We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“something interesting...”

Sungai Moroli Fish Massage
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Ranau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“something interesting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If u have tried fish spas in the malls, this is NOTHING to compare ... lolz.. the fishes are 20x bigger than what u see in the malls. I dont really feel like its a fish spa that removes dead skins but its an adventure on its own . it does take a bit of courage and bravery to walk in the ankle deep end of the river, and even more courage to put your hand in and let them feed out of your hand. Hubs was brave enough but NOt me.. hahaha.. They dont really bite (the small ones do) the big ones just sucky sucky only lolz.. Its not painful but its a slightly uncomfortable lolz.. .. but it was definitely an experience and it also help support them in their pledge for nature preservation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina_witchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not sure this is a fish spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Friends brought us to Ranau as they said this place had a natural river fish spa. The ride to Ranau from Kota Kinabalu was quite long but offered some spectacular views of the hinterland of Sabah of green highlands dotted with houses and vegetable gardens. Kampung Luanti was nice and clean with stalls offering drinks and snacks for visitors. The entrance fee was cheap and the river was a bit shallow but very clean. The fish however, was humungous compared to the fish at fish spas I am accustomed. The fish were 'friendly' and one could even touch them as they swim by your legs. I have a feeling that the fish were more keen on the fish food that you can buy there instead of dead skin on your feet. My son who wanted to show his bravado had a swarm of fish around his legs and numerous reddish bites on his ankles afterwards. After a few distinctly unspa-like nibbles at my feet, I made for safe dry land.
Overall, it was a nice and different adventure. The river was pretty and clean, the drive was spectacular with views of mountains, dwellings and white mist.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kakicikgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Must visit, have a memorable experience in the nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Kampung Luanti is quite a distance from Kota Kinabalu town (about 3 hours) but it is worthy to visit if you want to have a great experience especially for the oversea friends.

I usually saw "Fish Spa" inside shopping mall, small fishes inside the aquarium, the charges is not cheap.This is the 2nd natural fish spa I visited besides the one in Langkawi Island. It is located at the river in the nature, many fishes and they are much bigger comparing to Langkawi, the charges is cheap. My children enjoyed the experience so much, this is safe for children as young as 4 years old if they are not afraid, something we can't experience this in the city. For the small children, you can buy the bits for them to feed the fishes.

Unfortunately I was too afraid to go inside the water because of the size of the fishes, but I enjoyed taking pictures and saw them giggling, having fun. Be prepared, some of the fishes might kiss your feet especially the adults, perhaps we have more dead skin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What an adventure - my first fish spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is probably the biggest fish spa I have ever seen in Malaysia.

For those who has never been to a fish spa, aim to be brave when one enters The Kampung Luanti natural fish spa. This is not one of those air-conditioned spa that one finds in Mid-Valley. The fishes here are big (as big as one feet) and there is also a mix of catfish which adds to the thrill and challenge.

The visit to the site is quite an experience and it is best to go with friends and family so that you can be spurred on to step deeper into the river.

However, I did not like the sharp stones and also the dirtiness of the area. I think the villagers should try and clean up the main entrance and also build a better toilet and not build the toliet near bamboo trees (for fear of snakes).

Hope the Sabah Tourism Board can do something for them and provide better subsidy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 8nlssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Those fish are lovely and like to touch human”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

It's quite far away from Kota Kinabalu(kk).
It is very funny and raw.
You can take a chair and sitting nearby the river and enjoy Fish Massage.
Cheap, it costs RM10 only (30mins)

But the transportation time is about two hours from kk to there.
Also, Please take care of your own belonging as there are no locker for visitor.

I recommend taking taxi to there (it will cost about RM$100)
If you are going to there. You can share the transportation cost with some people in your hostel and at Luanti Baru.

Or you can hire a driver driving you to do the Fish Massage, Hot Spring and Kinabalu Park for RM 250(Round Trip).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sungai Moroli Fish Massage also viewed

 

Been to Sungai Moroli Fish Massage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing