We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koa Tree Camp Ltd

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Koa Tree Camp Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from my brother's stag weekend at Koa Tree Camp. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Andy and his team. The place is very relaxed, in beautiful surroundings, with every amenity catered for. We opted for the Bell Tents, which were really comfortable, clean and tidy - the wood burners being an added luxury for the cooler evenings. The site is within minutes from some great beaches for surfing / fishing etc, and there are some great walks along the coast path and around. The facilities at the camp were awesome. The rainy day room is a great addition, with good cooking facilities and a ping pong table, which was put to good use over the course of the weekend. A great place to hang out and meet other campers. The six indiviual washrooms have been done really well, and are a far cry from the 50p meter trickle shower which was here the last time i stayed here several years ago! All in all, we had a great weekend at the camp. Thoroughly recommended
(p.s. there isn't a swimming pool there - although i have given it 5 stars?! Couldn't untick the box on TA for some reason)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

just spent a fantastic weekend at koa tree camp with my brother and all his friends on his stag.
such a beautiful sport and the yurts were great - really comfortable and nicely kitted out and there was a brilliant indoor communal space for us all to hang out in and eat as well as loads of outdoor space to run about in and chill by the fire at night.

there were also great shower rooms for us all, which would make even the most reluctant campers feel happy to be in the great outdoors.

activities wise there seemed to be a lot on offer and we opted for the paddle boarding at a lake about 20 mins away which was a huge amount of fun.

andy and the rest team running koa tree camp were incredibly friendly and ready to help and whether you're a gang of friends like us, just a couple, or a family with kids, i think you'll be hard pressed to find a better spot for some top class camping action.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an amazing time despite the weather turning bad on our third day! On a sunny day, great views, great walks around, amazing landscape! On a rainy day, KoaTree Camp have thought about everything from the rainy day room to amazing indoor cooking facilities, warm showers, games for the kids etc etc etc... All facilities and yurts are super clean, comfortable and the team is so welcoming and open to share tips and advice! Definitely one place to keep on my lists!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Preparation time: 30 mins
Cooking time: 2 days
Difficulty rating: easy

1 Mongloian yurt
1 wood burner
A handful of dry wood
6 surf boards
4 ticklish pigs
A pinch of evening sing song
2 helpings of all day breakfast
Generous sprinkling of warm, clean showers
1 roughly grated rugged devonshire coastline
1 Atlantic ocean (thoroughly whisked)

Pre-heat the weather to gas mark 4 and prepare for a superb weekend at Koa tree camping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just had the best weekend ever, yurts and surfing is the way forward. The people who run Koa Tree are flipping awesome, peaceful and very kind human beings who also just happen to be amazing at their jobs. You sleep in a yurt with a wood burning stove but there's a great communal cooking area with games, a world map and all sorts of fun stuff - hilarious times were had. Stunning beaches are near by and the Koa Tree pigs are incredibly entertaining and placid creatures... What a brilliant place!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Miles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Koa Tree is fantastic, the yurts were great and really spacious, kitchen and communal areas so well done, really clean and fun to hang out in with plenty of games. The team is so helpful, and they run a great surf rental place which is ideal when the beautiful sea is so close! Love the bathrooms-all themed differently. Perfect for a weekend away from London with friends, or families on holiday. Very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked a weekend (Friday to Monday) break in August at Koa Tree with 11 friends to celebrate a birthday. We were really looking forward to getting away to this beautiful retreat, which opened earlier in 2013.

It was straightforward booking directly with Andy, despite there being a lot of us and booking at different times, which could have become pretty confusing. We had six people sharing a yurt, and three couples each with their own bell tent. Despite having six adults to the yurt (2x doubles and 2x singles), there was plenty of space for us all and we fitted everyone in around the woodburning stove one wet evening. The yurts and bell tents were warm and cosy, especially with the fire on.

The setting is lovely, overlooking fields and a few minutes' drive to the coast. We liked that the tents were all spread out, not crammed in, and the communal kitchen area and bathrooms were well kitted-out and uniquely decorated (I liked the black-and-white and surf themed bathrooms in particular).

A group of us went on a surf lesson with Sophie Hellyer one morning, which we also booked through Koa Tree. This was great fun and I highly recommend it! The South West Coast Path is also only a couple of minutes' drive away, and we had a great trail run / walk to take in the stunning Devon/Cornwall coastal scenery.

The yurts/bell tents come stocked with bedding and bedlinen, but remember to bring a torch and towels! Koa Tree's website includes a list of other useful things to bring along. We brought enough food for the weekend, but did struggle to fit it in our fridges (in the shared kitchen), and have suggested that more fridge space is provided for the yurts. We ate in part of the time, and also visited the local pub, which served excellent pub food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welcombe
7.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
20.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
11.9 mi away
Puddleduck Valley
Puddleduck Valley
#1 of 1 in Cookbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.4 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Tree Camp Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Tree Camp Ltd

Property: Koa Tree Camp Ltd
Address: Upcott Farm Koa Tree Camp, Welcombe EX39 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Welcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Welcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Yurts and Bell Tents on the Devon coastline. We specialise in luxury camping with an adventurous twist.Our stunning yurts and bell tents are kitted out with cosy beds and all your bed linen in a 1950's retro beach theme.We also run surfing lesson, coasteering classes and have bikes for hire so you can explore the best of what North Devon has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Tree Camp Ltd Welcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing