We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uniqueness and beauty”
Review of Villa Mathesis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Mathesis
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Uniqueness and beauty”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Villa Mathesis is a unique place for unique occations. Open your senses to something new, don't expect the ordinary, it's all-in-all an artistic experience. Most people write about the house, which is stunning, but the great surprise to us was the two beaches embracing it. One is intimate, the other ever-lasting.
Gotzon and José Ignatio, the hosts, are two loving and deeply original men with a lot of tenderness and care put into this house of theirs. Their social skills are perfect so shape up your own!
I would warmly recommend Villa Mathesis to anyone that can appreciate it and treat their stay with sensitivity and sensibility.
Our three nights has put a mark inside me that I'll never loose.
Thank you, dear Gotzon & José Ignatio

Room Tip: The three rooms as equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sofie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Villa Mathesis is in a fantastic location on the sea front at Atlanterra with floor to ceiling windows that have views across to Morocco. The house itself is architecturally stunning and extremely high tech with a funicular railway to take you up to the front door. Owners Gotzon and Jose Igancio have put a huge amount of thought into the design and atmosphere of the house and couldn’t have been more welcoming. The breakfasts, including homemade bread and granola, were great. Location wise the house is about 40 mins walk or a 9 euro taxi from Zahara de los Atones which is full of reasonably priced restaurants serving amazing food. There was a Tapas festival on when we stayed with all the restaurants competing for the most inventive dishes. All in all a great stay, can’t recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All three rooms looked similar in size and quality and all faced the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCandLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotzon_M, Propietario at Villa Mathesis, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
We want to thank our dear guests from Edinburgh for a stunning review. Thank you for your kindness. Your reviews are very useful for our future guests. Before booking people know exactly what to expect at Villa Mathesis. Expectations are high and that motivates the team at Villa Mathesis to keep striving for excellence given that the house and the location deserve it. Next time we hope the weather treats you as justly as you deserve and the sun in Sunny Spain puts on a better show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien. Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have made this choice rather blind but we felt it could be it - this time it worked perfectly.
The place is designed and taken care of with the atmost taste. Overall, there is a very special thing about it all up there.
If you look for a great sea view and a peace and harmony in all different ways, just go there, left the terrasse door open all the time and just enjoy. And rather hurry till the Gotzon will decide to take off the internet cos this place is not for everybody...
We will try to come back.
Gotzon - thanks. We enjoyed a lot.
Peter and Alena

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotzon_M, Propietario at Villa Mathesis, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We feel fortunate to have had you amongst our first guests and we count on you coming back and back again. Nevertheless we will continue to strive to make our guests stay even better. We are so pleased when we see that we are achieving what we strived for: living architecture in a unique location over the ocean with a taste of luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zahara de los Atunes hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Atlanterra
Melia Atlanterra
#2 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cortijo de Zahara
El Cortijo de Zahara
#3 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#5 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pozo del Duque
Hotel Pozo del Duque
#12 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Antonio II
Hotel Antonio II
#7 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zahara Sol Villas y Apartamentos Turisticos
Zahara Sol Villas y Apartamentos...
#9 of 11 in Zahara de los Atunes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mathesis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mathesis

Property: Villa Mathesis
Address: Avenida Cabo de Plata, 69 | Urbanización Atlanterra, 11383 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Zahara de los Atunes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de los Atunes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant villa is placed on a cliff above the “Playa de los Alemanes” in the residential quarters of Atlanterra on the magnificent “Costa de la Luz”. A three minute walk to the beach, has a pool, solarium, interior patios, gymnasium, free Wi-Fi conection and views from every corner of the property of the beach below, the Atlantic Ocean, the Straight of Gibraltar, the Rif mountains range and the city of Tangier in Africa.Villa Mathesis was built and equipped with every detail in mind. Minimalistic, comfortable and elegant. Modern classic architecture. The property offers three guests rooms with air-conditioning, private bathroom and a terrace with views over the ocean.Breakfast is served between 9 and 11 daily. A buffet of home made yogurts, actimel, breads and jams with fresh fruit and juices is placed in the kitchen and can be enjoyed in the dinning room or solarium while enjoying the views. Villa Mathesis is 4 kilometers away from Zahara de los Atunes, and 24km from Vejer de la Frontera. The city of Cadiz is a 60-minute drive away. Seville and Marbella are at a 90-minute drive. One must consider the Ferry ride across to Tangier from the port of Tarifa that is 40 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Mathesis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing