We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, friendly atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Myrtilles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Myrtilles
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vielsalm
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Nice room, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel is nice, renovated recently. For us, the location was perfect, although a bit noisy at night (cars passing by with lot of music). The host made us breakfast earlier, which we appreciated a lot. Breakfast was nice (eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, 2 different juices, choice of buns and croissants,...). Terrace also is nice, but weather was not good during our stay.
Room was clean. Wireless internet available. Nice bathroom. All was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sofie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and clean. The location is good,many Restaurants nearby

The staff was friedly,welcoming and helpful

The dinner (included) was awesome: 3 courses, delicious and enough to be full

We can recommend this location!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cses1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel looks nicely renovated. Our room on the 3rd floor was very beautiful. Nice starlit ceiling and amazing bathroom. We did get stuck in the elevator on our first way up. Breakfast was nice but not overwhelming. Nice little village. For meals I recommend "Contes de Salme", a restaurant next to the church.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laure D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Bedlights (for reading and leave the bed at night) were broke, coffre fort (safe) was broken too. we asked the staff but they showed no interest at all and walked away. lift slow and sometimes not working, Door (entrance of the hotel for reaching the mainstreet), was allways closed in the morning. Breakfast could be better!! Vielsalm is a really nice village, but the hotel was very bad!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank diane v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyrtillesVielsalm, Gérant at Hotel Myrtilles, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for the time you spend by filling our small questionnaire. We appreciate the time you take for this, and appologize for the inconvenient you had during your stay. We are happy to let you know that as we advise you, the new 'Bedlights' are finaly installed in the room. Our outside technical servce find a gap in the planning to finally fixe this. And the company which delivered the Safe promise us to send the key, so we can open them. Concerning the lift, as we toldyou upon arrival, he is VERY slow, indeed and we ask all our guest not to stay to nearby the door or trying to open the door before he is fully stopped, this to avoid the bad opening of the doors. The main entrance of the hotel is at the Place Paulin Moxhet, and the hotel can indeed use the intrance of the pizzeria at the rue Vieux Marché. However, that entrance is maintained by the restaurant manager, (different of the hotel amanger). And this door is only open when the restaurant is open. As our parking is located at the Place Paulin Moxhet, 50meter from the mainstreet,. Should you have any idea to make breakfast better, please feel free to let us know, we would ertainly take your experience to better satisfy our Customer in the futur and make sure they will not give us a comments like yours again.
Kind regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vielsalm hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is located downtown. There is parking for just three cars and access is not from the main street but around the one way system - look out for the sign.

Staff were not present and always had to be called by a bell [which was not easy to spot]

We also got good room [302] on the top floor with a beautiful panoramic view of the lake and surrounding landscape from the enclosed balcony set into the roof. We too must have been lucky.

I note the problems with the lift - caused by the door not closing as the knob on the top of the lift door jumps up. No staff around - but I managed to find the cause and solved it. But staff did not show any interest or knowledge.

We stayed twice and had the same room. On the first visit we went to the hotel restaurant - the meal I had [a grilled beef skewer - was the worst meal I have ever had in a restaurant. The meat was by far the toughest I have ever had. On our second visit a week later the restaurant had shut as the chef had 'left'. We went to the Brasserie/Pizzeria [not part of the hotel] on the ground floor and the meal was acceptable.

Breakfast was a very limited buffet selection and there was no coffee on our first visit as the machine broke.

I agree that the hotel shows a lack of interest in the guests' itineraries. The hotel is fairly expensive for what it was, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyrtillesVielsalm, Gérant at Hotel Myrtilles, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,
As new manager of the hotel we have read carrefully all comments from now and the past.
With this answer, please let us know that the hotel is been completely refurbished.
=> Parking is now available for more cars and have a direct access to the reception
As the acces through main street is not dependant of the hotel, we cannot open this door before the pizzeria opens.
=> We have fixed small inconvenience of the lift, he is little bit slower, but he works all the times.
=> The restaurant is again open, (except on wednesday), our menu is compose with regional products, on a fresh daily basis.
Hopefully we would be able to welcome you another time, to show you hwo we improve it again your last experience.
Kind regards, the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Germany
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel is located downtown. On a Saturday evening it was no problem to find a street-side parking. The receptionist in charge had to be called by bell. We received a wonderful room on the top floor with a beautiful panoramic view on the surrounding landscape. It seemed to be entirely designed with the tiles in the bathroom to the shower cabin and the furnishing of the room. Compared with other reviews we have to admit that we must have been on the lucky side.

Breakfast was on a two star standard with a very limited buffet selection - memories of former vacations in roman countries.

For the check-out we had to wait quite a long time and realized a certain lack of interest in the guests itineraries.

Room Tip: Check thoroughly the room you are booked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Les Myrtilles is easily found in the centre of the pleasant town of Vielsalm. We were attending the Spa Francorchamps Classic and the Hotel was recommended to us by our tour operator.
On arrival in the evening of Friday 27th May we were a little alarmed by the approach to the reception via a dingy alley, pass the kitchens then up a pooly lit staircase. On registration we were given our room key, told where the lift and carpark were, then ignored. We used the lift and found our room. When attempting to use the lift a second time, to take our suitcase up to the top floor, it failed to work, a passing member of staff showed no interest at all and walked away. Having no other option, I carried the case to the top floor myself.
My car remained in the lay-by outside the Hotel because the car park was full, 6 to 7 car spaces maximum for a 21 (?) room hotel.
Our room was badly decorated with a dirty carpet, a large patch on the ceiling (water damage?) had been crudely painted over with gloss emulsion, matt would have , at least, matched the rest of the ceiling.
All light fittings were either damaged, loose or incorrectly assembled, as in the case of the table lamp.
The fire/smoke detector, mounted on the ceiling, had a LED which failed to emit the customery occasional flash; leading to my concern over fire alarm and precautions. At night, when the room was in darkness, light from the hallway could be seen passing the smoke seal on the door.
The bathroom had a constant odour, caused , possibly by the vacuum generated in the 100mm main waste pipe when flushing the toilet. This would evacuate the 'U' bend water traps (gurgling sound) in both the bidet and the bath, thus allowing direct 'free-air' access to the main sewer. We overcame this basic plumbing error by running water to the bidet and bath after flushing the toilet, thus re-filling the 'U' bends and sealing the drains.
The bathroom had mould to the ceiling and loose fittings, the shower and hair drier worked but the bath enamel was chipped in three places.
The sheets were clean and the beds comfortable but we slept with one eye open because of the fire precautions.
However sleep was a luxury due to the noise from traffic and careless staff stacking and dragging the outside tables and chairs after 23:00 hours. Balcony door needed to be open because this is the only means of ventilation!
Breakfast? Stale bread, coffee-tea machine not working because the slop tray had not been emtied the day before, filthy water to boil eggs and staff that only appeared twice in three mornings.
I'm amazed we managed to last the distance! But we had little choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph-Rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vielsalm
7.3 mi away
Aux Massotais
Aux Massotais
#2 of 3 in Vielsalm
17 reviews
15.8 mi away
Domaine des Hautes Fagnes
7.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 5 in Houffalize
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunparks Ardennen
Sunparks Ardennen
#1 of 5 in Vielsalm
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baton Rouge Motorlodge
Baton Rouge Motorlodge
#1 of 3 in Vielsalm
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Myrtilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Myrtilles

Property: Hotel Myrtilles
Address: Rue du Vieux-Marche 1, Vielsalm 6690, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Les Myrtilles)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Vielsalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vielsalm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Myrtilles 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Ardennes, close to East Belgium and the Hautes-Fagnes, the Hotel Myrtilles offers comfort and tranquillity in a charming, family-run setting. Completely refurbished, the Hotel Myrtilles boasts 19 tastefully decorated rooms***, its own restaurant and bar, a pleasant garden and free use of facilities such as WiFi, gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Myrtilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Myrtilles Belgium/Vielsalm, The Ardennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing