle just to check out the place as recommended by our hotel The Richmond Arms.

Our visit transformed into full whisky tasting with several different types of some of the finest whiskys I've tasted.

Julian behind the counter was as knowledgeable of whiskys as you would imagine to a person in a place like this to be. Add to this his sense of humour and welcoming personality and you get what we did, a perfect introduction to Whisky.

This is a must stop to anyone visiting Highlands and to all who appreciate the fine drink known as Whisky.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JT_81_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us!

So glad that you enjoyed the tasting with Julian, who always ensures our customers are well looked after and given a great introduction to our world of whisky.

Keep enjoying your drams and we really hope to welcome you back again to sample some more soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

What you require from a whisky shop is a variety of options, preferably of bottles that are out of the ordinary and a knowledgeable sales staff.

The Whisky Castle has all that you need in both these departments with a good array of drinks and several bottles which are either specifically for their shop or from less well-known merchants. I ended up purchasing a 22-year-old Craigellachie and a 21-year-old Blair Athol both of which were impressive.

I will definitely stop by on my next visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank andybristol12555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Andy

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and so glad you found so many options available and that our team were able to talk you through them.

You chose 2 absolute crackers in the Craigellachie and Blair Athol - both stunning bottlings and we really hope you enjoy them!

We would love to welcome you back anytime, so please come back and see us again soon, so you can sample a few more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

From the moment we stepped through the doors of the Whisky Castle, we felt as though we had arrived at friends. Like other visitors, we joined in with various conversations regarding the large array of whisky and Gins available, each of us giving our thoughts as we were offered various tastings of some fine whiskies and of course Gins! Thank goodness we were staying locally! Amongst those visiting were couples with young children - I would suggest the children may get a little bored!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank csmd2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi csmd2612

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We pride ourselves on our friendly and welcoming approach to all of our customers and glad that you felt at home with us. We love to let our customers try our gins and whiskies and it was a pleasure letting you sample some and talking you through them.

So nice to meet you and do come back and visit us again whenever you get the chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

From walking thru the door the shop has the WOW factor for the sheer volume of makes of Whisky’s and Gin on display. Add to that the friendly face of Callum one of the most knowledgeable young men of all things whisky I have ever met. He is an asset to the company. We came away not only with a great bottle of whisky but now also a greater understanding this special drop. I would highly recommend a visit if your in the area.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiskyCastle, Owner at The Whisky Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi Lynda and thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are very proud of our team and Callum is a very passionate young man when it comes to our lovely single malt, so very glad you enjoyed your experience with him.

Thank you once again and please do come back and visit us whenever you can - we look forward to sharing so more drams with you!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whisky Castle also viewed

 

Been to The Whisky Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing