We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Cottage Accomodation”
Review of Sabah Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabah Tea Garden
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ranau
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Sabah Tea Gardens for two nights. We were booked into the Traditional Longhouses.... but opted to upgrade to the Cottages. This was a god send in the heat.
It was MYR 132 for the Traditional Longhouse Room, open slatted rooms with a mattress and mosquito net, with a basin in your room and shared toilet block and shower block....to just double the price MYR 264...for a stunning motel accommodation room with separate bedroom, separate bathroom and lounge room with air con and TV.... best decision ever, ever, ever.

The restaurant is 5 minutes walk away and sits looking up at the majestic Mount Kinabalu and out over the Tea Plantation.
Food.... absolutely spectacular, delicious, magnificent!!!!

Unfortunately we never got to take a guided tour through the Tea Factory but enjoyed the Memorials to our fallen Australian and English soldiers and the tribute garden...Quailleys Hill.

Room Tip: Definitely Upgrade to a Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

There is walk thru by local guide to explain the tea making process n nice view of mt KK before u head off 3hr drive to sandakan.

Do try the lovely flavored tea, pandan or lemongrass, which can be ordered at the cafe.

The view of mt KK is simply spectacular from the tea plantation. This is a 4000acres pc of land, however only a fraction are growing tea leaves. There are also 4 cottages suitable for couple with ac and attached bathroom, while there is an option to stay in the long house with common bathroom.

Overall it is worth a visit stop if u are heading towards sandakan or mt KK direction.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank des123ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the Harvest festival holidays as all other accommodations in Kundasang were fully booked 2 months in advance. Its located after Ranau town and quite a distance from the main road. No problems for us as we had a car but those using the bus its quite a walk to the check in counter. Cottage was clean and with a view of mount kinabalu. Nothing much to do as we were delayed in arriving due to landslide that made the 2hour journey becoming 7 hours instead. Tips: do arrange coming here not during public holidays as the tour is closed. Few activities can be done and you dont want to stay in the cottage, there is an option of staying in the long house. Restaurant is also located quite far from the cottages and open for limited time only. Overall was a nice experience but for the same price you can stay at a better hotel in kundasang.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Great stay in the cottages - really enjoyed the walks of the property and tea factory, food was good, staff were lovely and views of Mt Kinabalu were amazing. Easy to get to Poring Hot Springs, Mt Kinabalu, Sandakan Memorial etc. Really enjoyed the stay...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night - food pretty good and got a traditional Malaysian breakfast which was so much better than white toast and cold scrambled eggs. Room basic but clean although shower never got warm and a/c very noisy. Tea factory tour quite interesting but happy that it was just a one night stay over A fair walk from the rooms to the restaurant,

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in a cottage - very clean and well appointed. The food in the restaurant is average but the tea factory tour and the information about the Sandakan Death March are very interesting. We went over a public holiday and found it difficult to get taxis to nearby attractions, so a very kind and friendly staff member took us and collected us in his own car. Be warned - if you come by bus and are dropped off on the main road, the accommodation is 600m up a very steep stony hill. Make sure you only take what you can carry.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in the cottages at the tea estate overnight before heading further up the mountains. The cottage room had a TV with good reception, a/c, fan, fridge, kettle/tea. Very clean and welcoming. Wonderful scenery to wake up to with views of Mt Kinabalu and other hills and mountains. One can walk on roads through the estate to enjoy nature and there are options for guided walks, mountain bike hire, etc. The factory tour is interesting and can be completed quite quickly if you skip the video presentation as we did. There are no nearby food outlets other than the estate's restaurant but the food choices and quality were good. The included breakfast is a set menu with local food but you can order other things if that doesn't suit you. Enjoyed the stay - one night was enough for us but if you just wanted a relaxing base for daytime activities this would be suitable as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ranau hotels
16.2 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 15 in Kundasang
118 reviews
14 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
372 reviews
8.3 mi away
Slagon Homestay
Slagon Homestay
#14 of 34 in Ranau
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
172 reviews
17 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#2 of 35 in Ranau
85 reviews
0 mi away
Skyville Zen Resort
Skyville Zen Resort
#5 of 15 in Kundasang
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Tea Garden

Address: Km17, Jalan Ranau/Sandakan | Kg. Nalapak, Ranau 89309, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ranau
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sabah Tea Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabah Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Tea Garden Hotel Ranau
Sabah Tea Garden Ranau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing