We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better camp sites then 314 or 315”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rowan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Long Point Provincial Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This camp site is located on the sandy dunes of Lake Erie. The camp sites are sand pits with high dunes in between each camp site which provides plenty of wind protection and privacy. Note some of the sites have lover dunes or no dunes.
The first two nights we camped near the beach area and really liked our camp site. We wanted to stay another night however our site had already been booked and we noticed that the campers in a near by site were not scheduled to stay long so after some looking at other sites and driving back and forth to the gate house we finally got the site. Bad Move. It may have been a nice looking site but it stunk and the flies were plentiful. We ended up moving to another area of the camp ground and finally enjoyed our evening once we reset up our tent and stuff.
The Girl at the Gate house was very nice and extremely helpful to our cause. Bob the Camp host was funny and also very accommodating to our needs.
Note it is a little bit of a drive from the Gate house to the campground so make sure you have your supply of wood and ice before driving on. This campground is beautifully situated and worth the drive.

Room Tip: Do not choose camp sites 314 or 315. They are close to a pit toilet and adjacent to the Weeping bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Park surrounded by breathtaking panoramas and beautiful wildlife. Very sandy and beautiful. Beautiful location is remote and stargazing is a must. The only negative about the park is the showers are tiny and old, poor ventilation and humid have not been revamped and not suitable for my toddler. Overall we loved it

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lunastellaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here on a weekend in July. Have a larger 32 ft Travel Trailer, was able to get one of the sites in Turtle Dunes section that was close to beach. There is another section that is more like a KOA or JellyStone where most of the big rigs were parked on small sites. Our section there were only a handful of sites down our road and as a result it was quiet and the sites were large. I really like this park, the beach was 100 ft from our site, there was a constant breeze off the lake. Facilities are a little older than some other parks but still functional. Not much in the way of stores nearby so make sure you are stocked before you camp there. The filling station is on the right before the main gate so that's good to know or your will miss it. Miles and Miles of quiet sandy beach. Can't think of anything to complain about.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
9  Thank eyeswideshut699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Let the tourists go to Port Dover and Turkey Point. Locals know Long Point is far superior in almost every possible way. It may not have TP's "Hotel" or Dover's shops and restaurants, but it has a fantastic campground and incredible beach. You can walk for hours on the beach as the sun sets, swim in the shallow, sandy bottom water, or lay in the sun all day. You won't be cramped like sardines like on Port Dover's beach on most days. With a beach this long and wide, it's not hard to find your own space and throw the frisbee or football around. Camp sites are steps from the beach. Trees and small hills of sand provide for privacy between sites. Only complaint with the campground is their recent "no music" policy. If you spend a day at the beach or a weekend camping in Southern Ontario this summer, this is the one to be at.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank RyanMac86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have gone to Long Point every year for 4 years, always in the park. It is an exquisitely beautiful place, not just the beach - which is amazing - but the rest of the biosphere. A nature lover's dream. The sites are spacious, but be prepared for sand everywhere in your tent or trailer. Its unavoidable. Sand flies can also be a nusiance. If you spend the day at the beach, however, you should be OK, and at night wear cover up and keep the fire going. I recommend Turtle Dunes near the comfort station, its two minute walk to the beach and you can have flush toilets and showers close at hand (and almost never have to wait with the latter). The beach at its busiest can never conceivably be described as "crowded", and if you go beyond the fenceposts at the far end of the beach, it is deserted. I always thought that was the park boundary and the beginning of the Long Point Company's private property, but in fact it is just a barrier indicating the beach becomes "unsupervised" (as opposed to the other unsupervised part? curious). You can walk for another few kilometres till you get the the LPC's fence, which leave you in no doubt that to advance is trespassing. On our walk, we saw a few nude bathers, but many more tiny frogs. And that was it.
We have also kayaked twice down the creek. You can do this through the Eco-tours, but it is much more expensive, and you have to go with a guide and other tourists, who can be a bit tiresome. There's no need for a guide, its all downstream (you could float all the way if you had to), and flat calm. A better alternative for this magnificent trip through an old growth Carolinian forest with a riot of small birds, osperys and eagles is to rent from Stuckey's Marina at the bridge of the causeway. This charming character is the 2nd generation owner, and will rent you a kayak or canoe for 35/4 hours, including dropping you off at the head of the creek. You paddle down right back into the marina, no waiting to be picked up and feeling obliged to help load a dozen kayaks when you're tired and wet. He also runs a three hour pontoon ride Saturdays at six, which takes you past the Long Point Company cottages (I think many Long Point campers must share our fascination with this mysterious company). Unfortunately, he had to cancelled our trip because of rain and lightening, so its on our must do list for next year. Long Point is a treasure, and the park is outstanding. Super quiet, which makes for restful sleeps. But don't go to bed till you see the stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It really is all about the beach! We have camped at several provincial parks over the years and I love different parks for different reasons. Grundy Lake for its many wonderful clear lakes, canoeing and the call of the loon,; MacGregor for the great bike trials, deer, nature walks, and nice beaches.; I could go on.
Long Point is all about the Beach. Located on a 40 km long sand spit that is located on Lake Erie, the park itself is fairly small and divided into two sections. The old Cottonwood campground is located mid-way down the road with private cottages on either side. Wonderful sandy beach, and probably located on the best part of the whole beach (IMO). Great sand dunes and most sites are sandy, some are grassy but located too close to the road and noise. The ones near the beach are very open to wind, sun and each other but still nice and the best sites are located on the outer fringes of the loops, with more trees and privacy. We first ventured here last year on a spur of the moment trip and took what we could get which was less than ideal. Our site was near...who am I kidding, it was right beside the garbage, recycling, highway and gate into this part of the park and no trees for privacy. I am glad to report that this site is no longer in existence and they have put in a new comfort station. They also moved three other sites to do this and reallocated them elsewhere. Please fill out those comment cards, it seems they do listen. Despite our crummy site we still had a good time and fell in love with the beach and the whole area.
So this year I booked well in advance and we had two great sites in the newer part of the park at the end of the road. This part of the park borders the biosphere nature reserve. Our fist booking was to the Monarch campground, very short walk to the beach, and very private. Most sites here are very nice and shady and well treed and a short walk to the beach. More poison ivy found here than anywhere else in the park. Firefly is located here also furthest from the beach and borders the road in with big trailer lots. Our second stay was over in Turtle Dunes and we had another fantastic site with our own private dune right to the beach and we loved it. Sites here are also very nice with a few more open to direct afternoon sunlight and all a short distance to the beach. We really enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the wind in the trees and the waves on the beach. It can also be very windy where ever you are as you are basically out in the middle of the lake and surrounded by water on three sides and the widest section of the spit is only a km across and storms can be intense, so peg/secure well. The park beach ends near the Turtle Dune campground and you can still walk the beach forever, just pay attention to the warnings of Lyme disease and venture at your own risk.
There are no real trails to speak of but we did notice some pathways through the high grasses down by the road in and one by the marina. I would not venture in here unless I was covered from head to toe >Lyme disease. There are playgrounds for the children located in each campground. Comfort stations are now in all campgrounds. (Monarch and Firefly still share one.)There is also a very busy marina for any boaters and great fishing with plenty of bait options found down the main road. Ice and wood can be found at the park store or down at Jakes, located by the Cottonwood campground. Bike riding is fairly decent as you can easily ride the road all the way out to the Causeway Restaurant and back. (New 40km speed limit makes it much safer). There are a few shops along the way with ice cream and water needs and more marinas and a vegetable stand or two, the lighthouse near the new park and not much else except for cottages. The atmosphere overall is great beach vibe and really laid back.
Port Rowan is the closest town a short car ride away and a great lakeside community offering everything from groceries, Laundromat, beer, liquor, restaurants, shopping, fishing and a really great fry shack.
So if you’re looking for a relaxing beach holiday this is the place. The water is nice and warm and most of the time nice and calm and great for swimming and finding sandbars. I have done more sunset swimming on my three trips here than all the years of camping up north combined.
Just one BIG warning: Swim at your own risk. They call them the Great Lakes for a reason. Parents please keep an eye on your children at ALL times (I am tired of cringing and wanting to yell at you) and to ALL adults please respect the water conditions, especially wavy conditions and take heed no matter how strong a swimmer you think you are. After arriving last year just after a drowning, and this year witnessing a recovery operation I cannot stress enough the dangers of the currents, undertows, strong winds, small waves, medium waves, big waves, storms that have left, storms that are coming in. Just be aware!! And you will LOVE this park and beach. It is now in my top 3!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
26  Thank deblovesabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It was our first time to camp at Long Point Provincial Park - we drove close to 3 hrs (from Brampton). We were at 433 (Tutle Dunes Campground). The site was pretty small but we were able to fit in an 8 person tent, 12ft trailer and a gazebo. The rangers was nice to allow us to have this set up. Washrooms are kept clean. We had a wonderful view of the beach, at night there were lots of fireflies hovering around while we were in our bonfire. During our stay (July 12 - July 16) we had an amazing weather and it only rained one day on and off. My kids love the beach, it was clean, lots of spaces, shalow and the water was warm. Just watch out for birds who will attack your left overs and snakes! All in all, we had a wonderful time and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JhoyceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Long Point Provincial Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Point Provincial Campground

Address: Port Rowan, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Norfolk County > Port Rowan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port Rowan
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Long Point Provincial Campground Hotel Port Rowan
Long Point Provincial Campground Port Rowan, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing