We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall stay”
Review of Dream World

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream World
Ranked #16 of 34 Ranau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

dont stay here...................

no wifi and the wifi only available at lobby area
u cant even borrow plate,spoon,fork,bowl fr the kitchen,no rooms service at all
they will verify rm300 for aeach room which is ridicoulous

only location is nice

Room Tip: choose mimosa as it close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aigner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

View is amazing. With a good management can be a good hotel but...
Rooms are OK if the price is cheaper.
Restaurant is halal so no beer for you.
Hotel is halal so.... No beer also.
No fridge, no wardrobe, no big TV, no ac into the room.
Our night that we stay wind was very strong so a lot of noise from the windows.
Breakfast they serve canned food....
Just stay here if you don't have a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joao b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Have a nice view at Mt.Kinabalu. I lived in a house which have double room with jacuzzi. Breakfast is included but not buffer style. This place is a bit ''dirty'', my 4 years old son crying the whole night during sleeping.....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raylim888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Totally disappointing place, absolutely no value for your money. Feels like staying in cheap motels with cheap beds. Regretted and deeply embarrassed bringing my family for holidaying here. Can't take a decent bath as the water was very smelly, like it was taken from a drain.

Positive side.
1. Nice view.

Negative points.
1. Smelly water, can't bath or make coffee. Totally undrinkable water even after boiled it. Feels like taking bath with drain water, Receptionist told me their water was taken from mountain water and their filter was not working properly when it rains. Totally doesn't make any sense for a resort with such rates. No excuse when it comes to basic things like water. I don' think such method is even legal for hotel business.
2. Very rude, unhelpful receptionist. We arrived at 12:00 noon but asked to come back at 2 pm. Totally inconsiderate to their customers who mostly have traveled long distance to reach there only to be asked to wait couple of hours more. Even when we plea for at least 1 pm check in, it was met with a flat no. Their attitude is totally hopeless as it feels like they were only trained to reject their customers, I was never ever feel like being accommodate at any time.
3, There was no phone or intercom.
4. Nobody will help your luggage.
5. Oh, we found many cockroaches and flies. I uploaded the one that we managed to kill.
6. Very small TV.
7. Shabby workmanship, uneven floors, bathroom glass door doesn't close properly, sharp edges along the glass door railing, my small niece got his toes cut when he misstep on it.
8. Not forgetting the missing wardrobe. There was only a coat hanger to put all your things.The rest of your clothes stays on places it don't belong.
9. Terrible food called breakfast.
10. Terrible bed, low quality and uncomfortable. For such room rate at RM 300 per night, you'd expect a nice bed.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
13  Thank PeterFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at Ixora 6 chalet, on the very top of the hotel property. We parked right outside the hotel room. It was a clean room except the bathroom smelled funny and it was always wet, despite I tried to open the window to air it.

The first run of the tap water was yellowish and murky, but it was fine after i let it run for a while.

We woke up early for the mountain view outside, and it was SUPERB! We had a very clear view of the mountain before the fog covered it.

There were fireworks in Ranau town during our night's stay, and we had lovely view of it from our room.

The staff at the restaurant were friendly, however I dislike the reception staff who insisted to take down my credit card number when I showed them my pre-booked hotel voucher, where my credit card number was blocked.

Somehow there were plenty of flies around the area. They flew in when we opened the balcony door.

A nice place for some relaxing time, and away from the city hustles.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wjtan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fantastic location high up in the foothills of Mt Kinabalu.
So close that the treeline - and climbers' lights near the peak in early dawn - are clearly visible. The mountain looms huge & dramatic behind the resort.
Fresh and green and cool - like midsummer in the daytime & winter at night.
A great way to escape when Kota Kinabalu gets too hot for too long.
Adjacent dairy farm is a treat - the herd grazes over verdant open pastures, no factory-farming here. The milking parlour is open for public viewing behind a glass wall - best guarantee of hygienic practices - & they pack the milk into tetra packs on the premises - buy it here & it tastes so fresh, coz it is.
Resort restaurant food is basic, 'Chef Kampung' type, but restaurant & kitchen are full of flies. Including all over the table where the food rests waiting for staff to carry it to your table.
EAT OUT OR BRING YOUR OWN FOOD RATIONS to eat in the chalet.
Chalet was simple but clean & everything works, including the plumbing.
Unlike other reviews, we saw (& despatched) only 2 tiny sleepy cockroaches - & saw the roach control van there during our stay!

Room Tip: All have same good views. Just choose your price. The most expensive ones are for 4 people min so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fairlyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were staying in the Rosa 2 chalet which is situated on the higher land. The air is fresh and the view up here is very beautiful. The Mount Kinabalu is just in front of our chalet as Dream World Resort is on the foot of it. The chalet is in my expectation as I did many researches before my reservation. There are 1 master bedroom and 2 single beds room. No cabinet provided and basic room amenities are ready. The wash room which beside the doorway is using sliding "blur" window as door. Girls are not recommend to take bath in this washroom as you might be the main charactor of the night show..
It can fit in 6 persons in the jacuzzi tub but very disappointed that the volume of water heater for the chalet is very smal and it needs to wait long period of time to fill full the tub. The maintenance staffs are very helpful as we called several time to inquiry about the jacuzzi heater. Thanks a lot!
The weather was windy , so it was around 25 C inside our room. Freezing if not cover up yourself.
We have a happy time during our stay in the resort. I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess_msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ranau hotels
1.8 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
370 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 33 in Ranau
139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
114 reviews
4 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
71 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 33 in Ranau
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream World

Address: Jalan Mesilau Golf Club | Kundasang, Ranau 89307, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ranau
Price Range: £39 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream World 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Dream World Sabah/Ranau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing