We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot wait to return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koa Tree Camp Ltd

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Koa Tree Camp Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This little glamping site just on the North Devon Cornwall board is a delightful find. We had the camp mostly to ourselves which was an added bonus. Just off the atlantic highway and based in a farm 5 yurts (we had one) and 5 bell tents. Well spaced out for privacy. Six bathrooms and I mean bathrooms (well 2 baths and 4 shower rooms). Fully fitted kitchens everything you could want.

The yurts were super comfortable and well decorated. The entire place was super clean, cleaner than most hotels i've stayed in.

Its a short drive away to the sea for a swim. the camp has a surf school too, although we didn't use it this time.

The staff/owners were great very friendly, so was poppy the dog. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    8
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have visited Koa Tree Camp twice in the last year and thoroughly enjoyed my stay both times. The location on the borders of Devon/Cornwall mean that numerous sights and attractions are within easy reach. The yurts/bell tents are beautifully decorated, well equipped with all the furniture you could need and a wood burner and did not leak despite torrential downpours and very windy weather. The wet weather room provides games/wifi/a cosy relaxation space and the kitchens are well kitted out. The bathroom facilities are spotless, generous in size and also beautifully decorated. On both occasions Andy and the team have been very welcoming and helpful. Nothing has been too much trouble, but also very relaxed and given us the space to enjoy a truly relaxing and peaceful stay. I would wholeheartedly recommend this campsite and hope that the business grows to be a great success

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked a Yurt tent for the first time over the May bank holiday and arrived to a warm welcome from Jema, Andy and Poppy. Great show around and introduction to the camp. Our Yurt- mumbles situated in the corner of the meadow with a great views over Welcombe and Woolley, very spacious, clean and comforting and not to far from the communial block.
Lots of activities on offer and an excellent introduction to surfing with a family lesson on saturday morning with Andy.
Also a special mention to Linda and her ebb and flow massage centre bringing a touch of Hawaii with her Lomi Lomi massage to camp.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and will be back in the future.
Good luck guy's

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just had my stag at Koa Tree Camp. I could not have wanted for a better time and the venue really facilitated it. The tents we stayed in were really comfortable and water-tight (they needed to be-the weather we had on Sunday was miserable!). Quite deluxe compared to the usual sort of camping I do. The tents had great facilities (a wood burning stove! BBQ fire pit, solar lighting-which would have been helpful if I had turned it on, I'd recommend taking a head torch). I guess it might just have been coincidence but the people hanging out there on the weekend we were there were really friendly and accommodating. The vibe to the place is cool and if the weather doesn't play ball (come on, this is camping in the westcountry/England...) the wet weather barn is a super comfy and lovely place to hang out. Fantastique! Merci

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from my brother's stag weekend at Koa Tree Camp. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Andy and his team. The place is very relaxed, in beautiful surroundings, with every amenity catered for. We opted for the Bell Tents, which were really comfortable, clean and tidy - the wood burners being an added luxury for the cooler evenings. The site is within minutes from some great beaches for surfing / fishing etc, and there are some great walks along the coast path and around. The facilities at the camp were awesome. The rainy day room is a great addition, with good cooking facilities and a ping pong table, which was put to good use over the course of the weekend. A great place to hang out and meet other campers. The six indiviual washrooms have been done really well, and are a far cry from the 50p meter trickle shower which was here the last time i stayed here several years ago! All in all, we had a great weekend at the camp. Thoroughly recommended
(p.s. there isn't a swimming pool there - although i have given it 5 stars?! Couldn't untick the box on TA for some reason)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

just spent a fantastic weekend at koa tree camp with my brother and all his friends on his stag.
such a beautiful sport and the yurts were great - really comfortable and nicely kitted out and there was a brilliant indoor communal space for us all to hang out in and eat as well as loads of outdoor space to run about in and chill by the fire at night.

there were also great shower rooms for us all, which would make even the most reluctant campers feel happy to be in the great outdoors.

activities wise there seemed to be a lot on offer and we opted for the paddle boarding at a lake about 20 mins away which was a huge amount of fun.

andy and the rest team running koa tree camp were incredibly friendly and ready to help and whether you're a gang of friends like us, just a couple, or a family with kids, i think you'll be hard pressed to find a better spot for some top class camping action.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an amazing time despite the weather turning bad on our third day! On a sunny day, great views, great walks around, amazing landscape! On a rainy day, KoaTree Camp have thought about everything from the rainy day room to amazing indoor cooking facilities, warm showers, games for the kids etc etc etc... All facilities and yurts are super clean, comfortable and the team is so welcoming and open to share tips and advice! Definitely one place to keep on my lists!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welcombe
7.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
20.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
11.9 mi away
Puddleduck Valley
Puddleduck Valley
#1 of 1 in Cookbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.4 mi away
East Thorne-Cornwall Yurts and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Tree Camp Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Tree Camp Ltd

Property: Koa Tree Camp Ltd
Address: Upcott Farm Koa Tree Camp, Welcombe EX39 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Welcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Welcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Yurts and Bell Tents on the Devon coastline. We specialise in luxury camping with an adventurous twist.Our stunning yurts and bell tents are kitted out with cosy beds and all your bed linen in a 1950's retro beach theme.We also run surfing lesson, coasteering classes and have bikes for hire so you can explore the best of what North Devon has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Tree Camp Ltd Welcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing