We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, overpriced soulless hotel”
Review of Melia Atlanterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Atlanterra
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just spend four days in this hotel as our base to explore la costa de la luz. The rooms are very dated , probably decorated in the 80s with old fashion tv. Breakfast buffet was ok but again the cooked dishes were poor.
I think for the price they charge you would expect a more sleek hotel. There was no free wifi in the rooms which is surprising today. Parking at hotel was 14.90€ per day, consequently most of the
guests would not use it and parking near the hotel was a challenge.
The nearby beach was very good, you could access it from the hotel, however the sun beds from the hotel were chargeable (10 € for two beds and a parasol ). So that meant any person could just rent them out even if they were not staying at the hotel...
I travel extensively and have been in many luxury and 4/5 star hotels and found this very petty.

Other thing we did not like either was how we were treated by the man at the Reception when we checked in, Felipe. There was a minor problem with our booking and he was not very tolerant considering we were guests/ customers.

On the positive side, location near playa de Los alemanes and 30 min from Bolonia beach
is good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ended up here when we decided to be adventurous during travels in Andalucia and reserved the hotel through expedia at the last minute, We spent 3 hours at the hotel because they refused to accept our reservation, but we ended up staying here because expedia saved the day for us and bec it was too late to go somewhere else.

First of all, the people at the front desk are not nice and have no concept of customer service. Most of them have an attitude problem and/or barely speak English.

The hotel is way over priced for what you get --a 24 hour kindergarden with kids creaming and running round the pool and the cafeteria. If you are a couple and dont have kids and dont want to hear screaming and crying kids and kids jumping in the pool then I would say stay away from this place. Parking is another rip off, 14 euros a night, and internet is not free. the buffet is over 26 euros and again is a kindergarden/cafeteria.

Would not recommend for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AG12345672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Took our family to this place last week and we had a very nice visit. While the place looks like it could use some updating - our kids just loved it. They loved the pool, the food choices and the beach. The hotel does a nice job trying to provide activities for guests like tennis, paddle ball games, pool aerobics, spinning class and more,. Every evening there is an artist playing music by the pool which while we did not take advantage of it was nice.
My advice if you are considering this:
Not everyone speaks english here - we saw only one other American family there - so if you are Ok with that you'll be fine. We speak little spanish and it was fine.
This is not Las Vegas or a typical US resort hotel - its more of a resort for Spanish from what I could tell and it hit the spot
You cannot walk into a town from here- Zahara is close but if you want eat elsewhere you will need to drive and that's not so great if you plan to consume wine.
Weather was perfect perfect and perfect
Beach waves were small so don't plan to surf here if that is what you want
Other guests and staff were very friendly and each night they lift chocolate milks and biscuits for my boys which they loved.
WE flew into Gibraltar getting here and it was about an hour drive from the airport
Wifi was free but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Melia Alanterra more than 10 times over the last years, choosing it mainly for short weekends on the beach. The main reasons for choosing this hotel are the location and the relative low room rates (at least outside of the peak season).

Atlanterra is a development about 10 minutes from Zahara de los Atunes and consists of an area with nice looking Villas and an area with apartment buildings (all of them holiday homes). The Melia is in the area of the apartment buildings and in a beachfront location. The beach is very nice, about 500 meters from beach in front of the hotel is an area with rocks and an old bunker from the civil war. Our son loves it to climb around the rocks trying to catch fish and crabs (it is also good for snorkelling). Due to its rather remote location the beach is far less crowded than the beaches in Conil or Chiclana.

On the positive side the hotel has a very nice pool area (a larger central pool and a smaller “family pool” – both can get fairly busy/noisy during school holiday periods, but are rather calm in May/June and September/October). On some days strong winds can make a visit to the beach impossible, however the pools are a bit protected from the wind and so this is quite an advantage. The hotel is also very children friendly. Offering good children entertainment during the summer season and in general kids can be a bit more noisy and have their fun. In off-season it seems there are more foreign visitors (lot of Germans), however during summer school holiday periods the majority of the guests seems to be Spanish.

The hotel is fairly old (from the 1980s), there are more recently renovated premium rooms in the main hotel building and more “traditional” rooms in the other buildings. We tried both and we actually prefer the regular rooms as we find those better located. The rooms are functional but nothing special. We are missing a bit the attention to the detail (for example the phones in the rooms are not properly programmed, so pressing the room service or reception button will get you a busy signal but not the required extension).

We do not like the F&B outlets at all. It used to be a bit better before the hotel switched to offer optional “all inclusive” packages; since this has been introduced we noticed a considerable decrease in food quality. Both breakfast and dinner buffet quality decreased considerably. While breakfast is still kind of ok (the coffee is really awful since new instant coffee machines were installed this year), we avoid eating other meals at the hotel. There are no a-la-carte options for dinner any more and for lunch there is just a poolside snack bar and the beach side Chirringuito – both are pretty low in regards of quality.

However there is a very interesting food and drinks option next door at the small Hotel El Varadero. It has a nicely designed chill-out bar (perfect for sunset cocktails) and an actually very good (but pricey) restaurant. The place is fairly unique and we usually have dinner there.

The reception is not very efficient. There are fairly long queues during main check-in/check-out times and the process is very slow. This can be quite irritating if you arrive at that time.

In summary it is a fairly average hotel. Comparing to other Melia hotels we stayed, this is the one with the lowest quality standard. However considering the nice beach, avoiding the hotel food and eating next door at El Varadero, being child friendly and the low room rates – make us coming back – not for a special treat but a weekend on the beach which will not break the bank.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the small family pool are also closest to the beach. Premium rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just back from short stay at Melia.we stayed in the main hotel building third floor facing inland.
We found the room really nice with a small balcony.There was air conditioning a modern
Television and bathroom was ok.The pool is excellent and well manicured gardens lead to the beach which is lovely.
We had one breakfast which we enjoyed,especially the omelette .
Overall I cannot agree with some of the negative comments but I was not there in high season and only paid €156 for two nights.We went down to Zahara for evening meals.
My only gripe would be the ridiculous car parking charge€14 per night.There were never more than six cars in the car park as most people parked on the road!I feel this gave a poor impression of the hotel which could change its name to Measly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewtonLeWillowsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlanterra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Good morning NewtonLeWillowsMike!

Reading your review really makes our morning better! Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the Tripadvisor Community!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you would recommend us and that you have enjoyed our Breakfast service, our views and of course, our magnificent and relaxing garden! The Staff will be happy to know that their efforts and their daily work have met his expectations! In fact, we always try to do our best to improve day by day!

We are sure your next visit will exceed your expectations once more!

Kind regards,

Ana Pérez
- Guest Experience Manager-.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a family room for a long weekend with our 2 little girls. The location is amazing, great beaches! We had fabulous weather and the pool is lovely, but that´s where the positives stop.
The hotel needs a real overhaul to update it. It´s looking really very dated. We always stay at 4 to 5 star hotels and this is the worst we have stayed in many years! From the dated rooms and not been swept balconies with very old furniture, stained and bleached by the sun. To the bathroom which doesn´t even a fan! No tissues, an old rusty bin, very dark and gloomy... yet so spacious! The potential is there. It must have been great 20 years ago! There are no lifts so with luggage and 2 small children, it´s quite a walk and a climb to the 2nd floor! We did however get a botlle of cava and a birthday cake for our daughter who´s birthday it was and mentioned when we made the booking online.
Now onto the food! I cannot even begin to describe our hearts sinking when we saw that buffet on our first evening! It was the first time ever we had booked a half board stay in a hotel and now I know why and will never do so again! Not only to you have to queue and wat for everything do you not actually get to sit down as a family of 4 at the table because someone always needs to get up to get something, but the quality was truly shocking! The cheapest of the cheapest, nothing fresh and local. We were expecting some great fish and meat in this area of Spain and got a choice of over boiled grey brocoli dying a slow and painful death under heat lamps, deep fried brocoli bits along with other non descript vegetable bits, drying out pasta, sausages swimming oil, nicely presented individula dishes with a slice of rock hard avocado and ONE small prawn, a selction of freshly cooked bit of fish with no seasoning, bits of cheap industrial pork, cold chips, oh and the list goes on!! Even my 4 old didn´t like the pasta with tomato sauce which was the safest bet there! Our highlight of dinner was the ice cream!
So you pay half board, you get cheap and nasty food, and you have to pay extra for water, extra for juices, extra for wine which con you again when they charge you 40 euros for a bottle of Protos but only 20 Euros if you pay full board and notice the small terms and condtions on the wine list! Be warned! Total con!
Breakfast takes at least 1 hour and half to go through by the time everyone has queued for everyhting and eaten something thats really not nice and drank the most horrible coffee....
So you think, never mind, lunch you pay for extra for at the chirringito on the beach (for which you also have to pay extra for the umbrella and sun loungers!!!) A lubina which has been cooked to ultimate crispiness on the plancha and is so dry it´s disgusting, a steak which has so many veins and chewy bits, only 4 mouthfuls can be eaten, out of calamri.... so once again, the Magnum ice cream was the highlight! You tell the waiter and nothing happens.... We also noticed the table next to us oredred 2 steaks and left all of it on their plate too as you can´t even cut through it! (photos available on request)
So nice beach, nice pool, nice weather..... the most expensive awful hotel ever! 600 euros for half board for 2 nights and an extra 228 euros on top for 2 bottles of wine, fruit juices, horrible lunch, sun loungers, car park etc.... So thats an 800 Euro weekend for what I expect a 3 star hotel in Benidorm to be like! We could have had soooooo much better!
Shame on you Melia!
Luckily we had a good time as a family but feel totally conned

Room Tip: Just don´t go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrunchybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlanterra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear scrunchybaby,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review and share it with Tripadvisor’s users. We are very happy that you and your family decided to spend your Holidays with us!

It’s perfect to know that you have enjoyed our our location, our pool & the magnificent beach of Zahara!

We want to express our apologies for the inconveniences you have described us. We always do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are really sorry to know that we haven’t reached yours on this occasion.

I would like to inform you that we have taken good notes of all your impressions to avoid these problems in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again and doing our best to change your impressions. In that case, please contact me before your arrival.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Melia Atlanterra is a hotel, with a perfect location jus between the town and one the most beautifull beaches (playa de los alemanes) the hotel is marvellous, the main pool is really nice with the bar inside, the rooms are big, clean, tidy, with everything you need. The staff at the reception and bars are friendly, and helpful. The onlye thing we didn't like was the spa, it's small and you can only use the swimming pool and the jacuzzis have to be booked, so it doesn't make the spa free as they say to you on your arrival. Bu except for that the experience was great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlanterra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi Sarah D!

You made my day today! Thank you so much for this review about Melia Atlanterra! We are extremely happy to read so wonderful words about our services, facilities and of course, about our Staff.

We are really grateful for having chosen our Hotel to spend your holidays in Zahara de los Atunes, and also for sharing your Melia experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

We always work hard to achieve our guests' satisfaction and after reading your lines we can confirm that in your case we did it!, so many, many thanks in the name of our Staff because your words tell us that we are in the correct way and they encourage us to continue offering the best services to all our guest! (Although of course, we never stop introducing improvements to surprise them).

We all hope you visit us as soon as possible and once more we will do our best to make you live another great stay among us!

Kind regards,

Ana Pérez
-Guest Experience Manager-.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de los Atunes
0.1 mi away
El Cortijo de Zahara THe Senses Collection
El Cortijo de Zahara THe Senses ...
#3 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Antonio II
Hotel Antonio II
#7 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gran Sol Hotel
Gran Sol Hotel
#4 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,722 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida Playa
Hotel Avenida Playa
#8 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
76 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Pozo del Duque
Hotel Pozo del Duque
#12 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Atlanterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlanterra

Address: Bahia de la Plata, s/n, 11393 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Zahara de los Atunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zahara de los Atunes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zahara de los Atunes
Price Range: £82 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlanterra 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Atlanterra, is located right on the beachfront with direct access to the beautiful beach of Bahia de Plata in Zahara de los Atunes, Cadiz (Andalucia). In this authentic Andalusian palace guests can enjoy a wide range of facilities such as the grand lagoon-style pool with two built-in whirlpool baths, an aquabar, a family pool, a children’s pool, a heated pool, 2 tennis (*) and 2 paddle tennis courts (*), fully equipped gym. SPA (*): Turkish bath, sauna, massage cabins and beauty salon. There are also spacious dining areas serving excellent Mediterranean and international cuisine for all tastes and preferences. Also beautiful patios, spectacular gardens, Arab style fountains and lush vegetation. Spacious and bright rooms, distributed in a main building and six Andalusian patios. Fully equipped, with individually controlled air conditioning/central heating (depending on the season), functional work space with Free (Wi-Fi Internet) and plug for laptop, large desk with chair, TV with more than 30 Spanish and international channels, telephone, Hairdryer, Magnifying mirror in the bathroom, safe, minibar (*), comfortable bathroom with a complete set of Melia bathroom amenities Melia Atlanterra is the ideal choice for sharing a unique stay with your friends, couple or family. Enjoy the summer months with a great entertainment programme during the day and in the evenings, in which both children and adults will find something to do. Private car park for exclusive use of guests (*) Come and enjoy the best sunsets in the Costa de la Luz. (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Atlanterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Atlanterra Hotel Zahara De Los Atunes
Melia Hotel Atlanterra
Sol Melia Atlanterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing