We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ALL about the BEACH!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rowan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Long Point Provincial Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It really is all about the beach! We have camped at several provincial parks over the years and I love different parks for different reasons. Grundy Lake for its many wonderful clear lakes, canoeing and the call of the loon,; MacGregor for the great bike trials, deer, nature walks, and nice beaches.; I could go on.
Long Point is all about the Beach. Located on a 40 km long sand spit that is located on Lake Erie, the park itself is fairly small and divided into two sections. The old Cottonwood campground is located mid-way down the road with private cottages on either side. Wonderful sandy beach, and probably located on the best part of the whole beach (IMO). Great sand dunes and most sites are sandy, some are grassy but located too close to the road and noise. The ones near the beach are very open to wind, sun and each other but still nice and the best sites are located on the outer fringes of the loops, with more trees and privacy. We first ventured here last year on a spur of the moment trip and took what we could get which was less than ideal. Our site was near...who am I kidding, it was right beside the garbage, recycling, highway and gate into this part of the park and no trees for privacy. I am glad to report that this site is no longer in existence and they have put in a new comfort station. They also moved three other sites to do this and reallocated them elsewhere. Please fill out those comment cards, it seems they do listen. Despite our crummy site we still had a good time and fell in love with the beach and the whole area.
So this year I booked well in advance and we had two great sites in the newer part of the park at the end of the road. This part of the park borders the biosphere nature reserve. Our fist booking was to the Monarch campground, very short walk to the beach, and very private. Most sites here are very nice and shady and well treed and a short walk to the beach. More poison ivy found here than anywhere else in the park. Firefly is located here also furthest from the beach and borders the road in with big trailer lots. Our second stay was over in Turtle Dunes and we had another fantastic site with our own private dune right to the beach and we loved it. Sites here are also very nice with a few more open to direct afternoon sunlight and all a short distance to the beach. We really enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the wind in the trees and the waves on the beach. It can also be very windy where ever you are as you are basically out in the middle of the lake and surrounded by water on three sides and the widest section of the spit is only a km across and storms can be intense, so peg/secure well. The park beach ends near the Turtle Dune campground and you can still walk the beach forever, just pay attention to the warnings of Lyme disease and venture at your own risk.
There are no real trails to speak of but we did notice some pathways through the high grasses down by the road in and one by the marina. I would not venture in here unless I was covered from head to toe >Lyme disease. There are playgrounds for the children located in each campground. Comfort stations are now in all campgrounds. (Monarch and Firefly still share one.)There is also a very busy marina for any boaters and great fishing with plenty of bait options found down the main road. Ice and wood can be found at the park store or down at Jakes, located by the Cottonwood campground. Bike riding is fairly decent as you can easily ride the road all the way out to the Causeway Restaurant and back. (New 40km speed limit makes it much safer). There are a few shops along the way with ice cream and water needs and more marinas and a vegetable stand or two, the lighthouse near the new park and not much else except for cottages. The atmosphere overall is great beach vibe and really laid back.
Port Rowan is the closest town a short car ride away and a great lakeside community offering everything from groceries, Laundromat, beer, liquor, restaurants, shopping, fishing and a really great fry shack.
So if you’re looking for a relaxing beach holiday this is the place. The water is nice and warm and most of the time nice and calm and great for swimming and finding sandbars. I have done more sunset swimming on my three trips here than all the years of camping up north combined.
Just one BIG warning: Swim at your own risk. They call them the Great Lakes for a reason. Parents please keep an eye on your children at ALL times (I am tired of cringing and wanting to yell at you) and to ALL adults please respect the water conditions, especially wavy conditions and take heed no matter how strong a swimmer you think you are. After arriving last year just after a drowning, and this year witnessing a recovery operation I cannot stress enough the dangers of the currents, undertows, strong winds, small waves, medium waves, big waves, storms that have left, storms that are coming in. Just be aware!! And you will LOVE this park and beach. It is now in my top 3!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
26  Thank deblovesabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

It was our first time to camp at Long Point Provincial Park - we drove close to 3 hrs (from Brampton). We were at 433 (Tutle Dunes Campground). The site was pretty small but we were able to fit in an 8 person tent, 12ft trailer and a gazebo. The rangers was nice to allow us to have this set up. Washrooms are kept clean. We had a wonderful view of the beach, at night there were lots of fireflies hovering around while we were in our bonfire. During our stay (July 12 - July 16) we had an amazing weather and it only rained one day on and off. My kids love the beach, it was clean, lots of spaces, shalow and the water was warm. Just watch out for birds who will attack your left overs and snakes! All in all, we had a wonderful time and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JhoyceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We came here as day users ($14), just for a swim. The beach is beautiful long sand dune, shallow water, great waves. We came with a dog, and there is an area designated for dogs at the end of the beach. Our only issue was that the path leading there is lined with poison ivy and there is no protective carpet so we burned our feet in the hot sand, and I had to carry our puppy! The beach is first class but there are no facilities (no picnic tables, no shade) besides a washroom. Beware of the black flies...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bobemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have been going to Long Point for over 20 years and have never had a bad experience. Unfortunately, as we never book ahead many times we seem to end up at Cottonwood. In past years campers had to drive to the other campgrounds to shower but this year to my surprise, they have finally installed a shower/bathroom facilities building. Beautiful. Now not only can you enjoy the sun, sand, water, but can now have that shower. Great place for couples and families. But please, parents especially, read the newsletter they hand out.I see too many children running through the grasses. People, familiarize yourself with poison ivy. It would be a shame never to come back only because you or your child experiences poison ivy (and ticks also - Lyme's disease).Great sites, as you can decide if you want to set camp on sand or grass. Unfortunately, you still need to get ice and wood and register at the other campgrounds. All campgrounds are well kept and clean - but thought I would let previous campers know that there are now showers at the old Cottonwood.

Room Tip: Park your car out of the campgrounds first and walk into the campground and look around and decide i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lilshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the old campground (Cottonwood Campground) with no electricity. The size of the sites was OK and privacy good. The beach is beautiful and clean. We would walk to the beach and stay there day and night. Lots of space to play soccer and volleyball. Some people also did wind n water activities.

Great recycling program and the park’s staff treated us very well.

Everywhere we went we loved buying veggies and fruit. Very cheap and fresh corn, peaches, tomatoes, eggplant, zucchini, watermelon, pumpkin, squash. At least two times there was no one there to charge you. You would place your payment in a box.

The Long Point region is a place to not be missed: a natural reserve with great beaches. Great for biking, bird watching and fishing. With luck snakes, frogs and turtles will cross your path.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
17  Thank Jumbalaia_Abitilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

There are two sections to this park- and we chose the older part, which we saw first. Sandy,spacious sites and service befitting a "public" Park. The washrooms were a bit of a walk, and could have used a bit more attention at times. Some others were just pit toilets. The area is quite interesting. We bicycled through cottage and residential areas, and out to the newer section of the park - more grass and trees but with sites a bit closer together. The beach is a long stretch of sand, which has been looked after - and nice swimming! I'd recommend the Park for campers in the Lake Erie area!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank drm1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We were going to stay from Thursday to Sunday. But at 12:10 am we recieved a ticket for excessive noise. Which was $180 ticket by a 19 yr old kid on a power trip. There was no warning just a ticket and then we were asked to leave Friday morning. We were all talking and laughing as you would do on a camp site but I come to reliaze at 11pm its light out and music off. My wife and I were with my mom/dad/uncle/ and cousins which were all staying on seperate sites. I have been to many parks before but never been trated like this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank spurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rowan
18.7 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
18.7 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
345 reviews
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Long Point Eco-Adventures
Long Point Eco-Adventures
#1 of 1 in Turkey Point
28 reviews
9.8 mi away
Normandale Century Inn
Normandale Century Inn
#1 of 1 in Normandale
27 reviews
20.3 mi away
No photo provided
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 1 in Delhi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Point Provincial Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Point Provincial Campground

Address: Port Rowan, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Rowan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port Rowan
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Long Point Provincial Campground Hotel Port Rowan
Long Point Provincial Campground Port Rowan, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing